We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service - Nice Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed in Lucerne for two nights. This was the nicest hotel I booked during our 8 nights in Europe but the only one I wouldn't go back to. We were in a three person room and it was small and the third bed was a chair that turned into a bed, which was neat but not very comfortable. The hotel is an old building but turned very modern so it's neat in that regard. I did not like the bathroom at all. The shower had a huge step to get into and the shower head was like 3 feet from the shower floor. It took a lot of extra time to shower in this bathroom. The breakfast was standard European breakfast and was good. They had some great pretzel rolls. The location for this hotel is really good. Walking distance to everything. Had space to park the car but it was a pain having to turn in the car key to the front desk every time.

The one thing that I didn't appreciate was the service in the hotel. The staff didn't seem very happy for one thing. We weren't told that the third bed was actually the chair. So we thought we were in the wrong room and they were to send someone to add a bed (this should have been done prior to arrival). They said it would be 30 minutes and it was 3 hours. The staff at the front desk continually asked us how many people we had in our room, which was very annoying - they should know that from the reservation. Disappointed in this hotel and won't come back here to stay. Find somewhere else nearby and you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Waldstatterhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Centrally located opposite train terminal, and within easy walking distance of the old city, this hotel is a good value 3 star hotel. Rooms are comfortable but TV's could be updated to flat screen and bigger than a postage stamp. Rooms get stuffy and no air conditioning........open the windows to get fresh air and the noisy location becomes a problem....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h0lidaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our first two nights in Switzerland were spent here, and it set the stage for a wonderful vacation. The location can't be beat, across from the train station in within walking distance of the river, bridges and Old Town. It was a little noisy, but they thoughtfully provided earplugs that did the trick. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was most cordial.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenH207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Nice location, right across the train station. We got a free upgrade on our room, and the room was pretty spacious and clean with a decent size bathroom. Breakfast was included and had made to order eggs along with swiss cheeses , fruits.
Walking distance to the nearby attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We initially booked for three nights but extended our stay an extra two nights. We used Lucerne as a base so with the hotel being across the road from the train station, it was perfect. Other than the train station, the hotel was centrally located with plenty of restaurants and shops close by and just across the bridge from the old town. There was also a tourist information centre at the train station which was handy. The hotel rooms were standard rooms, average size and clean. It was a bit noisy through the night on the weekend from party goers heading home so if this is a problem for you, I would suggest booking a room at the back of the hotel. Staff were friendly, helpful and spoke english. The restaurant was nice for evening meals and the breakfast had both hot and cold options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimontroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel in late September and had a very comfortable stay. Our room was very spacious, third floor facing out from the front of the hotel, light and very tastefully furnished .... lovely renovation of the hotel looks fairly recent. Great shower and water pressure. It was a triple room, not that we had requested one. Maybe that's why it was so spacious.
Staff were very friendly and always greeted you in a friendly manner.
Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice, and included in the tariff. When choosing whether to go for a 3 or 4 star hotel our travel agent, who was based in Switzerland, said "our 3 star hotels are like 4 star". She was right, and the positive Tripadvisor reviews were also accurate.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel are interesting. Traffic noise not an issue due to glazing.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keentotravel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is located right outside the Lucerne station which is very convenient if you plan to use Lucerne as your base for exploring nearby places. We checked in at 7 am and were quickly given a room. The key chain is really heavy so you can use it as a paperweight. The room was was nice non smoking with lot of space to keep your luggage. the bathroom and shower were clean and spacious. The room was super quite considering it was next to the railway station.

The breakfast was amazing with a good spread for vegetarians. The hotel is located very close to many attractions in Lucerne. Lots of eating and shopping options closeby. The staff was super friendly and also helped us plan our trip to Rhine valley.

Overall, would happily stay again in Waldstaetterhof.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
987 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#16 of 67 in Lucerne
834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstatterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstatterhof

Address: Zentralstrasse 4, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $169 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Waldstatterhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities and comforts is set in late-19th century Victorian in the downtown area; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Waldstatterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing