We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt. Rigi Hike & Spa”
Review of ECHO Trails

ECHO Trails
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$167.81*
and up
Half-Day Walking Tour of Lake Lucerne Villas and Castles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: ECHO Trails walking, hiking and biking tours take you out of the city into breathtaking scenery and fresh Alpine air. Come along for a tour of jaw dropping alpine vistas, quaint villages and working farms, hear the story at historic places and enjoy the picturesque countryside. Our passion is to share the incredible beauty around Lucerne and in the central Switzerland area. ECHO Trails works in tandem with Switzerland's efficient public transportation system and depending on the tour, we use a combination of local buses, trains and/or boats for transfers to and from our end destination. ECHO Trails native English-speaking, guided half- or full-day walking, hiking and biking tours are tailor-made for you. There are half-day, full day walks, hikes and bike tours to choose from. Even with limited time you can have a genuine Swiss outdoor experience. Small groups – maximum 15 people per tour, carefully chosen trails, informative itineraries, friendly and enthusiastic, English-speaking guides, for anyone in average physical condition, guaranteed departures, all tours include historic or cultural insights, relaxing pace with frequent photo stops, all transfers on public transportation system, each tour includes a stop at a scenic restaurant.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Mt. Rigi Hike & Spa”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you're staying in Lucerne and want to experience the adventure of hiking a mountain and the luxury of relaxing in a mineral spa, then I would absolutely recommend signing up for the Mt. Rigi guided hike from Echo Trails. Rene is a top guy and I am sure all of his tours are as good as the one I went on. It was perfectly paced and provided a truly authentic Swiss experience which I'll never forget.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Muzzabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene W, Owner at ECHO Trails, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
At 24 you are one of the youngest ECHO Trails participants. Thanks for taking time out from your busy Australian day and sharing your Mt. Rigi experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hergiswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Competent and Knowledgeable”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My hike on Mt. Rigi with René was an eye-opener. I live in the region, and had already visited Rigi numerous times before. But as a seasoned regional guide, René displayed a comprehensive and fascinating knowledge of the region's history and culture, and introduced me to a splendid rustic dining experience at Alpkäserei Chäserenholz. Having a competent guide like René can really reduce the stress of unfamiliarity and assure that you won't miss the worthwhile sights along your path.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tannegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mt Rigi + Rene = The Highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a wonderful day with Rene, who was quick to respond to our emails and provide us with several ideas and information about the area. The weather predictions were for 100% snow on the day we had chosen to visit Mt Rigi, so Rene was very flexible in changing our excursion to another day. What a beautiful day it was, with the sun shining above the clouds and snow on the ground. Rene met us at our hotel on the morning of the trip and escorted us to the train station to get the train to connect to the Cog Railway that goes up to the top of Mt Rigi. Fabulous panoramic views at the top, with groomed trails carved out in the snow. Lunch was also at the top of Mt Rigi consisting of Fondue (which was not on the menu, only Rene knew to ask) and wine, enjoyed outside in the winter sun. Afterwards we hiked to the Spa where we enjoyed warm mineral spring waters while overlooking the Alps. On to the tram to go down to the mountain and get on the Ferry back to Luzern. Rene was very personable and totally catered the day to our time schedule and desires. Directions and where to go can be a bit challenging and catered to the domestic market, so Rene was surely a plus in guiding us. Rene exceeded our expectations - we couldn't have asked for a better guide and experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene W, Owner at ECHO Trails, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Janice,

You and Bill are the only two who I know who just flew from the USA to Lucerne for a long weekend trip. The Swiss alpine sun Gods opened the skies for your day on Mt. Rigi and so glad you experienced it all as you wished. Merry Christmas and let the power of the Swiss alpine mountains continue to be with you both.

René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rene is an awesome tour guide”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My sister and I did the Villas and Castles Walk and the Mt. Pilatus Hike and Summit Excursion on September 2 and 3 respectively. We enjoyed seeing the various villas and going inside and seeing Meggenhorn castle was a treat. The Mt. Pilatus hike was great and the weather that day could not have been nicer. We enjoyed the hiking and the alpine restaurant was a delight. The macaroni and cheese with the potatoes and apple sauce was yummy. The last part of this hike (The Flower Trail) in particular has stunning views and good hiking shoes are definitely a must. Renee was very solicitous and made sure that everyone was enjoying themselves and asked whether they needed to rest. The different modes of transportation made this tour a lot of fun. My sister had accidentally left behind a small bottle of wine and Rene actually dropped it off later at our hotel. I highly recommend ECHO trails and Rene Welti.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cind11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had an awesome time and despite the forecasted weather conditions turned out to be 2 sunny days which we were very thankful for. We did the Mt Pilatus hike and the heart of the alps hike of multiple days.

I want to thank John personally for improvising and getting the best out of the circumstances and conditions. We took the road less travelled and I am glad we did because it was amazing! I think we created a couple of new Echo trail routes! We were in great company and always felt safe.

I can't say anything negative about the whole experience but all I can say its a must do when you go to Lucerne. Its one thing to go on the Gondola and view the alps for 1 hr buts it totally different when you walking through them.

Special thanks to Rene also for being so easy to deal with beforehand.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank alodhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ECHO Trails also viewed

 

Been to ECHO Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing