We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beatiful view wright off everything”
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beatiful view wright off everything”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Three adults stayed in tripple room with river view. It is so beautiful view Kepel bridge right front on our noses through very small oprned balcony.
night view is fantastic. We could see mountain view over bridge and also lake view and city view as well. Our room had one window and one balcony.
breakfast was okay. Not great. However we enjoyed good taste, fresh bread every morning with some fruit, yogurts and hot boiled eggs. I hadn't try any hams and cheese though.
one thing I regret was the wood floor sound. They have very old carpet on floor for our room, it make noise every step.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseEunja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    409
    131
    49
    16
See reviews for
178
466
73
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very close to train station and the rooms facing the river have a great view of the Chapel Bridge. We had a covered patio and seating area, perfect place to start and end the day. The front desk staff was very friendly ad suggested several good places to eat. At checkout we left our credit card and one of the staff caught us on the bridge before we were leaving for the train station. What a relief she was able to track us down!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinRob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Perfect city center location with fabulous views over the river and train station to the Alps. Arriving by car is challenging (pedestrian precinct, one-way alley) and parking is inconvenient.
Staff friendly in a reserved, Swiss manner. Comfortable room but no A/C: probably noisy with windows open, but we were on the fifth floor, well above the noise. In our case, expensive even for Switzerland, which generally tends to be expensive. Good breakfast included.

Room Tip: River and bridge views are essential; the higher the room, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Bernard02

Thank you very much for the time you took to write your review. We are happy that you enoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Calif
Level Contributor
139 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here only one night but the hotel was easy to find (just across the river from the train station) with nice views of the Kapelbruck (wooden bridge). Rooms are nicely furnished, cosy, simple. No air conditioning, but slept with the window open, despite a little noise from the diners below enjoying a meal on the lakeside. Ate in the restaurant for dinner, dessert and breakfast. Adequate choices. All in all, a good place to stay at for a short visit to Luzern.

Room Tip: Get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbeLincoln115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear AbeLincoln

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes Lucerne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arrival a bit confusing. Hotel front door located on walking area but you can ignore walking sign and drive up to drop off your bags. You will be directed to parking garage. Location of hotel is excellent. View from room over Chapel bridge is worth paying extra. What a pleasure to sleep with balcony door open.
Dinner overlooking the river was a treat. Delicious food and charming service. Thanks Hotel Des Alpes for contributing to a memorable stay in Luzern.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepongoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Keepongoing

Thank you very much for the time you took to write your review.

We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We can't imagine a better hotel in a better location, on the river. Everything is a short walk to food, shopping and attractions. This is a cozy, relatively intimate hotel. The room is small, but very comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the city, the river, the lake and the Alps! Very romantic!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Pcorman

Thank you very much for your review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our romantic place.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is near the train station and river boats. Some rooms face the river and chapel bridge and have marvelous views. We enjoyed the included breakfasts. We also had lunch on their outside balcony and enjoyed the food very much. The staff was very helpful.

No a/c, but fan is provided and is adequate. There is some street noise.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worryfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Worryfree

Thank yo very much for your comments. We are very happy that you also enjoyed the fantastic view of the Balcony.

The Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Property: Hotel des Alpes
Address: Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel
Des Alpes Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing