We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational day”
Review of ECHO Trails

ECHO Trails
Book In Advance
More Info
$169.39*
and up
Half-Day Walking Tour of Lake Lucerne Villas and Castles
More Info
$307.02*
and up
Private Day Hike of the Alps from Lucerne
More Info
$359.96*
and up
Swiss Army Knife Valley Bike Tour with Lake Lucerne Boat Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: ECHO Trails walking, hiking and biking tours take you out of the city into breathtaking scenery and fresh Alpine air. Come along for a tour of jaw dropping alpine vistas, quaint villages and working farms, hear the story at historic places and enjoy the picturesque countryside. Our passion is to share the incredible beauty around Lucerne and in the central Switzerland area. ECHO Trails works in tandem with Switzerland's efficient public transportation system and depending on the tour, we use a combination of local buses, trains and/or boats for transfers to and from our end destination. ECHO Trails native English-speaking, guided half- or full-day walking, hiking and biking tours are tailor-made for you. There are half-day, full day walks, hikes and bike tours to choose from. Even with limited time you can have a genuine Swiss outdoor experience. Small groups – maximum 15 people per tour, carefully chosen trails, informative itineraries, friendly and enthusiastic, English-speaking guides, for anyone in average physical condition, guaranteed departures, all tours include historic or cultural insights, relaxing pace with frequent photo stops, all transfers on public transportation system, each tour includes a stop at a scenic restaurant.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sensational day”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a wonderful day hiking with Rene!! He is very well travelled and has exceptional local knowledge - making the entire day very easy with respect to logistics. We enjoyed our hike very much!! the views were breath-taking!! also, having authentic homemade pork sausage and potato rosti in a cosy restaurant in the Swiss alps is something I'll never forget!!! A MUST for anyone visiting Lucerne!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdenJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene W, Owner at ECHO Trails, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
It was great having you on the hike especially since this was a few days before your wedding. Wishing you and yours a super happy life and maybe even see you in the Gold Coast one of these days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deserves #1 rating!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely magical experience. The 'heart of the alps' tour is 100% the best thing we have ever done. Could not fault it. Rene is a brilliant guide and the day is fantastic. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank To2623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene W, Owner at ECHO Trails, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
It was great having you on the hike and glad you experienced seeing snow. No Worries.
Your Mate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great day on Rigi”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a great day out with ECHO Trails in Lucerne! Quick introduction at the train station and then we were off... Train to the top of mount Rigi to admire the views, then walked to an alpine dairy to see local cheese making in action. Cook-out lunch followed by a enjoyable hike along the peaks. Back down and a scenic cruise back to Lucerne. Thanks René!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThePell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene W, Owner at ECHO Trails, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Real glad the panorama view held up and you enjoyed the grilling.

With best to you,

Rene Welti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hikes for English speaking tourists”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hikes with ECHO Trails are guided by Rene Welti who has a wealth of information on touring Switzerland. He is extremely friendly, a great guide and a native English speaker (he also speaks Swiss German). He has a set plan for each hike but can customise it (within reason) if you have specific ideas in mind.

I booked 2 guided hikes with my wife - "Mt Rigi and Spa" and "In the Heart of the Alps". We changed the "In the Heart of the Alps" hike a bit so I won't discuss it as it may be a little misleading.

The "Mt Rigi and Spa Hike" has a good balance walking and seeing the highlights of Mt Rigi. We went up and down large portions of the mountain using the cogwheel train and cable cars and walked around the top. The tour included a stopover at a cheesemaker's shop to see the process and a bit of lunch. Rene brought up some traditional Swiss bratwurst / sausages which he cooked on BBQ pit. We did more hiking along Mt Rigi and ended at a hotel and spa resort. The tour does not include entry to the spa but Rene can work with you if you want to go.

Throughout the guided tour, Rene points out some interesting aspects of the area and can also give you some really good advice on other activities in Lucerne or other cities in Switzerland.

Booking the trip is done through the website and Rene provided greated communication throughout the process and after.

I'd recommend ECHO Trails to anyone who wants to do a guided hiking tour from Lucerne. Rene provides a great service and strives to make you happy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TYL_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene W, Owner at ECHO Trails, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Tyzer and Lucy,

The weather Gods were not as kind to us on the “In the Heart of the Alps” hike however you both were troopers. You should know I returned the socks the Staefeli alpine restaurant owner gave us last week. If ever I’m in Melbourne, I’ll call you and look forward to having a “cold” one with you.

With best to you both,

Rene Welti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“National Day on Mount Rigi by Luzern.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

On the 1st of August I was invited to join a family trip organized by René Welti of Echo Trails. The group met up at the cable car station in Weggis from where we took the cable car to Kaltband and then the old railway to Kulm, just below the summit of Rigi. After an easy walk up to the summit we had amazing views in all directions, the weather was excellent. From the summit we enjoyed a leisurely walk down the path to the farm cafe/cheesery at Hörelli where it was time for lunch. There is a good cafe there but we chose to use their BBQ area, returning to the cafe for coffee later. From there we followed a small path to the station at Staffel and continued on the path down to the view point at Chänzeli. Here we were treated to excellent views over the lakes towards Luzern. From Chänzeli we followed the path back to the Resort at Kaltbad where a cool beer was enjoyed. While there we had time to sit and enjoy some traditional Swiss music and dance with the added bonus of a set by six folk playing alpine horns. From Kaltbad the group returned to Weggis by cable car. The trip finished with the group making their way to the lakeside for a swim in the lake, a perfect end to the day. The trip was perhaps one of the shorter events offered by René but it was most enjoyable and at a very relaxed pace. Throughout the walk René kept us all well informed of the local history and points of interest, he has clearly done his research on this area. In summary, an excellent day out, at a leisurely pace, and with plenty of time for stops at the cafes/kiosks round the route.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank delingard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ECHO Trails also viewed

 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to ECHO Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing