We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandra best waiter!!”

Mekong Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #29 of 407 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $51
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Mekong Asian Bistro & Bar Mekong offers a diverse selection of Asian cuisine and Sushi for lunch and dinner. The relaxed, Asian inspired design features a bar in the heart of the restaurant, providing a special dining experience.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I had a dinner in this beautifull restaurant last saturday night and I experienced amazing Thai Food and very very good staff. The waiter in charge on my table was Miss. Sandra Stoker and she made my dinner very confortable, she provide me a lot of usefull informations with her professional and friendly attitude, Thank You!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Andrea N,

We are pleased that we were able to convince you with our performance especially with the supply and quality of the amazing Thai Food and service. We will gladly pass the compliments to the Mekong kitchen team and Ms Stocker. We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you again at the restaurant Mekong.

Best regards,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Mekong Restaurant & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 339 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have visited the restaurant for few times already and each time I left satisfied with services and food. Last time I came with a friend on friday night, we did not reserve the table before so I was ready if they would not find any table for us, but they did, though the restaurant is usually fully packed. The waiter was very polite and could perfectly speak english and german. The food was just amazing!!! I would definitely recommend beef steak with a wasabi butter and vegetables. It is difficult to find a restaurant where they can cook meat properly, but here they do it just perfect!!!

Thank Nadia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Nadia K,

We are happy that you were happy with our service and the quality of our food. We thank you for your great feedback. Mr Meyer and his team are looking forward to welcome you again at the restaurant Mekong.

All the best,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our dinner was pleasant, but the service was EXCEEDINGLY SLOW. The fully booked patio and kitchen were not anywhere near staffed for the customers.

The calamari was quite good; the soup also delicious. Our two wok noodles were tasty, but desperately drowning in a soup, and therefore VERY difficult to eat with either forks or chop sticks.

After such a meal at Mekong, your attire unfortunately needs to go straight to the cleaners. To serve such Asian-style meals in Europe, you need to provide protective gear, and warn not to schedule anything afterwards!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rokkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear rokkap,

Thanks for your visit at the Restaurant Mekong and your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you liked our dishes. Of course, we normally provide a spoon with our soups and would be happy to assist you with additional napkins on request.

Kind regards,
Stephan Amsler
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Came here based on reviews and were a little disappointed. Soups we got were delicious and much larger than expected. Service was a let down and resulted in pretty cold entrees. Decently priced.

Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear RobtertW,

Thank you for your visit at our Restaurant Mekong and your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you liked the food. However, we highly regret that our service team could not meet your expectations. Be assured that we take your criticism seriously and therefore would like to offer our sincere apologies.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our restaurants to convince you of our improvements.

Kind regards,
Stephan Amsler
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The food is good tasting and looking. Prices might be high for some but it's the norm in Switzerland.
I visited the place twice, once in the evening and another at lunch time. The service at lunch time was significantly slower. It took forever to get our bill.
Further, when they reserve a table, there is no "reserved" sign on the table. So when we were heading toward the reserved tables unknowingly with no one to guide us, all we had is one of the servers yelling from the back only to eventually understand out of the thick accent that he's trying to say it's reserved.
Another thing about them which I dislike is the size of their sparkle water. They only have a large glass bottle, I ended up drinking only small portion out of it, and because its glass, I can't carry the rest all the way back to the hotel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FIB J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear FIB J,

We would like to thank you for your visit at our Restaurant Mekong and your honest feedback. It is feedback such as yours that helps us to improve our service and quality. Of course this insufficient service does not correspond whit our operating philosophy. In order to prevent this in the future, your feedback has been discussed in the Mekong service team. Once again, we offer our sincere apologies and hope you grant us another chance in order to convince you of our good mekong service standard.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Mekong Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing