We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice museum for a town this size

This was an interesting museum that had some "general, world-wide" stuff as well as local displays... read more

Reviewed August 21, 2018
Larry W
,
Rochester, New York
Great for kids

Our kids are nature enthusiasts...my daughter loves butterflies and minerals, my son loves fossils... read more

Reviewed March 23, 2018
CadyBee
,
El Paso, Texas
Read all 56 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Lucerne
from $32.70
More Info
from $27.60
More Info
from $135.00
More Info
from $58.90
More Info
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
8
9
4
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
9
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly minerals german nature collection fun switzerland bridge
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Lots of things to see here, helps if one understands German as most of the labels are not available in any other language but that really doesn’t detract from the experience.

Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

This was an interesting museum that had some "general, world-wide" stuff as well as local displays that concentrated on the region. To anyone who said there was "nothing in English," they needed to rotate the triangular info boards until the English was facing out. It worked! Once again, your Swiss Rail Pass will get you in for free, so don't pay if you don't have to!

Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Our kids are nature enthusiasts...my daughter loves butterflies and minerals, my son loves fossils and birds of prey. This place was a godsend on a snowy, cold March day when they just couldn't take anymore touring churches or bridges. Has the most interesting bug collection I've ever seen in a cool interactive display. Includes a floor devoted to European wildlife (taxidermied well...there are even a few you're allowed to pet gently), one for space, rocks and fossils (did you know fluoride is fluorescent? I didn't) and one all about herbs, gardening and natural medicines. EVERYTHING is in German, but you can glean a lot of info from what is presented and everything is fun to look at. I'd recommend starting at the top floor and working your way down.

Thank CadyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

Interesting nature displays which kids would find fun. No English information available, so of limited interest to us as seniors. Was included in our city museum pass - would not suggest you pay for entry to this place if you don't speak German.

Thank Kurt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017

We had planned on spending about an hour in the Nature Museum of Lucerne, but there is so much to see and do in this museum that we ended up spending 2 hours and still didn't see all there was to enjoy. The signage is in German, but you can figure out what they are saying if you look at the exhibit and pick out the words that are similar to English. The geology floor is amazing with all sizes of crystals, from very small to very large. It includes meteorite fragments. The live bee window on the 3rd floor with the channel to the outside for the bees is fun to see and educational for children. The insect collection has around 240,000 species of insects from around the worlds, and all sizes from tiny to human hand size, all enclosed in temperature controlled and glass protected windows. The other exhibit not to miss is the butterfly collection on the 4th floor. Check out my pictures.

Thank KSMeadowlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

It was pouring with rain and we had intended to visit the Lucerne History Museum but unfortunately it was closed. Luckily the natural history museum is right next door and it turned out to be great find. Very understated but packed with interesting exhibits, specimens and animals (stuffed and pinned!). The kids (6 and 8) loved it especially the animal kingdom floor. The insect floor is creepy to begin with but some of the bugs are unbelievably big! It's all in German but that was fine as most of it is self explanatory. A lovely place to spend a couple of hours out of the rain.

Thank Markjsnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016

Small museum which packs a bit of a punch on the insect/butterfly front. Lots of wonderful exhibits and great showcases. Also had the chance to see local birds/animals and mushrooms/trees etc. Enjoyed my visit very much. However my husband does not have as much German as I do and found it impossible for him to divine any of the labels. Probably needs a short English guide for some of us. Very helpful lady on the desk. We got a small discount for being over 60!!

1  Thank steveandgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Nature Museum of Lucerne is similar to others of its kind: good crystal collection, stuffed animals, and a lot of other nature related things to see and learn about. But what makes it unusual is the "insectarium" on the last floor. You get a special "ticket" to it which you're supposed to "scan" by a giant steel "bug-guard" on entrance. Then you enter a small exhibition on the life of various insects. The museum is a nice place to spend a couple of hours if you're interested in nature.

1  Thank N_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2016

This is not one of the world's premier natural history museums. It has a few interesting things but nothing spectacular. Be aware that it is all in German.

Thank 722DanielR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

There is a brief leaflet in English for this museum but otherwise it is all in German. It's still an interesting visit and was really nice watching the bee hive with the bees flying in and out through perspex tubes to the outside world!

Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews