We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“E-Bike tour with Victorinox Museum Visit”
Review of ECHO Trails

ECHO Trails
Book In Advance
More Info
$165.04*
and up
Half-Day Walking Tour of Lake Lucerne Villas and Castles
More Info
$350.71*
and up
Private Full-Day Alpine Ridge Hiking Tour from Lucerne
More Info
$299.13*
and up
In the Heart of the Alps Hike Tour From Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: ECHO Trails walking, hiking and biking tours take you out of the city into breathtaking scenery and fresh Alpine air. Come along for a tour of jaw dropping alpine vistas, quaint villages and working farms, hear the story at historic places and enjoy the picturesque countryside. Our passion is to share the incredible beauty around Lucerne and in the central Switzerland area. ECHO Trails works in tandem with Switzerland's efficient public transportation system and depending on the tour, we use a combination of local buses, trains and/or boats for transfers to and from our end destination. ECHO Trails native English-speaking, guided half- or full-day walking, hiking and biking tours are tailor-made for you. There are half-day, full day walks, hikes and bike tours to choose from. Even with limited time you can have a genuine Swiss outdoor experience. Small groups – maximum 15 people per tour, carefully chosen trails, informative itineraries, friendly and enthusiastic, English-speaking guides, for anyone in average physical condition, guaranteed departures, all tours include historic or cultural insights, relaxing pace with frequent photo stops, all transfers on public transportation system, each tour includes a stop at a scenic restaurant.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A 40km bike ride with electrically-assisted bicyles from Lucern to Brunnen via Küssnacht and Goldau. Our guide Rene was friendly and knowledgeable, pointing out many things of interest (especially historical) in a pleasantly companionable way. There were stopoffs for water & nibbles, restroom breaks, looking at the scenery, and also Hohle Gasse of William Tell fame. The scenery was wonderful, taking in hills, lakes, and fantastic views of Rigi. The E-Bikes were trivial to use, and made the hills involved a pleasure to cycle up. The cycling finished at Brunnen where we had an excellent lunch by the lakeside, and then a visit to the Victorinox Museum where we assembled our own Swiss Army penknives and had them personally engraved. A relaxing boat trip back to Lucern completed what was an excellent day. I whole-heartedly recommend this tour, and Rene in particular for dealing with two rather unfit Brits.

4  Thank AardvarkOfFnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 103 of 128 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice walk and view of Luzern and surrounding area. Knowledgeable guide and very friendly!!!
Highly recommended....

Thank Derrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My daughter and I spent five days in the Lucerne area last summer. Each day – unique, our time was relaxing and rewarding. The best part, the three days we spent with ECHO Trails – a company offering family-friendly, guided English-speaking hiking tours in and around Lucerne. We began with Mt. Pilatus shrouded in mist; rode a cogwheel train; cruised the lake; jumped on and off gondolas; enjoyed Brunnen and the Swiss army knife experience; walked along Lake Lucerne in the footsteps of William Tell; sampled farm-fresh cheese on a mountain meadow. Each day was not just exceptional but totally unique. Rene Welti the founder ECHO Trails and our guide for two of the three trips made sure we experienced authentic Switzerland. His knowledge and enthusiasm was a vacation bonus for us. With his guidance we navigated public transportation; met local residents; sampled local cuisine (chocolate) and hiked along some of the most awesome trails in the world.

2  Thank Nancnelsonduac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went on a hike with Rene in May 2013. We were looking forward to the experience especially with his great email communication leading up to the day. While the fog was heavy and we had to change our original trip, Rene made sure that we saw everything we planned and customized the tour to our need. He even showed us a chocolate shop and gave dinner reservations which was an added bonus. Book with Rene!

Thank Krischem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene W, Owner at ECHO Trails, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Many thanks for being troopers and being flexible to do the Swiss Path hike. Getting snowed on wasn't something on the plan but you took it all in stride. Also the gulping down of lunch and sprinting to make the Lake Lucerne boat was something we also didn't plan but made it on board too. Wishing you super great memories of your day in Switzerland hike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It was our first trip to Switzerland, and we knew we wanted to experience the Alps in the limited time we had! We researched and booked ECHO Trails before we arrived, so we knew we were only taking a chance on the weather. I'm so happy to say that everything was perfect. Renè met us at the train station, where we used the time on the train to plan our route to the top of Mt. Rigi. We were all experience day hikers, so we only took the cog-wheel train 1/2 way up, and hiked the remaining 2 1/2 hours. The sun was shinning and we stopped often to take in the views of the growing Alps as we got higher and higher. Renè was great with the knowledge of the area and Switzerland in general, he answered all of our questions. My favorite stop was about 3/4 up, when we stopped in a local farmer's house, where we snacked on his freshly made alps cheese & Swiss beer. The last part of the hike up was the steepest, but well worth it!
On our way down we took our time, with a picnic lunch overlooking Lake Lucerne. We decided not to do the spa, because the weather was so great, that we didn't want to go inside. We did look at spa, and if it was colder outside, I would have been more than happy to use it. From the Spa we took the cable car down to Weggis, which was fast, and also had great views. The boat ride back to Lucerne was fun, and had a great view of the Mt. Rigi, showing us how far up we really were. I wish we had more time in Switzerland, but using one full day of our vacation for this hike was well worth it!

1  Thank Nickawicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene W, Owner at ECHO Trails, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Our hike together was one of the nicest days in May so your Lucerne, Swiss trip planning was right on! We all saw the armada of Swiss boats on Lake Lucerne from our perch on Mt. Rigi. I later learned this show of all the Lake Lucerne boats was to showcase one of the renovated "paddle steamers" that was put back in the fleet that day. It was a pleasure hiking with you and wish you many fond Swiss memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ECHO Trails also viewed

 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to ECHO Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing