We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for take away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khoua Vientiane

Khoua Vientiane
Ranked #18 of 391 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for take away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The food was good, huge portions and good prices (for Switzerland). It is a small, shaggy but charming place. The problem for me was the cooking odors that remained in our clothes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    35
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent place, wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

On my own in Lucerne for the evening i decided, as a serious affecinado of Thai food, to explore. The intention being to do a course a various of the restaurants mentioned on TA. The first choice had to be the Khoua because of the authentic reviews that had credibility.

I had a table and it took me a while to work out how the place worked but the never ceasing smiling lady behind the counter took me under her wing. As I judge Thai restaurants around the world by the quality of their Tom Yung Gung (have given 2 x 10/10 -Chiang Mai & Phuket) I naturally had to try it here. i asked for it to be spicy and 'Thai Style'.

Absolutely wonderful: A huge bowl full of everything that it should have (plus a couple of things I didn't recognise). The heat was very hot, the flavour superb and it took me 45 mins to eat it all. Wonderful. So because the soup was so good I gave up on my excursion and stayed there for some yellow noodles which were also good, although I was bit full by then.

A big thank you to all those that recommended this wonderful Thai cafe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trustjohnthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tasty, quick and good price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Before leaving Lucerne we were looking for something quick and yummy - and this filled the order!
The food was really fresh and delicious - service was quick and price was really good too.
There's a small seating area - clearly it's a big take-out spot - but everyone there was happily enjoying.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MollieBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Why is it the BEST in Luzern or even in Switzerland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have been living and eating in Thailand for over 10 years. I hate all the Swiss Thai restaurants which try to get Thaifood to the Swiss taste. The best Thai food is eaten at the shaggy place on metal chairs and plastic dishes. It is as well never coming from the already pre prepared curries in the outlet BUT coming from the hidden normally in Thai written culinary delights of the Thai menu (which you always have to ask for). Get then help from the staff to get the authentic special of the day and then you finally talk business and real THAI culinary delights. It's not the design, it's not the nice looking staff. It's the food. Enter Khoua Vientiane and you feel immediately back in Thailand. There is no trying to be hip or cool. It's just the ONLY real thing. I would never visit the Astoria in Luzern for Thai food, but I am frequent visitor to the best Thai Restaurant in Switzerland: the Khoua Vientiane

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lukasoritzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I must be missing something...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Based on the rave TA reviews and looking for an alternative to the largely vegetable-free offering we had been finding, we went to this little (five or so stainless steel tables) storefront place located down a back street. Was really looking forward to the fresh summer rolls pictured on TA, but saw nothing like that on site. The food was perfectly fine, but nothing to merit (in my opinion) the rave reviews. It would fall, at best, in the middle of the everyday Thai/Asian restaurants we routinely frequent in the Pacific Northwest (US). Also seemed a bit expensive for what was provided. Recognizing that Switzerland can be expensive (although we had some excellent, moderately priced meals in other parts of the country) and Lucerne in particular, we shared a single order of chicken and vegetables with rice and one coke for CHF 25.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrRicOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khoua Vientiane also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Khoua Vientiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing