We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Run Hotel, Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luzernerhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luzernerhof Hotel
Ranked #63 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Family Run Hotel, Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We took a "Best of Europe" tour through Cosmos and this was the hotel we stayed at while in Lucerne. It was in a great location in the city center of Lucerne, so easy to walk everywhere. They served an okay European breakfast that was included in our price. There was an in-room safe with key, but no min-fridge or ice (ice was 2 EURO). The only thing that wasn't good about this hotel was it had a very small bathroom and the traffic noise was loud. It was an older hotel and is family owned and run. They even waved the Swiss flag and waved goodbye as we left which was a nice tadded touch. Their pizza in the restaurant was very good but as with everything in Swtizerland (7th most expensive country in the world) expensive, 28 EURO. But overall a good hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishman620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    58
    31
    40
See reviews for
33
57
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Hotel staff were very helpful and the breakfast was ok. But the Tiny lift was not up to taking a coach full and luggage upstairs. The Traffic noise was terrible even on the 5th floor. Location of the hotel was good it was close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvafred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
440 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

8-14-13
Hotel Luzernerhof
Lucerne Switzerland
N 47 03.290
E 008 18.671

Nice Hotel but old and has not been upgraded. There is no Free WIFI and NO AC, can get a little warm. You have to leave the windows open. Yes all the noise fromthe street comes right in. The bedroom is medium size, The bath room is small, oh and don't plug in your hair dryer or any other high Amp. equipment. If you blow a fuse they will charge you extra. One nice thing it is right in the center of everything. Breakfast is the same as anywhere in this part of the world, dry bread, cereal, coffee and lunch meat, cheese.

Emry & Virginia
Yuma, AZ. USA

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

England
Level Contributor
328 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

It is a shame that the hotel suffers because of it's great location. Set in the centre of Lucerne and within easy reach of the main town and lake it has a lot to boast about but no A/C meant that we had to have the windows open and we found sleeping difficult because of the outside noise. Rooms were adequate and clean. Breakfast was OK. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelhappyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melboutne
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have read other reviews about this hotel and there was a lot of complaints re very hot rooms & very small rooms.
When we arrived to check in we were told we would be in the hotels apartment, which is located just around the corner.
When we arrived we opened the door to the apartment and were so surprised. It was beautiful. Large bedroom, lounge room, bathroom, kitchenette, equipped with all cooking pots & utensils, a fridge with freezer,fresh towels, and big windows which we were able to open and get the most beautiful breeze, not to mention a nice view too from the bedroom. We were very happy as it was also a fantastic location. Close to trains, lake, shopping, cafes, everything is within walking distance. The staff were very nice to us as well. Thank you hotel luzernerhof for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foreveritalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stay away from this place, especially, the resturant. The manager there was extremely rude and unprofessional. She is angry all the time. Why bother eat there and being stared at.

Tiny rooms, incredibly loud. you could clearly hear all the street sounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family of 3 were sweating in the cramped room without any air conditioning, and no fan. The windows couldn't open fully (so not much ventilation) and you could clearly hear all the street sounds and horns blaring from below - all day, and all night. There was some festival going on, and we could hear drunken people breaking bottles, shouting loudly, laughing and yelling the whole night. It was no surprise we couldn't get a wink of sleep. We came from a large tour group and everyone had the same complaints of the room.

It's either you close the windows to drown out the sounds outside (but die of heat) or, open the windows but don't get any sleep!

No free wifi in room, no kettle / coffee making facilities, and no fridge. Breakfast was really poor - yogurt, fruit salad, some ham and cheese, and croissant, coffee / tea. That's it.

Plus points - very very central, 100m from Lake Lucerne, and central to all the shops. Friendly reception also.

Room Tip: There are better hotels around the area which are better value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SapphireRose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzernerhof, Owner at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear family

Thank you very much for your comment.

We apologize for the inconveniences, that the hot weather caused to you and your family.

Please understand, that in Switzerland it's not usual, that the hotels have air condition, due to only 1-2 weeks (hot) summertime. We advice all of our guests to keep the windows closed during the day and open it in the night - when the temperatures are lower.

You pointed out as plus, that we are very central - and because of this in the night can be noise of cars, people walking arround, especially on the week-end. Additional we had a huge music festival (Blue Balls) in the city and all the people enjoyed the first days of very nice summer weather.

This year, in 2013, we changed the contract with Swisscom (our Wireless-Lan Provider) and monthly we pay a huge amount to provide the wireless-lan accounts cheaper for our guests. In the last years it was CHF 5 for 30 minutes and now you can use it 24 hours for the same price.

This hotel is running by the same family since 1957, even Mr. Walt Disney slept in our hotel, and we have a lot of satisfied guests, who come back to our hotel many times or visit our nice restaurant "Joel's Brasserie".

We always do our best, that our guests enjoy their stay and spend unforgetable holidays in Lucerne.

Kind regards
from Lucerne - now with a lot of rain...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#31 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#27 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#12 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#39 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Falken - Luzern
Hotel Falken - Luzern
#64 of 69 in Lucerne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luzernerhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luzernerhof Hotel

Property: Luzernerhof Hotel
Address: Alpenstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luzernerhof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Luzernerhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luzernerhof Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing