We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location but rather expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location but rather expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Perfect city center location with fabulous views over the river and train station to the Alps. Arriving by car is challenging (pedestrian precinct, one-way alley) and parking is inconvenient.
Staff friendly in a reserved, Swiss manner. Comfortable room but no A/C: probably noisy with windows open, but we were on the fifth floor, well above the noise. In our case, expensive even for Switzerland, which generally tends to be expensive. Good breakfast included.

Room Tip: River and bridge views are essential; the higher the room, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Bernard02

Thank you very much for the time you took to write your review. We are happy that you enoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    370
    122
    46
    16
See reviews for
161
421
61
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, Calif
Level Contributor
126 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here only one night but the hotel was easy to find (just across the river from the train station) with nice views of the Kapelbruck (wooden bridge). Rooms are nicely furnished, cosy, simple. No air conditioning, but slept with the window open, despite a little noise from the diners below enjoying a meal on the lakeside. Ate in the restaurant for dinner, dessert and breakfast. Adequate choices. All in all, a good place to stay at for a short visit to Luzern.

Room Tip: Get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbeLincoln115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear AbeLincoln

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes Lucerne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arrival a bit confusing. Hotel front door located on walking area but you can ignore walking sign and drive up to drop off your bags. You will be directed to parking garage. Location of hotel is excellent. View from room over Chapel bridge is worth paying extra. What a pleasure to sleep with balcony door open.
Dinner overlooking the river was a treat. Delicious food and charming service. Thanks Hotel Des Alpes for contributing to a memorable stay in Luzern.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepongoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Keepongoing

Thank you very much for the time you took to write your review.

We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We can't imagine a better hotel in a better location, on the river. Everything is a short walk to food, shopping and attractions. This is a cozy, relatively intimate hotel. The room is small, but very comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the city, the river, the lake and the Alps! Very romantic!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Pcorman

Thank you very much for your review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our romantic place.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is near the train station and river boats. Some rooms face the river and chapel bridge and have marvelous views. We enjoyed the included breakfasts. We also had lunch on their outside balcony and enjoyed the food very much. The staff was very helpful.

No a/c, but fan is provided and is adequate. There is some street noise.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worryfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Worryfree

Thank yo very much for your comments. We are very happy that you also enjoyed the fantastic view of the Balcony.

The Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent one night in Lucerne at the Hotel des Alpes. They do not have parking so you have to park at the train station and haul your belongings to the hotel. Not too bad really, but sure wish there was a better loading / unloading plan.

We were on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the river and the Bridge. What a view! We sat there and shared some wine before looking for our dinner. You can see so many things from here and it just seems like you are still engaged - even from the top floor!

The restaurant had a decent breakfast including soft cooked eggs with no hard cooked option. On Saturdays there is a market along the river that ends at 1pm so get up early enough to experience that!

There are lots of restaurants and bars along the river - on both sides. It can be confusing about how to be seated so don't be shy to ask or you might miss your best table!

Lucerne is a beautiful city with wonderful history. It deserves a great room at a great hotel.

Granted, there is no air conditioning. But they do provide a fan and by strategically placing the fan in front of the open balcony door, you get a great conditioning. The only problem at night is that people are wild so they can be loud. We were not bothered.

Oh. If you need a hair dryer, ask how to use it before heading to your room because they have a 3 point system for making sure you don't electrocute yourself. Oh brother!!! I never did figure it out!!!

Room Tip: River Balcony. Higher the better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked the lowest category double room, "city view", since we knew we would not be spending much time in our room. The room was small but so are most European rooms. There was a small desk fan which was a lifesaver due to hot days during our stay and we used it to get air into the room from our rooftop patio. The breakfast buffet was standard .. cereals, breads, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, juices, coffee. You can eat breakfast outside along the river except on market days when stalls occupy that area. We ate dinner on the restaurant balcony one night which looks over the river. This is a must-do but you should reserve a table as soon as you check in since there are only six balcony tables. This was a wonderful meal and the table was sheltered from the rainstorm partway through. Another night we ate at the cafeteria at Manora department store ... good food at very reasonable prices. We love Lucerne and this was our third stay.

Room Tip: Rooms #459 and #460, double - city view category, each have a patio about 7x10 feet with a basic tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janiewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#13 of 67 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Property: Hotel des Alpes
Address: Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel
Des Alpes Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing