We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel but far from center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lucerne Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hostel but far from center”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hostel and staff was great but it was a good 15+ minute walk from the train station and at least 20+ minutes to old town area. Rooms and rest of hostel was clean and comfortable but the location was not ideal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    112
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
31
66
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 for a night. We took a quad room, the room is basic but clean and spacious enough to put all our luggage. Which I think is the important point for us budget conscious people, just looking for a clean and comfy place to crash for the night, especially considering that Switzerland isn't a cheap place. The room even came with a study table, for those of us who keep a diary or write postcards to send home.

It is a bit far from the city centre, about 15min walk to the famous Lucerne bridge, but we enjoyed just strolling along the lake eating an ice cream along the way.

Good, clean facilities, plenty of wash basins just outside the rooms. Would be really useful during peak periods whereby everyone is scrambling to get ready.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you;re traveling Switzerland, be prepared to spend some money. The place is gorgeous, friendly, expensive and worth it. Backpacker's is a rare place to save a buck. I'm here now and loving it, at half the price of a budget hotel. I know that hostels are usually for the young, but this place is different - there are all ages here. But book ahead - this place is not a secret.

Room Tip: If you swing it and they're available, pick a 2 person room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgguido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The staff were very friendly, the room and the toilets were clean. The location is awesome very close to the lake side but if you want to go to the city centre and the train station you will walk about 15min.
Anyway it is a good place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davide D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed one night. Room was clean and staff polite and very helpful. Free Wi-Fi and parking place just outside the hostel. Very reasonable price for Switzerland. 10 minutes walk from train station and city centre. Hot water all day. Good facilities. Kitchen etc. Towels not included in room price but you can get one very cheap from reception.

I can highly recommend that place for everyone. Definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurzew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

everytime we play with our band in lucerne we stay at this place.
(about 5 times now)
we LOVE it !
ofcourse it's very basic, but what do you need more than a clean room and showers ?

staff is friendly and helpful.
location is super ! in front of the hotel is a park with lakeview,
To get to the real "centre" of the city (where all the bars and restaurants are) is
10 minutes near the lake, and gives a good impression on the city.

watch out because check-in ends like 22:00 or so...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemondedumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012, we found staff to be very helpful and accommodating. It is set in a lovely location, right by the beautiful lake. We stayed in a private double room, with shared bathrooms. The bathrooms and showers were always clean and tidy. We were allowed into our room early, which was a lovely surprise after carrying our bags for ages! The laundry service is excellent. Kitchen facilities are great - although breakfast is not supplied, you can buy some cereals from reception.Close to a supermarket. Quite a few mosquitos found their way into our room ... but other than that I cannot fault this hostel! Had a fantastic time on our first trip to Switzerland, (were even given some free toblerones when we checked out!!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#37 of 68 in Lucerne
1,553 reviews
1.8 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
0.8 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucerne Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucerne Backpackers Hostel

Property: Lucerne Backpackers Hostel
Address: Alpenquai 42, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lucerne Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Backpackers Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing