We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very off location for your stay in Lucerne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Spatz
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I happen to stay at this hotel with my family of 7 members during 3rd week of May 2011 for 2 nights. I would rather call this a guest house than a Hotel which is managed by a very hospitable family. This small property is close to 15 minutes of walk able distance from Lucerne main station. The location was a major turn off for us as we thought it was far from main attractions of lucerne but we had to ply bus every time in order to reach lake lucerne or chappel bridge or any other place. There were not many good food options available close to the hotel and all of us being vegetarian in our group had difficulty finding restaurants which were closer to main station.
We were particular about Indian food and found good options like NY food company + Kanchi restaurant again far off from the hotel. Now coming to this hotel, the staff(family members) were hospitable and served us well. The breakfast at the hotel was basic as well and the rooms were below average. We booked 1 family room + 1 double room. The family room was kinda okay but double room was sad to look at. Anyhow, the purpose of our stay in Lucerne was to be out most of the time and that is why we looked for budgeted stay.
I would suggest other members to book their hotel near Weggis town at the other end of the lake lucerne which is a more serene place to stay at and offers far better accomodation with in the same budget.
Although, one positive about the location was that the bus stop was right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atulagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Restaurant Spatz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

We needed an affordable place to stay on a road trip through Switzerland. This hotel was clean, though small, basic and very dated in its decor. It was definitely not fancy, but the staff were very helpful and nice. They spoke English and gave us insight on what we could see in our very short stay. The evening meal was filling and good, while not gourmet. If you want a place to spend the night that is fairly close to the old-town sights and that does not break the bank, Hotel Spatz is a good place to stay. The breakfast was very simple, with only rolls and cheese, and not very filling from an American point of view.

If you want elegant decor and gourmet food, choose somewhere else. If you need a place to stay on a budget that is convenient, this is a reasonable choice. If nothing else, you can buy beer out of the vending machine, which made for a great conversation between me and my children!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyfromkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Nice small hotel with very passionate new owners, taking care of you. very friendly and helpful. The room is simple, but very clean and the price is very competitive with regard to alternatvies. within 10 minutes at the train station by bus which stops in front of the hotel. stayed for one night and was happy.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raffiluzern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Came here as two families traveling with 5 children. We instantly felt at home and very welcome. The staff are ever so helpful and nothing is to much trouble. Only 10 min walk from the old town. Would recommend. Thanks from the brothood clan!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billingbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We initially had a two night booking luckily the gentlemen working there (I think chef and owner) was kind enough to let us cancel our second night, which was such a good decision. The place is very basic not really a hotel also they might as well not advertise continent breakfast is included since it was only bread, butter and jam which couldnt have cost more than a Euro. The room was hot and if you keep your window open all you here is the squeaky train or warning bells.
Best just pay a little more or even a little less as you'll leave here unsatisfied.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eat_My_Way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I can't say enough good things about this simple, but clean family run hotel.

My family of 4, my brohter's family of 4 and his mother-in-law stayed in a total of four rooms in early July 2011. Some of us speak fluent (or at least passable) German which made communication and booking much easier, but the staff does speak English well enough for those that can't speak German.

The rooms are relstively small and have firm, but comfortable beds. The rooms are also on four floors with no elevator. The staff will gladly help you up/down with luggage, but our room was on the first floor and the boys' was on the fourth, so running up and down got to be a little tiresome.

During our stay there were a couple of days that were unseasonably hot (95 degrees F). The rooms were warm without A/C, but small fans were provided and as is typical, the rooms cooled off quickly at night as temperatures dropped. We had the windows open and while there is clearly noise from the road, churchbells and train, we did not find it disturbing.

What really set this hotel apart from all of our pervious experiences (my mother is Swiss and I lived in Switzerland for three years as a teenager) was the staff / owners. They quicly learned our needs and "quirks". One child has asthma and we carry medication that needs to be refrigerated. Each night the staff provided a vaccuum sealed ice pack so that we could store the medicine in our room -- after the first day, we never had to ask, the icepack simply appeared on the check in counter with a room number tag. Similarly, by the second day the staff knew I took my coffee black.

Since this was a large family trip and we were on somewhat of a tight budget, we opted to buy the makings of simple dinners at the grocery store (dried meats, cheeses, fruits, bread, etc). The owners / staff allowed us to used the breakfast room to eat this makeshift dinner so that the group could all eat together -- keep in mind that they have an operating restaurant just a few feet away from the breakfast room and could have easily declined to let us use the breakfast room.

Speaking of breakfast, yes, it is continental -- meaning bread/rolls, butter, jelly/jam, cheese, coffee/tea, juice, milk. As in most of Europe, this is to be expected and we found it to be quite adequate. We had our main meals at lunchtime in a restaurant.as most days we did a day trip to a different city or mountain.

However, some of us did eat dinner twice in the attached restaruant -- the food was excellent and the service beyond reproach. Often the lunch restaurant crowd overflowed into the breakfast room -- the food really is that good (although not inexpensive). They have a Tagesmenu (think daily special) for dinner at CHF 17.50 (about 20 bucks) which includes soup or salad, and the main course. Lunch is actually a bit more expensive, especially if ordering ala carte. Their icecreams are homemade and delicious as is their salad dressing.

Second to the service, the next best thing about this hotel is its location. Central Luzern is easily walkable, but Bus Route #1 stops literally outside the door of the hotel. This bus runs about every 5 to 10 minutes during the day and takes about 10 minutes to get the the main trainstation. From there you can take a train to just about anywhere you want to go. And trains ARE the way to go in Switzerland -- get a "Swiss Pass". They are expensive, but worth every penny. We paid abut $1,100 (CHF 980) for eight-day first class passes (second class passes are substantially less expensive, but this is one thing you may want to splurge on -- if you want to really see Switzerland you are going to be spending some substantial time on trains -- first class is never crowded, sometimes there is standing room only in 2nd class). Both of our boys are under 16, so they road free, but you have to get a "family card" when you buy the Swiss Passes for this to work. With the pass you can ride virtually any, bus, boat or train in the country at no additional cost. You will have to pay for lifts and cable cars up the mountains, but these are ususally half off with the Swiss Pass (note this can be a huge savings -- the cost for 4 of us to go to the top of a mountain called Titlis was CHF 110 -- at the half off price!).

Back to the Hotel -- In summary, pros are Service and Location. Cons are no A/C if you just can't live without it and lack of an elevator if you have a room on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 17 (has really big balcony)
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsheaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The staff is very attentive and helpful. The buffet breakfast in the hotel’s restaurant is included in the rate and consisted of breads, jam, butter and soft cheese; anything else is at a price. The restaurant provides a dinner special to guest which we found quite reasonable at Lucerne prices and the quality was outstanding. We ate there every night of our stay. There is free WiFi. The bus stop is directly in front of the hotel for a 5-minute ride to town central. This is strictly a small, no-frills, aged hotel. The mirrors in the bathrooms are so high the ladies in both our rooms could not see themselves in them. Plugging in hair dryers at a mirror proved a problem, but the hotel provided and extension cord.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonCharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#35 of 67 in Lucerne
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#38 of 67 in Lucerne
1,578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pension Villa Maria
Pension Villa Maria
#45 of 67 in Lucerne
112 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
575 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Spatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Spatz

Address: Obergrundstrasse 103, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $138 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Spatz 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Spatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spatz Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing