We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is ideal”
Review of Grand Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance to the city center. Located just along Lake Lucerne- nice place for leisurely walking while feeding swans. But No free wifi- CHF5 for 24 hours (not so bad but still not free). Provides only shampoo / bath gel, nothing else. Breakfast was ok. Not 4 star at all for me.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Dokie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 527 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had two nights at this hotel thouugh a tour group.I liked the location although it was a little out of the way of town .The hotel had an oldfashioned look and needed updating,but it was ok and clean.It was the breakfast that was very poor and was the worst that we had at any hotel.The dry cereal was 4th rate and cold noodles and ketchup are not my idea of breakfast food .I have never had cake sliced so thin .

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank msmimi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had stayed 2 nights in Grand Hotel Europe on 11th & 12th October. The name Grand Hotel Europe should live up to its name but nothing of that sort. It did looked Grand on the outside and even in the lobby but not so in the room. Rooms not that grand and again no kettle so you dont get tea bags or coffee pkts. Pillows are so flat when you put your head on it, it makes you feel like you were sleeping on a piece of paper. You have to pay 18CHF for wifi per day which is costly. Very limited choice in their breakfast spread but bread was good. Their orange and grapefruit juices were rather dilute. And its quite a distance to the central. If you walk it takes you about 20 mins and if you were to take the tram it cost 2.40CHF one way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaong1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel was just OK, again not 4 star US standards but OK. It is pretty warn down but clean. The male servers at breakfast were not welcoming but one girl was so sweet. The food was fine. Our room looked out in a courtyard but also directly in to the rooms on the other side so the drapes had to be closed. all the time which made it gloomy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flosser201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel recently.
The location is stunning, our room was on the third floor and had a wonderful view of the mountains and lake from our private balcony, it is a short walk to the old town and shops, it was great to be able to open all three windows for a lake breeze. Breakfast was excellent, we were invited to place an individual order but I noticed that this was not the case for groups. Reception staff were very helpful. We did use he restaurant, bar prices were fine but food prices seemed quite high. I was disappointed to have been charged 280.00 swiss france & than seen prices on booking sites at a much lower price.

Room Tip: be sure to use online booking sites & ask for and end room for a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is old and tired and the least favorite one on our trip. A fairly steep set of steps leads you to an attractive lobby with plenty of seating and a cozy bar to the left. There is also a lovey covered porch overlooking the lake for enjoying the beautiful views. A twenty minute walk along the lake brings you to the center of Lucerne. If you don't want to walk to town your only choice for food is the hotel because there is absolutely nothing in the area- no restaurants, convenience stores, pizza shops etc.. Because of the heavy rain our group of six ate in the dining room. The European burger for CHF 25 (about $27.50) consisted of a patty of ground mystery meat that had an odd taste. It was served with limp bacon, a fried egg, onion, lettuce, tomatoes and fries. In fairness it was not listed as a hamburger, but the description, except for the fried egg, led us to believe we'd have burger meat not the odd concoction we were served. Others is the group had expensive club sandwiches and Caesar salads. The included breakfast was the sparsest of any we encountered on our trip, but the buffet did have the usual undercooked bacon and soft cooked scrambled eggs. Our room was in need of a serious make over, although it was clean and the beds were comfortable. Windows did open (no a.c.) but we were near the trolley line so it was very noisy. The room had the smallest flat screen we'd ever seen in a hotel and they do not offer free WiFi. It is available for CHF 5 for 24 hours but we did not use it so I can't comment on how well it did or did not work. When visiting Lucerne I'd suggest looking at a different hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationDays365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in mid-September. There was minimal furniture but the room was open and airy! Our room had a balcony with a table and chairs, where we had a wonderful gourmet picnic with items we bought from Globus, and balcony overlooked the lake and the Alps in the distance. Luckily, the French doors opened onto the balconies so at night we were very comfortable because it is unclear if they have A/C. The hotel is a scenic short walk along the lake to downtown and there was a bus stop right in front of the hotel. I would have given a higher rating but the buffet breakfast at least in the breakfast room we were told to go into (part of a tour) was horrible. The scrambled eggs were not cooked and there was not much of a selection.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerlily62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#18 of 67 in Lucerne
599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#15 of 67 in Lucerne
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Lucerne
Hotel Royal Lucerne
#42 of 67 in Lucerne
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Central Luzern
Hotel Central Luzern
#28 of 67 in Lucerne
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europe

Address: Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#20 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $196 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europe, opened in 1875, combines a grand past with a contemporary outlook and is distinguished by its subtle elegance, attentive service and warm hospitality. If offers 169 tastefully designed rooms, a restaurant with lake view, a hotel bar with patio and garden and two lavish dining halls. Shopping facilities, lake promenade, casino, gym & wellness and a golf course are at short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne
Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing