We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel not for summer~”
Review of Luzernerhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luzernerhof Hotel
Ranked #58 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed August 5, 2012

the hotel is nice, yet there is no air-cond~
We check in for 2 nights, 27/06/2012 - 29/06/2012.
Its was beginning to summer~
Its was hot till 30'C during daytime!
If the hotel can provide air-cond or at least fans for guest, then will be great!
Asian like me, or you, we really need at least a fan during sleep time~
But, there is 1thing that I really feel so upsad about this hotel.
We travel as a tour group from Malaysia. When we went for our breakfast, the waitress was quite rude to us as she just allow us to sit in as a group by a certain time.(normally, hotel breakfast would not control the time, we can just go for breakfast in between the breakfast serving period, this was the 1st hotel that only allow us to breakfast at the certain appointed time)
Being a guest, we feel so uncomfortable with the waitress's service!!!
Anyway, the location is great~
As you walk out the hotel, the Switzerland lake is around, the tower bridge is just a walking distance. And of course, you can shop until drop around the hotel~
The famous Bucherer and souvenior shops just around the corner.

Room Tip: you need to book the breakfast time earlier as the waitress would not allow you to sit in for the br...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuelMuelYow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Luzernerhof Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 181 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Considering the price the value in return is not a good deal. If I take my previous experience of other BnBs, I will give MINUS 100 for this hostel.

Amnities:
The BnB rooms are in other building 5 mins walk in shabby appartment. There is a single toilet and a single bathroom per floor which is shared by all rooms. In summer you are oblige to open windows and then you suffer all night with the noise of durnken people from the allee. If you want parking you have to pay extra 30€. If you want wifi pay also extra.

Service:
There were no toilet papers. When we called reception - you get shocking response ("Its not my problem" - words from reception). It makes you think - am I living here for free even after paying 125€/night? There is no breakfast included in your offer and neither there is water-boiler in room so you can make at least a coffee (otherwise pay 20€/person if you have big pockets). The staff is arogant and have no empathy for clients. The lady owner is so indifferent/impolite when you try to give her some contructive suggestion. Dont waste your time with her.

Conclusion:
Before you select this BnB/hotel, search 10 times if you can find something else.

Room Tip: Before you select this BnB/hotel, search 10 times if you can find something else.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Aside from the location which is very good, this hotel is a huge rip-off. The owner fails to tell you that the rooms have no air conditioning. She fails to tell you that with the windows open, the truck and major road noise from the main drag in Lucerne will definitely wake you up at 5 am latest and you will sleep no more. She fails to tell you that the tiny single elevator takes forever to come and go. She offered us an apt a couple blocks further away in another bldg that is part of the hotel but wanted to charge us $30 for parking while it was free at the main bldg.

Avoid like the plague. There a MANY better choices in Lucerne. Believe the bad reviews. There is no good night's rest at the Luzernerhof, just exhaustion and a lighter wallet for naught.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank brucegz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

very well centrally located, clean rooms,you have to be young and able to go up the stairs as the landlady keeps switching off the lift to prevent luggage being taken up or down using the lift, poor frugal breakfast, the swiss electric plug is not standard, the landlady wouldnot give us an adaptor to use it for charging my mobile, she said give me your mobile to charge it at the reception and pay 5 swiss franks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmmanOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed in a single room with a group tour. The walls were painted a very ugly shade of chartreuse, the room was smallish, and the overall decor was old and tired. There was no air conditioning and no fan, just one window.

The location was nice, as it was across the lake (and over a street or two) from the train station.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Don't understand what some reviewers expected!!! We spent 3-months in hotels in central Europe. The room price was excellent for anywhere in Switzerland = great value. The reception staff was most accommodating. A late checkout with baggage storage was most acceptable. Was a rainy night so we had dinner in Joels Brasserie within the hotel. Being frugal we ordered a simple dinner and were more than pleased with the meal and the server.
I absentmindedly set my wallet on the chair next to me. The server reminded me. I was thankful. The manager inquired whether we needed anything. Turned out that he was the owner of Joels and the entire hotel. In the morning the breakfast service could not have been better. We were near the end of the bkft period and asked for cucumbers and tomatoes to which we had become accustomed in Switz. The woman mgr said that was not normally on the menu and proceeded to bring the largest tray of both + cheeses. It was wonderful. Turned out that she along with her husband are the owners. Our only comment was that the room needed a fan. I highly recommend the Luzernerhof!

Room Tip: Realize the hotel is centrally, conveniently located though one short block off the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WANDERERflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel was absolute crap. The owner scared the living daylights out of me (and never changed outfits), and yelled at everyone for everything. The rooms smelled awful also. The beds were made out of wicker and gave the room a foul odor. I woke up every morning with a backache because the beds were so uncomfortable. The toilet in the bathroom was crooked, making it difficult to get in and out of the shower. I would never recommend this to anyone. I'd rather sleep on the grass.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia D, Leiter Front Office at Luzernerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Dear guest
Thank you very much for you feedback. We will forward your rating and concerns to our supervisors in order to constantly improve our services.
We hope to welcome you soon
Best wishes
Your Luzernerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#23 of 67 in Lucerne
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#41 of 67 in Lucerne
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#29 of 67 in Lucerne
796 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#46 of 67 in Lucerne
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luzernerhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luzernerhof Hotel

Address: Alpenstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $135 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luzernerhof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luzernerhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luzernerhof Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing