We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Hofgarten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hofgarten
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel staff were excellent - accommodating, friendly, and efficient. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location is great in that you can walk everywhere. The one negative was the bells from the church seemed to ring all night long. We had a very nice breakfast with a friendly waitress before we headed out. Lucern is a beautiful city and worth a visit. This hotel offers a very good room at a reasonable price (for an expensive country).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54jls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    60
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
60
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about the staff at Hotel Hofgarten. Everyone of them were so accommodating and helpful. There wasn't anything they wouldn't do with a smile. The manager was wonderful and so attentive. The hotel is quaint and very comfortable--not your typical cookie cutter hotel. Restaurant was nice and the ambience was so comfortable and romantic. Location was great just outside of old town so a little quieter. You feel like you're staying with friends or family. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbbussani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is clean and in a great location. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast every morning was beautiful and yummy. A great way to start the day. We were looking for something special and memorable to do while in Lucerne and the front desk people helped us set up a great trip to Mt. Pilatus. If ever traveling to Lucerne again I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GATravelgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The positives are that the location is convenient for the town but not dead centre, the room was a good size, clean, good facilities in the room and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Having said that the breakfast was fine, nothing to make it stand out though. There is the church almost opposite and whilst the room is double glazed they could bother a light sleeper.

The main negative here was the WiFi. The connection was good in the room but the speed was incredibly slow to the point where at times it was unusable. The other main problem (which is not just an issue for this hotel but Switzerland in general) is that it's relatively expensive.

I would still recommend it to anyone going there to stay here though

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

About 10 walking minutes to Luzern Bahnhof, room is clean and quiet in the night. The hotel staff are very friendly.
But WIFI signal is very very weak.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank YisenLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a charming small hotel with genuinely friendly and helpful staff. We stayed for 8 days with quite a lot of luggage and even though the very attractive room had limited storage space the staff found enough solutions to satisfy us (extra coat stand, hangers etc). The first evening we had problems with WIFI but this was also solved first thing in the morning and it functioned perfectly for our whole stay. The position is great, a few minutes walk to the lakeside, about 20 minutes walk to the station and cultural center. The breakfast was also great (and people came from outside for breakfast in the garden). The decor is attractive and original - ceramic reliefs on the walls outside the room with matching key holders (good traditional keys for Shabbat observers).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benshlomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Hofgarten for 3 nights in August 2011. The hotel has a small, comfortable, family atmosphere. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and even packed me a small breakfast on my last morning when I had to catch an early train. The hotel is on the older side and the rooms do not appear to have been renovated recently but it was still very comfortable. I'm sensitive to noise but the church bells did not bother me. I just kept the fan on at night and this drowned out the noise of the bells. My favorite part of my stay was the restaurant. My stay included breakfast and they offered a lot of options (hot and cold). I also ate dinner there two nights and the food was amazing! The outdoor garden was very peaceful and the waitstaff were very friendly and accommodating. Lucerne is expensive and considering this I think this hotel is a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the courtyard/garden if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#28 of 68 in Lucerne
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#22 of 68 in Lucerne
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#13 of 68 in Lucerne
829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofgarten

Property: Hotel Hofgarten
Address: Stadthofstrasse 14 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hofgarten 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Unique" hotel is conveniently situated just outside the historic old town. Within the three historical buildings you will find 18 beautiful & charming rooms, each individually styled and tastefully decorated. The hotel is secluded by its lush gardens and has its own fine restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hofgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofgarten Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing