We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Altstadt Hotel Le Stelle Luzern
Nearby Hotels
CASCADA Hotel(Lucerne)
$223
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$182
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$266
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$253
$223
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$238
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$472
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$491
$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$611
$411
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$359
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$341
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
20
39
34
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
39
34
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfew minutes walk awaynice and clean hotelgreat locationmodern bathroomcoffee machinebreakfast includedchapel bridgetrain stationluggagefanswitzerland
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 114 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lucerne & Switzerland itself is incredibly expensive so I say no more about value for money.

Great location in the old town and the free breakfast at its sister hotel was nice to have. Sure it's a bit quirky, rooms are small but efficient, Internet was good, shower had good pressure and was hot, and the bed was comfortable. We stayed on the 6th floor, the attic so we had no neighbors or sounds of an elevator or opening of doors.

The elevator is actually a wheelchair lift - hey it's a part of traveling, experiencing new and quirky things. Otherwise known as Europe, where nothing gives you a sense of value for dollar.

We enjoyed the room and location. All we did is sleep in it as Lucerne has so much to do with Mt. Rigi and Mt. Pilatus so no complaints - great location.

Room Tip: 6th floor - is the Attic really quite.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lawsonmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had this property booked by our travel agent as this was the best available option on the dates we wanted to travel as all the other hotels were booked.

The only good thing about this hotel is it's location, which is bang in the city centre.

Other than that I have nothing good to say about this hotel.

1. Check in at another hotel (Hotel Krone)
2. Luggage to be carried till first floor.
3. Slowest lift ever encountered in my life. It resembles more of a industrial lift for goods rather than for people.
4. Rooms are pretty small and even the floor height is very less. A six feet tall person can easily touch the celiling without even extending their arms fully above their heads.

The staff at hotel krone were ok and co-operative and they also let us keep the luggage after check out to roam the city.

Avoid this hotel if possible, grudginly accept if no other choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paradoxcy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've spent two nights at Le Stelle and were very happy with our experience.

Previous comments mentioned noise and no air conditioner. We were expecting it, and wanting to stay in the old part of the city we had no problem with that. Buildings are old (cannot change how they are laid out!), located perfectly on little squares (with bus loads of tourists walking through them), so yep, noisy and fresh air from outside only... In a charming way. Windows are very well insulated, so no noise at all when closed. We visited Lucerne in summer, and where lucky it was coolish (22degres).

The room was very clean, modern, with free wifi and coffee machine. Shame about the twin beds next to each other and not one big mattress. Cuddling with better half becomes tricky!

The little italian restaurant downstairs was nice (especially with the 20% discount voucher from the hotel!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexy7772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Adorable hotel right in the middle of Old Town Lucerne. Perfect lcoation and the restaurant attached is lovely, the owner was extremely nice and welcoming - even made us dinner reservations at a place she recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Strange idea checking in at one hotel and then walking outside to another. Hotel Krone is where you check in and this is easy to find in the old town area. You then have to walk about 3 minutes to find your hotel above a restaurant. As others have said the lift starts from floor 1 so luggage does need to be carried to here. Lift is slow but gets you there, stairs are quicker. Room was very comfortable but small. Great view over the square. Nice L'occitane toiletries for the bathroom.
Yes - you do have to walk back to Hotel Krone for breakfast but not too bad although breakfast was one of the more basic continental offerings we had on this trip.
Helpful reception staff who stored our luggage whilst we went out for the day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BidBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews