We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Lucerne
from $32.50
More Info
from $27.40
More Info
from $124.00
More Info
from $134.20
More Info
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveler rating
295
96
24
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
96
24
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paul klee art lovers picasso works picasso fans modern art famous artists small museum love art national bank great artists art dealer his life bank building beautiful museum free admission swiss pass entrance fee
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

This collection was unexpectedly excellent. They have a 35 minute video which is worth watching to learn how the family put together their collection, describing their friendship with many famous artists like Picasso. A gem for art lovers.

Thank Martakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

There are some good collections of art here, all collected by one lady who knew a number of artists and purchased their work for her own home. The short video is very well worth watching as it provides the history behind the collection. A good couple of hours needed to appreciate the works.

Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I recently spend some time in Lucerne for vacation and stayed in the Astoria Hotel. The Rosengart Collection is housed in an old Bank almost directly across the street from the Hotel. As lovers of art, we couldn't pass the opportunity to visit this magnificent collection. Ms. Rosengart has amassed an amazing collection of masterpieces one is lucky to see in person, even if she had never met Picasso. While her private collection of Picasso is probably the finest and largest in the world, having no less than six paintings of herself by him, the rest of her collection is also just as priceless. I highly recommend this museum.

Thank Whitechris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This museum has an excellent collection of early to mid 20th century works, with 2 of the 3 floors dedicated to Picasso and Klee. There are about 200 works, enough to see in detail without feeling overwhelmed, along with an excellent 35 minute video featuring Ms. Rosengart talking about the museum. It was well worth the $36 admission for two people (we paid $32 because of a hotel discount)!

Thank JonSEntwistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So interesting to view the art work of Picasso. To see pictures of the artist with the Rosenthal family. No pictures allowed inside. I asked.

Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nearly without peer in the world, these ex-bank building holds the Picasson collection and supporting materials with grace and dignity. Its nearly empty often, and so you get the paintings, prints, etchings, and sketches to yourself. Some modest Barbizon and Impressionist pieces as well. Perhaps the most under appreciated jewel in this part of the country.

Thank JoelZ195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had previously visited Picasso museums in Paris and Barcelona. We were suprised to view the wealth of paintings and photos at the Rosengart; most of which we have never seen before. This is because many are never lent to other museums. The Rosengart collection is important because Angela Rosengart is the subject of several Picasso portraits. There are many other pieces from the private collection.

There are several rooms that include photos of Picasso taken by David Duncen. These photos are amazing and give a new appreciation of the artist at work and in private settings.

The bottom floor is dedicated to Swiss German artist Paul Klee. There is a vast overview of his work.

If in Lucerne, don't miss a chance to view the entire collection. Highly recommended!

Thank OCNYtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed great weather in our 10 night trip to Switzerland, so we focused our visit on outdoor activities. Not being fanatic art lovers, we have enjoyed the Louvre, the Musee de Orsay, the Prado, and the Picasso museum.

We can now add the Rosengart as an art museum we enjoyed. Watching the video explaining the museum's history put everything in perspective as we viewed Picasso, Paul Klee and others. A must see in Luzern.

2  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The Rosengart is a very good museum for Picasso lovers. Centrally located and covered by the Swiss Travel Pass.

Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Having the chance to enjoy Picasso, Klee, and others this close-up and with so few people was a real treat. The collection is beautifully and thoughtfully displayed, and the video in the board room on the second floor is very interesting. My only regret was the absence of an audio guide which would have enhanced my visit.

Thank LudwellMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews