We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Steaks”

Chimney's Steakhouse
Ranked #337 of 403 Restaurants in Lucerne
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average Steaks”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The steaks are ok, the service quite average. Ordered my steak medium but received rare. They exchanged my steak to a new one after complaining.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rog S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    8
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Good location. Sat at an outside table and ordered wine while looking through the menu. Very pricey, but on a par with other places in Lucerne. I ordered sausage with onion gravy and rosti. Approx £20. My wife's pork was under-cooked, so she left some. The bill didn't include the wine, so I pointed this out. No thanks for doing so! Very poor show.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NNInglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Horrible in all meanings of the word.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The worst service ever: wrong orders, she didn't listen to her customers, no training to serve people, she burned my hand with giving a hot hot plate,...
The meat was really to long marinaded. The fries fried not long enough (raw inside), the chef doesn't serve desert without whipped cream.
The bill wasn't right so we had to check everything.

Don't go here and if you would go. Be careful and check everything twice!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanderCools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Steaks and Lively Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Food was to perfection and the cozy bar was a delightful place to share an evening was good friends. The Ribeye was just right and the grilled veggies were topped with balsamic vinegar. Worth a repeat visit next time we return to Lucerne.

Helpful?
Thank StrikeEagleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills, Australia
1 review
“Disgusting.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My partner and I are from Australia where we are used to some of the best steaks and after travelling for 3 weeks were delighted to find a 'Steakhouse' that displayed a sign saying 'the best steaks in Lucerne'. We chose to believe and didn't check trip advisor first. My partner ordered a T-bone steak for $49.00 CHF which didn't include anything else, they had to be ordered as sides which cost extra. His steak was a flat approximate 1cm thick piece of meat that was cooked well done when he had ordered it medium-rare. He sent his meal back and the next time got a steak that was again flat but cooked better. I ordered fish cutlets and got what looked a tastes like fish nuggets with salad loaded with a creamy dressing. Our bill totalled 98.00 CHF and was the worst meal I have had since commencing our holiday approx 3 weeks ago. Additionally, the waitress was forgetful and appeared flustered all the time. What really disgusted me more than the food was that to get to the restaurant you have to pass through the bar where smokers are allowed to smoke and it is so thick of smoke. This also filters into the 'non-smoking' area which is so disturbing for a non-smoker. We would never go there again and have put this on trip advisors to ensure others don't waste their time, their money or their taste buds on what was a disgusting and expensive meal.
Nina and Jim

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NinaKandJimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimney's Steakhouse also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Adligenswil, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Chimney's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing