We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of STERN Luzern

STERN Luzern
Ranked #7 of 405 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $59
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Being from Lucerne and seeing this restaurant as one of the best in Lucerne I had to try it. I tried a couple of times to get a table here (rather spontaneously - only a few days in advance) and never succeeded until two weeks ago. So, a reservation is absolutely required. We (the four of us) were very friendly greeted by the staff and were showed to our table in the upper area. The interior of the restaurant is very nice and you feel cozy right away. After choosing our meals we got an amuse bouche/"greeting from the kitchen" which I always appreciate greatly! As for food I find the idea with the Weck-glasses great! So, as a starter I chose two of them (sorghum salad with honey and bated lamb and wild sausage salad with grape, cheese and nuts -> Sausage salad in Switzerland is ususally with wiener type sausage but this one is with Salami/pepperoni!) which were both really good. As a main I chose the local fish dish with spinach and potatoes (the local fish in Lucerne is usually really good and worth a try) and was very happy with my choice after having eaten it. As for dessert I chose the warm chocolate cake and warm berries - a mix that turned out to be fantastic! The guys chose the beef fillet and were very pleased with it as well. They also have a nice selection of wines and many of them are available per glass. The staff was very friendly and professional. It's pricey but it's absolutely worth the money. I will definitely come back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Manager at STERN Luzern, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Google Translation
Grüezi

Wir möchten uns für den Besuch bei uns ganz herzlich bedanken und freuen uns Euch bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.

Genussvolle Grüsse wünscht in der Zwischenzeit das ganze STERN TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    153
    65
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caux, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Reserving a table for 5 at Christmas night, friendly staff agreed to prepare desserts for 2 of the birthday girls. The food was unexpectedly elegant and tasty. Service was excellent, credits to server Kevin! Satisfaction has frequently been checked. Thank you for making our christmas and birthday celebration perfect. We will surely recommend the restaurant to others.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeenieCHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Manager at STERN Luzern, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast

Schön, dass wir Sie so begeistern konnten und Ihre Feier rundum gelungen ist. Ihr Feedback ist wie Weihnachten und Geburtstag für uns!

Herzlichen Dank und bis bald im STERN Luzern.

Fröhlicher Gruss
Ihr STERN-Team (und Kevin!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Famagusta, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food was very ordinary”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Ignoring the novelty of the jars which are tiny by the way, the main dishes were good but our group was a tad disappointed given the reviews. The fried fish was bland and poorly presented.
Overall the food was good but not exceptional, a very nice cosy atmosphere though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pagey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Manager at STERN Luzern, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Google Translation
Grüezi

Wir möchten uns für den Besuch bei uns ganz herzlich bedanken und freuen uns Euch bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.

Genussvolle Grüsse wünscht in der Zwischenzeit das ganze STERN TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We started our night in the cozy bar with a beer ( served in a glass boot), and a wine. Both were good.

The restaurant is very warm, and has a nice relaxed atmosphere.

The food was excellent. The glass jars as a starter were perfect. The main meal was a good size portion. Desert looked amazing, but we could not fit it in. Plenty of menu options.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Manager at STERN Luzern, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Google Translation
Grüezi

Wir möchten uns für den Besuch bei uns ganz herzlich bedanken und freuen uns Euch bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.

Genussvolle Grüsse wünscht in der Zwischenzeit das ganze STERN TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendy Staff”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

It is a motel restaurant. I went there for dinner and chose to sit outside coz it was too warm inside the restaurant. I felt a bite being ignore by the staff sitting outside, maybe its too busy at that time. The food is good, but a bite cold when they came to our table. The overall dining was good, but get a sit inside the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Manager at STERN Luzern, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Google Translation
Grüezi

Wir möchten uns für den Besuch bei uns ganz herzlich bedanken und freuen uns Euch bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.

Genussvolle Grüsse wünscht in der Zwischenzeit das ganze STERN TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed STERN Luzern also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to STERN Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing