We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel des Alpes
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$221
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$427
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$195
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boutique Hotel Weisses Kreuz(Lucerne)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$364
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$266
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$276
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,093)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveler rating
402
473
148
53
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
473
148
53
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschapel bridgethe rivergreat locationtrain stationold townacross the bridgebalcony roomcity viewcovered bridgeyogurtsmall balconyboiled eggshotel restauranttop floorincluded breakfastno air conditioningfive minute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
560 - 565 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We can't imagine a better hotel in a better location, on the river. Everything is a short walk to food, shopping and attractions. This is a cozy, relatively intimate hotel. The room is small, but very comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the city, the river, the lake and the Alps! Very romantic!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pcorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Pcorman

Thank you very much for your review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our romantic place.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is near the train station and river boats. Some rooms face the river and chapel bridge and have marvelous views. We enjoyed the included breakfasts. We also had lunch on their outside balcony and enjoyed the food very much. The staff was very helpful.

No a/c, but fan is provided and is adequate. There is some street noise.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worryfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Worryfree

Thank yo very much for your comments. We are very happy that you also enjoyed the fantastic view of the Balcony.

The Team of the Hotel Des Alpes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent one night in Lucerne at the Hotel des Alpes. They do not have parking so you have to park at the train station and haul your belongings to the hotel. Not too bad really, but sure wish there was a better loading / unloading plan.

We were on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the river and the Bridge. What a view! We sat there and shared some wine before looking for our dinner. You can see so many things from here and it just seems like you are still engaged - even from the top floor!

The restaurant had a decent breakfast including soft cooked eggs with no hard cooked option. On Saturdays there is a market along the river that ends at 1pm so get up early enough to experience that!

There are lots of restaurants and bars along the river - on both sides. It can be confusing about how to be seated so don't be shy to ask or you might miss your best table!

Lucerne is a beautiful city with wonderful history. It deserves a great room at a great hotel.

Granted, there is no air conditioning. But they do provide a fan and by strategically placing the fan in front of the open balcony door, you get a great conditioning. The only problem at night is that people are wild so they can be loud. We were not bothered.

Oh. If you need a hair dryer, ask how to use it before heading to your room because they have a 3 point system for making sure you don't electrocute yourself. Oh brother!!! I never did figure it out!!!

Room Tip: River Balcony. Higher the better!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked the lowest category double room, "city view", since we knew we would not be spending much time in our room. The room was small but so are most European rooms. There was a small desk fan which was a lifesaver due to hot days during our stay and we used it to get air into the room from our rooftop patio. The breakfast buffet was standard .. cereals, breads, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, juices, coffee. You can eat breakfast outside along the river except on market days when stalls occupy that area. We ate dinner on the restaurant balcony one night which looks over the river. This is a must-do but you should reserve a table as soon as you check in since there are only six balcony tables. This was a wonderful meal and the table was sheltered from the rainstorm partway through. Another night we ate at the cafeteria at Manora department store ... good food at very reasonable prices. We love Lucerne and this was our third stay.

Room Tip: Rooms #459 and #460, double - city view category, each have a patio about 7x10 feet with a basic table and chairs. No other rooms on this side have that. The rooms in the buildings right across the narrow street never showed any lights so we felt quite private sitting outside and could leave the door open all night for air..
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent three nights here in July. We got a front(river) facing room which is a must to request. We did not have a balcony, although some rooms did and I would ask for that if I was to go back there. The view from the room was spectacular. There was no air conditioning(the did have a small fan which we used at night) so we slept with the windows open. This could be a problem if the weather is really warm. The location is perfect with easy access to everything including the train station. The room was average and the bathroom had been updated. The hallways were a bit dark and drab and could use some updating. The breakfast buffet in the basement was typical. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful!
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear PJKC

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews