We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple food, well done in unbeatable location”
Review of Luz Seebistro

Luz Seebistro
Ranked #137 of 402 Restaurants in Lucerne
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kirribilli, Australia
Level Contributor
465 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Simple food, well done in unbeatable location”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Has rapidly become a lunch time favourite. Casual place (glorified takeaway really) strikes just the right tone, offering a limited menu of sandwiches, salads and grills at reasonable prices (for Switzerland anyway). And everything is good quality - the beef burger on pita is the best (could become quite addicted to it actually). Definitely a keeper.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheConstantEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    57
    11
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we found it earlier”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the Radisson Blu around the corner from LUZ and passed by this location multiple times while sightseeing. The grilled food smelled amazing and it looked like a cool spot on the lake, but we never stopped until the last night of our trip for some reason. It was the most satisfying meal of our trip to Luzern. Nearing the end of a few days in Switzerland, we were kind of tired of the vastly overpriced food. We decided to stop in here and it was amazing. The grilled sweet corn with chili-lime butter, bratwurst, and a salad were all fresh and delicious. My new goal is to replicate that butter. On top of that, the price was right and the location and ambiance (music, decorations, etc.) were a nice change of pace from the normal Luzern restaurant. I only wish we got a seat outside on the lake.

Highly recommended for an amazing meal at a fair price!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Incredible Value in the middle of Lucerne”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A cheerful bistro on the side of the lake, near the KKL cultural centre. Free seating with the expectation that tables be shared if it gets crowded. Service is informal, and unfortunately, a little indifferent and slow. However, the food is more than adequate, and for this part of Lucerne, just an absolute steal. The menu, is short and simple. We had a the currywurst, schweinbratwurst, angus burger over 2 dinners here. Not gourmet dining but tasty and fun, and oh, did I mention great value?

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great casual bistro”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

What a discovery we made when we were in Lucerne last week. The Luz Bistro is on the lake near the train station. I only noticed it because their sign mentioned Currywurst which I had for the first time a few years ago in Hamburg and loved it. It is mostly local, few tourists with a limited choice of very good casual dining food. Very reasonable prices, especially for a meal in Switzerland. There is a terrace on the lake which seems to fill up quickly in warm weather and with good reason. The view is fantastic. The staff is very friendly and there are English menus available, although I think anything you order will be very good.
We had three meals there--all were excellent. A cold beer and and any kind of "wurst" is hard to beat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TampaTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luz Seebistro also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Luz Seebistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing