We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel des Alpes
Nearby Hotels
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CASCADA Hotel(Lucerne)
$224
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$267
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$385
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$438
$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$613
$412
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$327
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$337
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$266
$259
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveler rating
410
484
149
53
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
484
149
53
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschapel bridgethe rivergreat locationtrain stationold townacross the bridgebalcony roomcity viewcovered bridgeyogurtsmall balconyboiled eggshotel restauranttop floorincluded breakfastno air conditioningfive minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
697 - 702 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The hotel is very near to station.
You can see the river and Kappel bridge in the room.
Breakfast is good.
You can read the by the review, hotel facility is not so good.
But I am satisfied at the facility.
Flat TV and shower is good.
There is no air con,
but though July 27, the weather is not hot.
If you are sightseer, the hotel is good to you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sutasore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We booked the hotel based upon some good reviews here and the fact that the price was reasonable given the season and the location. The hotel is literally across the bridge from the train station @ a 5 minute walk, which was excellent. We went into the hotel from the restaurant side, as this is the side that faces the river..and found our way up the steps to reception. I must agree with many of the recent reviews...the staff was anything but friendly and gave the impression we were bothering them by attempting to check in. When we got to our room, it was as expected dated and no a/c..but I must say the size was pretty good- both the bedroom and bathroom. Only drawback is the corner shower..which was 1/2 the size of a phone booth..if you are a little over average in size, you may have a tough time with this.
We had a great time walking everywhere in Lucern from our home base and the major sites were no more than a 10-15 minute walk. The breakfast was OK and the view of the chapel bridge from the terrace was great. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant...but made the mistake of going for coffee and desert. Again, the staff was rude and we seemed to be a bother...the desert was good.
Despite the staff, I would consider staying here again...because of the location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoxFans07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel des Alpes for a week while attending concerts at the Lucerne Festival. It is located steps away from the Chapel Bridge, in Altstadt (old town), convenient to shopping, eateries, the train station and the nearby KKL (culture and convention center). We had a room with a balcony facing the river, with a tremendous view of the River Reuss, the bridges, the water tower, and Mt. Pilatus.
The hotel is a good value, particularly given its convenience. I read some mixed reviews on Tripadvisor before selecting this hotel, and offer these observations: We had 3 main reception people during our week-long stay, all of whom were professional and courteous and willing (after an interaction or two) to smile and laugh with us.
Because the hotel is right in the center of the acttion in old town, and next door to the sometimes noisy pub crowd at Mr. Pickwicks (where soccer/fussball fans congregate), it is only to be expected that there may be noise from the waterfront on a nice summer night. A traveler desiring guaranteed quiet might want to choose a hotel OFF the riverfront and away from this part of old town-- there is a trade-off to being so close to the action (the pub mentioned above, the Rathaus Brauerei located not far away, etc.)
Although there is no air conditioning, we were in Luzern when it was relatively warm (mid-80's F for a high of the day) and managed fine. Opening the door and letting the cooler evening air in, helps a great deal. Again, a guest who doesn't want to open a door or window and desires absolute quiet at night, might do well to look for a different location. Personally, the lack of air conditioning in temperate Luzern was not an issue for me. If I could have had one additional amenity, it would be a full closet, as in our particular room, any clothes not fitting on hangers had to be stored on rather small shelves.
The included breakfast is quite good as such things go, and can be enjoyed on the hotel's riverside deck with its wonderful view in friendly weather. The people working in the hotel restaurant and the breakfast room were extremely nice and as I speak very limited German, it was helpful that they largely spoke English, were happy to do so (and didn't laugh too loudly at my mangled grammer when I attempted German for sport!) I would definitely return if in Luzern again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cascadehkr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Granted, I have never been frog marched at bayonet point to the gates of a concentration camp, knowing that death and depravity lie on the other side of the wire. I have only seen that in the movies. But if that is the experience you are looking for, by all means check into this hotel while Helga the Terrible is working the desk.

Purportedly, a lodging house has been operating on this prime tourist spot for generations. Some earlier owners doubled down by chopping the rooms in half, not even bothering to adjust the telltale moulding that betrays the former glory. Good thing there is a nice lake view, because after you enter the "room", there is not enough space to turn around and look the other way.

When you return to the lobby to inquire politely if you have been given a key to a maid closet by accident, you are given the Teutonic version of Oliver Twist by Helga, who snarlingly informs you that no other rooms are available, and, if there were, you don't qualify anyway because you might have sat on the bed.. In 40 years of European travel, this was the absolute bottom of the barrel in terms of the "hospitality" industry. You can do way, way better for the money. Unless you like being ripped off and abused.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cosifantutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the central location, right at the bridge. However, there is no air conditioning or air flow in the room and it can get extremely noisy with the window open. The room was clean and adequate size. Furnishings were outdated and the shower was a bit difficult to get into, due to small size and awkward positioning. Breakfast was adequate. Staff was NOT helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathySShermanOaks_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews