We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're on a budget in Lucerne - this is your place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lucerne Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you're on a budget in Lucerne - this is your place”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The good: CLEAN, WARM, FRIENDLY & VERY HELPFUL STAFF, EASY WALK FROM TRAIN STATION

The bad: At 1am I woke up with the WORST cold. I wanted tissues, cold medicine, hot tea, and just a room to sit in where I wouldn't wake up my buddy who was trying to get sleep. But unfortunately the lobby and reception area "closes". I haven't seen a hostel close before at night, but this hostel closes around 11pm so you can't get help or ask for help if it's between around 11pm to 6am (I may have my times wrong).

Improvements: This is a hard one..... see, I'm American and don't speak A WORD of German (or Swiss-German) and you know when you go to a hostel you kind of hope to meet people, share traveling stories, share city tips and maybe even a meal together..... well, since I didn't speak German I kind of felt like I didn't belong.
So this is really MY FAULT - not the hostels.

Maybe if they had like an "ice-breaker" or a little bit of optional "group entertainment" it would have given me that little bit of an "I belong" feeling.

Overall- this hostel is perfect for your average hostel traveler. I would recommend it in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There's a beautiful view of the lake from the balconies, but hard to see if you're on the 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelagentbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    109
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
66
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice if simple rooms, very clean bathrooms and communal kitchens, staff good at encouraging people to be clean and tidy in a friendly way. No aircon, but well insulated so not too hot. Don't get a room above the entrance, as smokers lurk there and the smoke comes into your room. Also get mosquito repellent. Rooms have card locks and are secure. Leave window shut when out and about, as balconies link. Very very good value, recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Narrowfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hostel is a great place for budget travellers and backpackers! The walk from the train station would be far if it weren't for the view of the lake. The first few floors are located for guests while the top floors are for residences. That makes the place even cosier and home-like! There is a very well-equipped kitchen available for hostel guests and even a dining area on the ground floor! They have board games too! This hostel is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This place is by far the best hostel iv stayed at so far.
Yes its expensive (But that is switzerland (cheap for the country i guess) so you would expect it to be good.
there is 2 kitchens so you don't really have to wait around to cook dinner. and you can buy things there so great for that late night snack that you where craving.
its a very open floor plan so great for meeting new people.
and the reception is awesome and friendly THUMPS UP !!
The only thing i think it should have is a 24hr reception but... thats understandable.

Room Tip: 11 or 12 on first floor. right opposite showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Vermont
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We (2 25 y.o. Backpackers) stayed here for one night this fall. Overall, it fulfilled it's purpose, but nothing I was crazy about.
We stayed in a 4 person dorm. I did like the locker set up as it was in the corner of the room and not intrusive to you roommates as some of he under the bed lockers can be. The beds were pretty average. Similar situation with the bathrooms. The water ran freezing out of the sinks, and there was no mirror in the ladies bathroom at all. I didn't use the kitchen, and while it was small, it seemed to be well equipped. The location is nice, and on the lake. But, the walk from it to the city center was very quiet and a bit 'out of the way', with 2 of us it felt fine, but I will admit I wouldn't love doing it alone at night. The wifi in our room was very spotty, but worked well in the lobby.

Overall, it was an adequate, cheap place to sleep, but not hugely social or standout.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is a 10-15mins walk away from the train/bus station. Just look for the exit with the KKL building facing you and walk towards the building. Go around the corner (right) and continue walking straight all the way along the lake and you should see a bridge. Cross the bridge and continue heading straight down. You should pass several office buildings and the Seepak restaurant/building with the hostel flag just beside it (can't miss it even in the dark ;)) alternatively you may want to take a bus (follow the directions on the hostel website, they're very comprehensive)

Rooms wise, the private double rooms were furnished with floor beds and 4 lockers. Please bring your own lock as locks are not provided.

Please note that cooking with a stove is ONLY allowed from 4pm-11pm. Microwaves/electric kettles and toasters are available from 730am (when the counter opens) so do plan ahead. Personally I could cook a full meal (pasta, chicken, sausages, soup, etc) without a stove but it'll take some getting use to ;)

Bikes are available for rent at CHF16 for a whole day and umbrellas are available free (just remember to return them). If you need to check out before 730am, please do a 'soft check out' the night before. Approach the reception for instructions.

Food and accommodation here are extremely costly and this place is a must-go if you're on a tight budget :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imma_beach_bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Located in a quiet area by the lake,this is the perfect budget option in an expensive city. My fears of an invasion of mosquitos were unfounded,just don't leave your windows open with the lights on. The restaurant next door closed without warning after i'd eaten there on the night I arrived,however a bar nearby sold snacks,and there is a large supermarket nearby. The staff were helpful and cheerful,it was a pleasure to stay here for six nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyfitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#32 of 68 in Lucerne
1,531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
931 reviews
1.8 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#36 of 68 in Lucerne
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
0.7 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucerne Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucerne Backpackers Hostel

Property: Lucerne Backpackers Hostel
Address: Alpenquai 42, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Lucerne Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Backpackers Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing