We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“get lost in the old town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Lucerne

Old Town Lucerne
Book In Advance
More Info
$127.90*
and up
Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich
Ranked #5 of 77 things to do in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“get lost in the old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lucerne's old town is my favorite in Switzerland. Lovely shops, coffee shops, painted buildings, the lake, the wooden bridge, etc: just a fairy tale.
Just walk around, get lost, take an umbrella if it rains. Life is wonderful in Lucerne.
If spare time and sunny day: take a boat trip to the transport museum or to Brunnen. Hop in and out wherever you feel like. Drink a glass of wine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Discover_by_travelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,096
    558
    104
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Rick Steve's tour of the old town is well done and worth the walk. Beautiful old buildings, artwork and murals on the walls, old town charm. Great way to spend a few hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We walked and walked”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lucerne was one of the walking highlights of our Switzerland trip and we visited many other cities. We went to the nearest tourist office to the train station and got a local city map. From there we walked all over Lucerne. There was no shortage of shops, restaurants, landmarks and photo ops to keep us busy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MeAndMyLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Beautiful old town with cobbled streets and countless of delicious restaurants to frequent or just sit down at the fountains or street side to people watch. There's a pizza/pasta restaurant near a small souvenier shop that we absolutely loved! (cant remember the exact name of the place) but if you find it, do try it! Best pasta I've tasted during my trip in Switzerland.

Enjoy Lucerne! Hope the weather is beautiful when you're there, it was pretty cloudy when we visited.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank alexwhaddup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful painted buildings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The leaves on the trees were turning to gold, the paintings on the old buildings were intricate and unique, geraniums were still in window-boxes... lovely memories

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xeni25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Lucerne also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Old Town Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing