We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place with a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #37 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“great place with a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

The Grand Hotel Europe, located in. .. Luzern, heart of Switzerland, in a very tourist place and in just a few "minutes walking distance from The Old City, Which Is Ideal For Anyone Who Would Like to really enjoy holidays Their, There I stayed for 2 days, just passing by in Around the Country-by-Turn With some friends, and No Doubt This hotel was That One Of The Best In Which I Have stayed, The staff was really friendly, Always Willing to help in "any questions or Inquires & the rooms were clean Given to us & comfortable "as well as" Facing the lake, just amazing, with a View That Was breathtaking. defenetly a place I would go back if I get The Chance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sobe002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    153
    72
    38
    26
See reviews for
94
152
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
5610 Wohlen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

The service was very good.
The room was comfortable and very clean.
The sea and mountains- view out of the roomwindow was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu dhabi,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Very Good hotel. The location is very nice. Just near to the lake lucerne and also near the busy shopping street. The hotel interior is very nice and new. breakfast is ok, just above the standard. they says once it was a fivestar hotel ..but now downgraded ..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chetan_salunkhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
690 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 548 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

I visited Lucerne as part of a tour organised by Treyn Holidays. We travelled to Lucerne by train from Interlaken The trip took just over 2 hours along the shores of lakes and through picturesque valleys. The train was smooth and comfortable but did not have a restaurant or buffet car.
I stayed at the Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne for 4 nights as part of a tour organised by Treyn Holidays. As a single traveller I was allocated a single room on the second floor of the Hotel. The hotel is 4 star. The hotel’s entrance is on a side street away from the main frontage on Haldenstrasse. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk away from the Station though buses number 6 and number 8 pass the door. The entrance is unfortunately up about 12 steps with manual doors which is a most unfortunate entrance for those with mobility difficulties and those carrying cases. The reception area is sideways onto the main entrance and there is a bar off to the left. On the side of the main entrance is an internet room with access for 0.2 CHFs per minute. Beyond the bar is a residents lounge area and there are 2 large dining rooms. There is lift access to all floors with a separate lift for those accommodated on the 5th Floor. First impressions are of a hotel with style and elegance (antique clocks, marble columns, spacious seating and tapestries) with polished floors and chandeliers.

Accommodation corridors are wide and well carpeted in blue on my floor with that colour scheme continued into my room. I noted a small stain on the carpet.

My room measured about 3m x 8m with a bathroom built in featuring a bath in which I was able to lie fully. Linen is good. The room was very clean (on the second night I noted the wooden floors being cleaned for the second time that day) and well appointed. The room was well serviced for the second day. The absence of a hospitality tray was curiously due to ‘health and safety and fire regulations’? The bed had a wall mounted headboard with integral lighting and 2 bedside shelves. The bed linen was spotless and I slept well the first night. There was a desk set into an alcove with a flat screen TV. Overhead spotlights made this a very good area to work from with a stool provided. Generally, the lighting in the room was excellent. The window has an external pull down shutter giving excellent black out and a window you can open. The room was not air conditioned, though the bathroom area (see pictures) had an extractor fan. The TV had 36 channels, only one of which was English.

The room was completed by an open wardrobe and storage closet which was adequate for a short stay and there was an electronic safe. There is also 2 chairs and a cocktail table.

Our receptionist was a little functional rather than welcoming and we dined as a party. The meal on both nights (Night one was mozzarella salad, chicken and apple tart and on the second vegetable soup, sole and a chocolate mousse that was arranged as a work of art, plus coffee on both nights) was fine, though there was some difficulty with one of our party on the first night who couldn’t eat what was offered and an alternative took some negotiation. Waiters were efficient and helpful. Drinks were offered but were generally considered to be expensive. I think this hotel does substantial business with Tour Groups and this appears to make them a little blasé to individual needs. One of our group complained to the Manager on the first night when reordering a drambuie was told they had run out of stock. The Manager did assure them of no repeat on day 2.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

Hotel has good rooms, very roomy with a rather small bathroom. Wonderful views over the Lake - train line in the back of the hotel, so make sure you request a lake view room. Hotel is about 15 minutes walking distance from old town. Seems to be very popular with tour groups, met mostly americans and japanese in the bar. Service in the bar is rather slow, they seem to be understaffed there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

My name is Ngan Tran from Vietnam. This is my pleasure to exhibit my thanks to all staffs of Grand Hotel Europe, Luzern in making an amazing and memorable journey to Switzerland.
Part of my trip to Europe, I and my family had spent 2 nights at Grand Hotel Europe, Luzern, Switzerland. During this time, I did receive a delighted service as well as deep care from all staffs of this hotel.
They were not hesitate not only in giving a hand to support our family but also in providing extra service such as an intensive guidance about the city as well as special drinks and service for my little brother. Obviously, smile always exists on all the staffs' faces. This enthusiastic attitude from all the staffs of Grand Hotel Europe did drive me in writing good recommendation for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngan_Tran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

As the Assistant Team Manager of the GB Rowing Team, we have been staying at the Grand Hotel Europe annually since 2001 for the International Rowing World Cup Regatta held on the Rotsee, a short bus ride away. Given the size of our team, approx 70 people, and their different needs - Rowers, Coaches & Support Staff, the Grand Hotel Europe staff, especially the General Manager, Mr Agapios Panayiotou and his Reception and Catering Staff, have always excelled in making our stay a pleasant experience, ensuring that the team can perform at its best in competiton. The catering staff have always shown great understanding in last minute requests for late lunches, early breakfasts and for these reasons we return to the Hotel year after year. The rooms vary in size but we have never received any complaints from team members as to the standard of them, on the very rare occasions when issues have arisen the Hotel Staff have rectified any problems as quickly as possible. The food is of a very high standard and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to any 'group tours' visiting Luzern.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batesysailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Lucerne
Hotel Royal Lucerne
#44 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#27 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#20 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europe, opened in 1875, combines a grand past with a contemporary outlook and is distinguished by its subtle elegance, attentive service and warm hospitality. If offers 169 tastefully designed rooms, a restaurant with lake view, a hotel bar with patio and garden and two lavish dining halls. Shopping facilities, lake promenade, casino, gym & wellness and a golf course are at short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne
Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing