We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Waldstatterhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
195 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were on a 6 days holiday in Switzerland and Lucerne was our last stop before we travelled to France to continue our holiday. As with most individual travellers in Switzerland, we arrived by train . We knew the hotel is near by but was really pleasantly surprised to find that it was just right next to the train station. Once you leave the train and move towards the exit, turn left and you should see a McDonald's and it's just further down the street and the hotel is a distinctive red building about 150 metres from the exit. If you end up on conference centre side, you are at the wrong exit.

The rooms are clean, high standard and breakfast is good. The breakfast spread was the best we had in Switzerland. We asked for connecting rooms because we are family of 5 and were given one without any fuss. We did make the request when we booked. The connection was at the main door. As you opened the main door, there are two doors within the mini hallway. One thing you should not expect is marble toilet fittings and high quality fixtures. This is after all a three star establishment but equivalent to 4 star in some countries.

The hotel is very conveniently located. We were easily within walking distance to the famed Chapel Bridge, the old town and even the Lion Monument was a 15-20 minutes walk away. We highly recommend the city walking tour which is conducted by a local guide. http://www.luzern.com/en/classic-walking-tour. You can buy a ticket from the tourist information office just across the street from the hotel a little to the left for CHF18. During winter, it's only conducted on Wednesdays and Saturdays. In summer, it's daily. We there in winter and were lucky to be there on a Wednesday. We bought our ticket 15 minutes before the tour started and there was only our family and another extended family from Canada.

Room Tip: Let them know your room preferences in advanced. We were travelling with 5 in our family and those w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrek-loves-Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    449
    125
    39
    19
See reviews for
283
391
74
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed over a busy period during Christmas this year and it was a joy to stay in this hotel. It has a really good location, just right next to the Lucerne train station. Breakfast was nice, and the rooms were spacious and spotless. From our room we could catch a glimpse of the mountains so that was excellent. Staff were professional and helpful.

Would definitely recommend staying here and will always be our first choice in Lucerne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contone, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

nice, cosy and clean hotel fully renovated in the center of Luzern in front fo the rail station and 5 min walk from KKL
very helpful personnel
ideal for family trip too.
Not too expensive, real Swiss hospitality

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Few meters away from Lucerne train station, very nice hotel and rooms are well maintained.

Hotel staff is very cordial and helpful too.

Breakfast spread was decent however one can have prodigious meal for its quality.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRASADBAJJURI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Location is by far the best - being located right beside the train station!...and this is the biggest USP of the property. This teamed with simple but beautiful and well-maintained rooms, pleasant ambiance, helpful and friendly staff, and amazing spread of breakfast makes it the perfect property for a pleasant and comfortable stay...

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MeghaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Slightly quirky hotel (rooms odd shapes, mis-matched furniture in rooms), always spotlessly clean. Staff friendly, efficient and very helpful. Buffet breakfast had a big choice of hot and cold food. Tea and coffee making facility in bedroom but the hotel charges for tap water in the restaurant.
Hotel situated across the road from the railway station and tourist information office. When I first entered my bedroom I was rather alarmed to find earplugs were provided but I'm pleased to say that they were not needed - I slept well every night. Bedroom furniture was an odd mix of modern and old, the bathroom small but adequate. One minor irritation was the room keys - the keyrings were large and heavy and had to be handed in to reception everytime you left the hotel - the card system used by many hotels now is much more convenient. In warm weather at night crowds gather outside restaurants and bars near the hotel which can be rather daunting for the single female traveller wanting to go out in an evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanLH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Brilliant location. This hotel is just on the other side of the street from Lucerne station. Hence the travel to Mount Titlis becomes simpler - if you want to leave from the station early in the morning. Very nice and modern looking property. Rooms were spacious and warm too. The breakfast was plenty and filling. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSourav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstatterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstatterhof

Property: Hotel Waldstatterhof
Address: Zentralstrasse 4, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Waldstatterhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities and comforts is set in late-19th century Victorian in the downtown area; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Waldstatterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing