We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok restaurant”

Mekong Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #24 of 414 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Mekong Asian Bistro & Bar Mekong offers a diverse selection of Asian cuisine and Sushi for lunch and dinner. The relaxed, Asian inspired design features a bar in the heart of the restaurant, providing a special dining experience.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Ate dinner at the Mekong last night. It was a nice restaurant atmosphere but I was not too impressed with the food. It was not terrible but ok. Not sure why the restaurant is rated so high here on the tripadvisor.

Thank Sun lover S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Sun lover S

We would like to thank you for your visit at our Restaurant Mekong and for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant atmosphere. Even more we regret that we could not completely convince you with our food quality.
Once again, we thank you for your honest words and hope in spite of all to serve you again in one of our hotels or restaurants.

Yours sincerely,

Martin Brügger
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 346 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Service in Mekong is great. Efficient, and friendly. The decor is very cool and comfortable.
Although I very much enjoyed my evening at Mekong, the food was not the best I have had in Lucerne. I had the Mekong Stir-fry. Prawns and chicken with noodles. On the menu it sounded much better. I had 3 prawns, and mainly chicken. It was swimming in sauce, so if you like lots of sauce then you may enjoy this. The portions were very large. My colleague had another stir-fry with a coconut cream sauce which looked very good. The place settings included chop sticks - it is great to not have to ask for these. For Lucerne prices, this was good value. I had the Singapore Sling, and just made happy hour - so 10 CHF. Great cocktail.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smithlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear smithlette

We would like to thank you for your visit at our restaurant Mekong and your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our service quality. Even more we regret that we could not completely convince you with our food. We assure you to take your valuable feedback seriously. It helps us to improve our grade of service and to scrutinize our standard procedures. Your advice regarding our dishes we will share with our executive chef.
Once again, we thank you for your honest words and hope in spite of all to serve you again in the restaurant mekong.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Mekong Restaurant in Lucerne is not one of those ridiculously overpriced Asian restaurants nor is it a take away with a couple of tables, but a nicely decorated place for a relaxing evening with friends.
The staff is very attentive. One of our group came on crutches that night and they spontaneously changed our reserved table to a more accommodating one for the injured person.
The food is good - adapted to European tastes. Could be more spicy...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LadyGoldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear LadyGoldilocks

We would like to thank you for your visit at our Restaurant Mekong and for your positive feedback. We are pleased that we were able to convince you especially with our services quality. We would be pleased if we soon could welcome you back in one of our restaurants in Lucerne.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

authentic Asian food, the price to quality should be among the top in Lucerne. Friendly staff, welcoming atmosphere and fast service. Best of all, most guests are NOT tourists rather than local business people. The only downside is that the restaurant operates only until 2pm in the lunch time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Xie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Xie F

We would like to thank you for your visit at our Restaurant mekong and for your positive feedback. Praise like yours shows us that we are on the right track and motivates us to get better and better. We would be pleased if we soon could welcome you back in one of our restaurants in Lucerne.

yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

After eating regular swiss food for 2 weeks, this is a great change of pace. Restaurant warm and inviting. Serivce excellent. Food is unique version of Asian fusion. The combo appetizers are a great way to start the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Richard W

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am very pleased that you took the time to write us. I will talk to my staff; thank all of them for doing a great job. All the best to you and we really hope to see you soon back in Lucerne.

yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Mekong Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing