We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucerne Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hostel was clean and had a good location (15 minute walk from train station). It is very much what you would imagine a hostel to be- no frills, no extras. I stayed in the 4-person dorm room, which was fine. It had lockers, two desks, and two sets of bunkbeds. I think that for the price, breakfast should have been included. The other guests were pleasant and quiet- everyone in my dorm went to bed before 11.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieinistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 240 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in early April. Plenty of parking right outside the hostel. From here we easily walked to all the major sights there was to see in lovely Lucerne. Our room was on the second floor with its own balcony. The room was large with toilets/showers and basins just across the hall. Very clean and warm with friendly staff. great value for money.

Only one downside for us and most likely for some others is that the noise from other guests easily pierce the walls and enter the room. Aside from this we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 27 and 28 are right across the hall from the toilets and showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Found_Lost_Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Nice and clean hostel in Lucerne, though a bit far from the train station. The hostel website says its 10-12 minutes but its actually about 20 minutes walk. best is to take bus 6,7 or 8 to the back side of the hostel and then walk about 5 minutes. The caretakers were very friendly and helpful, kitchen area well kept and clean. The price was a little more than for a usual hostel but then that's because it was Switzerland. We booked a room with lake view and had a nice stroll in the morning along the lake which was really refreshing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view if you are booking a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We checked in early to the hostel which wasn't an issue.bathrooms and showers were clean. Communal ideas were kept tidy. Room itself was spacious for a 4 bed private with a balcony! An added bonus. Staff were really friendly and they did everything possible to accommodate us. Location was fantastic . Across the road from the lake and supermarkets + train station are close by.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelnomadkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

First the long way, to far from Lucerne city and culture. with my heavy bag to long this way on the lake and small brigde. you have to wait long time to check in. The kitchen its big, but you can not use, the kitchen is only at night open. You can hear neighbors in the room, not confortable and long way to the city. Never more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ab_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The location of this hostel is not bad. It's around 10-15mins walk from the Station along the lakeside. You will find a large park near the lakeside and there are many young people rush to the beach during summer time.

You'll need to consider if you have a tight schedule, since the hostel only accept check-in after 4pm. Even you arrive 15mins earlier, the front desk won't open and no body will welcome you even the staff was already there. You will found a queue lining up there and waiting for the front desk to open before 4pm.

We have booked a private room with twin bed and a small terrace. The room is on the ground level, and the terrace is facing another residential building. You may find it weird watching the neighbouring residents when sitting in the terrace.

The room size is good with some closet for storage. However, I found the lock of the closet not functioning. The staff refuse to fix it for me and told me that it safe there and we are just staying for one night. There is no air-con in the room, but we can have some fresh air coming from the terrace door.

The kitchen have all the facilities you may needed including microwave, toaster, stove, etc. There are some restriction on the opening hours but it's fine for us who seldom cook. The bath is fair and clean.

You will need to return the keys after check-out. However, they will accept check-out before 10am. It would be difficult for us as we need to visit Rigi before we leave Luzern on the date we check-out. Finally the male staff accept us to place the luggage in a common room, and we can pick them before 3pm when we left Luzern.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merlin2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My friends and I chose this hostel as it was the cheapest place to stay in Lucerne or Interlaken. We rented a car and found pay parking easy enough out in the lane infront of the hostel. The hostel is at the end of this lane and shares this parking with park across the lane (adjacent to the lake). Absolutely, phenomal location to enjoy this park and the lake. There are ample benches surrounding the lake and a little beach area over the bridge. I sat out in the sand on the beach and watched a rowing team go for a practice, sailboats glide by, some brave souls go for a swim and lots and lots of folks doing the typical park activities (throwing frisbees/footballs, reading, having a tipple). This location was one of the best things about this hostel.

The hostel itself was professionally run and cleanly executed. Everything was neat and tidy and I could not have wanted for more. One of my traveling companions had never stayed in a hostel and I'm so glad this was her first as she was duly impressed. I did warn her that not all hostels were this nice! The interior decor was so fun and funky that I found myself wandering around just to take photos of how they had decorated for inspiration in my own home. The folks at the registration desk could not have been any more helpful and answered our many questions. With directions to the closest grocery store (a short walk away), we were able to get some grub and save a lot of money.

The three of us opted for a shared single-sex dorm room to save a bit of money and hope that the fourth bed was not rented out. The room had two sets of bunk beds, two desks and designated lockers for each bed. There was a nice balcony that overlooked the lane to the park and lake beyond. Everything was nice and clean. Directly outside our room was the wall of sink basins and mirrors (there is a photo of this in someone else's review). There was a separate female and male enclosed toilet with washbasin, which was nice since we know how gross boys can be. ;) The downside to this I suppose is if your gender toilet is occupied you would have to either wait or use the opposing gender,although I believe across the hall there was a duplicate set-up so you could go over there. There were separate shower rooms with sink basins. These rooms were spacious enough but the water temps in each were crazy bad. One room was freezing and the other was too hot even first thing in the morning when you wouldn't think availability of water would be an issue.

Now, to get to the 'worst night sleep' part of the review. The area we stayed in was loud. Not as in people yelling and partying or such, but everything echoed, EVERYTHING. Because our room was across from the wall of sinks and there's no carpeting, we could hear any movement being made out there. The door leading into this wing of the hostel slammed everytime someone entered or exited. The doors to the restrooms slammed. I am not typically a light sleeper and neither was one of the other traveling companions who also didn't sleep well. We did unfortunately get a fourth roommate late into the night who had to turn on lights to take a shower and settle in (understandably), which may have contributed to the sleepless night, but overall it was a horrible night's rest. Perhaps this loudness is less of an issue in the other areas?

I would certainly stay in this hostel again even with the bad night of rest and my friends and I would have enjoyed staying for a bit longer to get to know the other folks staying at Backpackers Lucerne as they seemed an eclectic, interesting bunch.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the lake as it's a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#39 of 67 in Lucerne
1,583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
948 reviews
1.8 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucerne Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucerne Backpackers Hostel

Address: Alpenquai 42, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Lucerne
Price Range: $33 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lucerne Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Backpackers Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing