We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a central location”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a nice one night stay at the Hotel Alpina in Luzern. The hotel is very close to the main train station, the lake and the city centre. The service during ckeck in and check out was very pleasant, as well as the service during breakfast at the nearby Hotel Monopol. Our room was nice, with a terrace onto the street. Since our room did not have air conditioning, and since we could not leave the windows open during the night because of the noise in the street, we had to use the fan all night which was ok.

Very good value, very central location, highly recommendable.

Room Tip: During summer time, ask for a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TightLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear TightLoops

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback.
Our hotel ALPINA Lucerne is very close to the main train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest.
Thank you very much for your nice feedback for our hotel staff and for the nice room with terrace onto the street.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    133
    52
    21
    21
See reviews for
63
114
51
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked this Hotel through a Hotel Reservation Webpage (not tripadvisor) and added in the appropriate text-field the Annotation "Please a quiet room". Unfortunately this was not forwarded to the Hotel and we were given the loudest room they have - 1st floor, right above a Pub/Restaurant that was having lots of - loud and laughing on the street - People. So no sleep until 5am. The good news: the Hotel handled our complaint the next morning super-professionally. The bad news: As I said the Hotel was never forwarded our wish to have a quiet room by that Hotel Reservation Webpage. So please make sure to book this Hotel in whatever way you want - but make sure contact the hotel also directly to ensure to have a room facing the Yard. All the rest is fine - very conveniently and very centrally located (right next to the Train Station).

Room Tip: Make sure to contact Hotel to get a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euro-Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Euro-Leo

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies. We assure you to take your valuable feedback serious. It helps us to improve our grade of friendliness and to scrutinize our standard procedures.

Thank you very much for your kind feedback about the location then the Hotel ALPINA is very central and next to the train station, the famous Chapel Bridge and the tourist sites.

We would be happy to welcome you on another occasion in our city.

With best Regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location of this hotel is very good and for me, the most important things were room & bathroom cleanliness. The room was great, newly remodeled and the bathroom was spacious and clean. What is funny is that the rooms look like they fit in a different hotel because once you step outside your bedroom the halls and building are old and stuffy.

I have 0 complaints about the room; having said that, I think there are a few things that could be improved for the hotel itself.

1. When we arrived the hotel was closed and they put a sign on the door telling you to go to another hotel (the mothership) to go register. Unfortunately the map guiding you to the other hotel is so tiny that I didn't see it so I had to ask around. It's right next door so not a big deal but they could definitely improve that.

2. As some other people mentioned, Wifi is only available inside the tiny lobby and the signal belongs to the bar next door. Unfortunately that means that the lobby will get a bit crowded with hotel guests, especially at night, all trying to email, FaceTime, Facebook etc. You will watch people having very personal conversations with their families and learn intimate details of their lives (uncomfortable). I don't know why the hotel doesn't just provide WiFi signal to the whole place instead of having people piled up in the lobby...

3. The hotel "encourages" you to give them a good review in Tripadvisor by saying that if you give them a good review by X date they will enter you to win a stay at the top suite in the master hotel for 2 people. I think that's dishonest and ticked me off because if people are giving a hotel good reviews to get entered into a raffle then I must question what they actually said.

Our experience here was good; as I said before, all I cared about was having a good and clean room and bathroom. Would I stay here again? Hmm... maybe...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaRaJiTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear PaRaJiTo

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very happy that you tell us what we can improve in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne. All feedbacks are very important for us so we can make improvements as well.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your room and the cleanliness. And as well the good location of the hotel ALPINA Lucerne is very close to the centre of Lucerne and directly next to the train station.

WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guests. Nobody have to sit anymore in the crowded hotel lobby.

Thank you for the feedback that the map guiding to our sister hotel****MONOPOL Lucerne is not so big. We will improve that definitely.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A really well placed hotel very close to the railway station, the bus station, lake steamers and the main attractions of Lucerne, and not too highly priced for Switzerland. If you book early you can get a discount as we did. Although central, as the hotel is on a side street there is less traffic and crowd noise than you'd expect as the double galzing seemed to be effective. However, our room seemed to suffer from internal noise or perhaps we just hit a time with noisy guests! Whatever partitioning of rooms has taken place over the years, our room did not have good wall or ceiling insulation. Breakfast at the sister Hotel Monopol down the street was very good, but we were surprised to find that a hotel of such size had no restaurant serving other meals except for some of its coach parties. Presumably they expect people to use the on-site Macdonalds and Starbucks. Shame. Our shower room was a little too small for comfort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroleburrows9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear carolebur…

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Thank you for your kind feedback about the good location of the hotel ALPINA Lucerne. Very close to the train station, the bus station, Lake Lucerne and the main attractions of Lucerne. We have many lovely restaurants around the hotel ALPINA Lucerne with Italian food, Greece food or Thai food. Our reception staff can recommend to everyone a nice restaurant.

Our breakfast is served in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne, directly next to the hotel ALPINA Lucerne. We are very happy that you enjoyed the cold and warm buffet breakfast.

We are very sorry to hear that you had noise neighbours during your stay. We just like to inform you for your next stay, please call our reception staff.

We hope to welcome you soon again at our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Out of all the hotels we stayed in during our Europe trip, this was the best hotel for several reasons.

1) great location to everything ie chapel bridge, the train station (literally across the street), old town, lake Lucerne and the pier to take a boat ride of the lake or to the mountains, and vistor centre
2) we stayed in room 54 which was very clean especially the washroom! We were very impressed. The washroom was very spacious as well as our room itself. The only thing we didnt like was the flat pillows.
3) a great discount to see mount pilatus at 89.00 Swiss franks vs 98 at the visitor centre
4) breakfast was good too. It's a 1 min walk to hotel monopoly.

Wifi was only available in the lobby but that didn't bother us much.

There's a really good restaurant called Istanbul right next door which is well priced if you have a buffet plate vs a la chart.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovefoodandlotsofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I had a one night stay at this Alpina Hotel, Luzern, Switzerland. Together with us is our friend, his wife & daughter.
We kind of enjoy our stay at this hotel.
1) Hotel rate is kind to our pocket.
2) Very near the Train Station.
3) Very kind, helpful & thoughtful front desk staff. Who give clear instructions, good recommendation for restaurants, loan us umbrellas so that we don't have to buy one.
4) Personally brought to me the login name & p/w for internet slip, when I was at the lounge to log on to free internet.
5) I ask for extra pot of coffee, with pleasant SMILE (though we have our breakfast at Minopol Hotel, 1st floor.
6) We were given extra checkout time, the only one hotel in Europe that allowed us during our Europe 14 days tour from 11am to 11:30am so that we still could use the toilet before leaving.
7) We left with the small sweets as a token of sweets, was a very good gesture. Cheers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sengkhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a rather odd little hotel, comprising just a tiny reception area and bedrooms served by an ancient looking lift. For breakfast, you have to walk down the road to the Monopol hotel, and wifi is served by a hub in the adjacent Turkish restaurant. The usual services that you might expect from a 3* hotel are non existent. Having said that, it was a surprise to find that we had an excellent room, very comfortable, spacious and well equipped. However, there was no air conditioning and, if you opened the window at night, there was constant noise from rowdy passers by well into the early hours. (I would imagine that rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter). The bathroom was spacious, but the shower outlet was blocked and overflowed (yes, I did shut the shower door). We reported the fault to reception, but 24 hours later nothing had been done. When we again raised the matter with reception, they said that the porter had looked at it and said there was nothing wrong with it. Well, take my word for it, the shower outlet in room 59 is blocked. We actually enjoyed staying at the Alpina, despite its shortcomings, but I’d recommend that you ask for a room at the rear, and just hope that the shower works.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear KWD_11

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.
All feedbacks are very important for us so we can make improvements as well.

WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guests. Nobody have to sit anymore in the crowded hotel lobby.

Great that you enjoyed your room which one was a superior double room completely new renovated with wood floor. We excuse us sincerely that our hotel staff didn’t deblock immediately the shower outlet.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

We hope you had a safe journey home, warmest regards from Lucerne

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
822 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#18 of 68 in Lucerne
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central Luzern
Hotel Central Luzern
#41 of 68 in Lucerne
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina Luzern

Property: Hotel Alpina Luzern
Address: Frankenstrasse 6, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpina Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ALPINA Lucerne, directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest. Only 3 minutes by S-Train away from the Fair / Messe Lucerne. The well-tended, cosy and reasonably priced 3-Star Hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne is situated at the most central TOP-location (train station, city center, lake Lucerne, fair, center hotels lucerne). A CORDIAL WELCOME in Lucerne Hotels ALPINA Luzern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alpina Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing