We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,234)
Filter reviews
1,234 results
Traveler rating
464
531
160
59
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
531
160
59
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chapel bridge the river great location across the bridge train station old town balcony room city view covered bridge yogurt no air conditioning hotel restaurant small balcony boiled eggs top floor included breakfast an easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,234 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2018

We booked the Double Twin River View Balcony room. Great view over the Chapel Bridge. Room was a reasonable size. Bathroom quite small but adequate. Good shower.
Location is great, within easy walking distance of the train station.
Staff at Reception very friendly.
Breakfast was good but most mornings had to find our own cutlery (tables didn’t seem to be reset when previous guests departed) and had to ask for coffee rather than it being offered. Also on a couple of mornings sparrows had found their way inside and were flying around the breakfast area which staff didn’t seem to be concerned about.
Overall though a good stay.

Room tip: Book a room with view over Chapel Bridge.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MinnieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2018

A beautiful hotel, easy access from train station. Neat and comfortable rooms and restaurant. The location is excellent, prime spot. The breakfast is very good with a beautiful view of the bridge. Friendly staff. We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Puppet40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Front Office Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Dear Puppet40
Thank you very much for your great feedback.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are happy that you enjoyed every minute of your stay.
We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you another time.
Best regards
Your Des Alpes Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Located at the foot of the iconic Chapel Bridge and 10 minute walking distance form the train station. Breakfast included is excellent with a wide range of options. Staff were polite and courteous.

This hotel is very centrally located within old Lucerne, allowing you to walk to all the historic sites, and within steps of location for boarding lake cruises.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnipegJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Front Office Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Dear Winnipeg Jean
Thank very much for your friendly feedback. It means a lot to us that you took your time to write us a review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you another time again.
We wish you all the best.
Kind regards
Your Des Alpes Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Des Alps for 3 nights- I specifically booked a room with a chapel bridge view & balcony. The hotel is in a great location right across from the famous bridge and our room had two small balconies which were nice to enjoy the un-seasonably warm Swiss weather in October. The rooms however are very minimal and stark, I would have expected a more charming room since I paid for one of the most expensive options but all that gets you is the balcony. Granted, if you’re on vacation you don’t spend much time in the room but the hotel is in need of upgrades. Overall pleasant stay but would consider a different hotel for my next visit to Lucerne.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

I have been staying at the Alps going on 10 years and it’s a wonderful place to stay. The rooms have been upgraded since my last visit. There is a restaurant on the ground floor(-1) and this is also where breakfast is served if you have it in your rate. There are rooms overlooking the lake which is nice. The train station is a easy 10 minute walk and the airport is apx 1 hour train ride. Luzern is a great place to stay. There are several mountains to see. As for eating there are many choices as well as the hotel. Enjoy!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Jazzcat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews