We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$246
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 18
Hotels.com
$215
Fully refundable before Fri, Apr 19
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$153
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 18
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveler rating
160
192
71
32
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
160
192
71
32
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel great location train station recommend this hotel street noise switzerland receptionist bridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 484 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had a brief, 2 night stay at the Alpina Hotel. I booked a single room and because of my experience with a similar hotel in Geneva, my expectations were not high. Again, I chose this hotel because of its short distance to the station and, for Switzerland, at a reasonable price. As it turned out the hotel exceeded my expectations, Check-in check-out was quick and efficient, nice and helpful young ladies at the reception. It had the smallest lift I've ever seen in a hotel, it just about held me and my suitcase but families might have to make multiple trips. The room, at the back of the hotel, was clean and quiet. There was a safe, mini bar, desk, comfortable bed and quite a good bathroom.. The breakfast at the sister hotel Monopol, 50 meters up the road, was excellent and so was the service. About a 5 minute walk to the lake / Rhone. Perhaps 10 minutes across the bridge to the old part of town. I was quite happy staying at this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddoubleddutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear ddoubledd...

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station and the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

Thank you very much your feedback about our hotelstaff and for the quick and efficient Check-in and Check-out.

Our small lift is really very small and only for 3- 4 persons. But we do always a safety check with the elevators company and we can assure that the small lift is normal Swiss standard.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a small tourist hotel with very small rooms that were clean. It was quiet enabling a good sleep. A super excellent breakfast is served in an affiliated, and much nicer, hotel 100 metres away. Off street parking available. Located very close to the rail station and thus well placed to walk about the lake and central parts of the city. You get what you pay for.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glideA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Ray R

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice and small hotel ALPINA located directly next to the train station and the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location was excellent as it was only a three minute walk to the train station. The Alpina was within close walking distance of the Lucerne attractions. The room was very quiet and comfortable and the breakfast (at the affiliated Monopol Hotel) was absolutely delicious. Diana, the receptionist was very helpful and spoke excellent English. She was so likeable that we ended up naming her "Princess". Diana is a real asset to the Hotel Alpina. Other staff were very helpful and attended very promptly to our query about the heating. The very small lift was an experience in itself. Only scary because we didn't realise that it had two exits and had to manually push one of them open! This hotel was great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank VickiB122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear VickiB122

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station and the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

Diana will be very happy about your nice and friendly feedback. She is really a little “Princess” because her work is absolutely great.

Our small lift is really very small and only for 3- 4 persons. But we do always a safety check with the elevators company and we can assure that the small lift is normal Swiss standard.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel Alpina Luzern is a very functional hotel in the centre of Lucerne very close to the main train station. You wont get many luxuries. But if you are OK with staying at a decent, no-frills hotel, this hotel is perfect. All the floors and walls are nicely carpeted and overall the cleanliness levels are good. The central location means you can walk to all the main Lucerne attractions. There are several eateries and cafes just outside the hotel. The main reason i would recommend this hotel is the price. For the location, it is very high value for money and significantly more economical than the other hotels in the neighbourhood.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Akhilesh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Akhilesh0…

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station, the city Lucerne and many restaurants and cafes thank you as well for your feedback about the cleanliness in our hotel.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for four nights. Even though we arrived there before the check-in time, the room was made available to us. The hotel and the room was very clean, the hotel was well maintained, the bed was comfortable. We had to walk to the adjoining hotel owned by the same coy for our breakfast which was very good. WiFi was only available in the lobby accessed using a password obtained from Reception, the bandwidth was very good. The Lucerne Railway Station, reasonable priced restaurants and tourist attractions are within walking distance.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanthie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Shanthie…

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station, the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about the cleanliness in our hotel and for the confortable beds.

WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guests.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews