We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BREAKFAST” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BREAKFAST”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had two nights at this hotel thouugh a tour group.I liked the location although it was a little out of the way of town .The hotel had an oldfashioned look and needed updating,but it was ok and clean.It was the breakfast that was very poor and was the worst that we had at any hotel.The dry cereal was 4th rate and cold noodles and ketchup are not my idea of breakfast food .I have never had cake sliced so thin .

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank msmimi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    152
    72
    36
    26
See reviews for
93
150
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had stayed 2 nights in Grand Hotel Europe on 11th & 12th October. The name Grand Hotel Europe should live up to its name but nothing of that sort. It did looked Grand on the outside and even in the lobby but not so in the room. Rooms not that grand and again no kettle so you dont get tea bags or coffee pkts. Pillows are so flat when you put your head on it, it makes you feel like you were sleeping on a piece of paper. You have to pay 18CHF for wifi per day which is costly. Very limited choice in their breakfast spread but bread was good. Their orange and grapefruit juices were rather dilute. And its quite a distance to the central. If you walk it takes you about 20 mins and if you were to take the tram it cost 2.40CHF one way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaong1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
298 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel was just OK, again not 4 star US standards but OK. It is pretty warn down but clean. The male servers at breakfast were not welcoming but one girl was so sweet. The food was fine. Our room looked out in a courtyard but also directly in to the rooms on the other side so the drapes had to be closed. all the time which made it gloomy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flosser201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel recently.
The location is stunning, our room was on the third floor and had a wonderful view of the mountains and lake from our private balcony, it is a short walk to the old town and shops, it was great to be able to open all three windows for a lake breeze. Breakfast was excellent, we were invited to place an individual order but I noticed that this was not the case for groups. Reception staff were very helpful. We did use he restaurant, bar prices were fine but food prices seemed quite high. I was disappointed to have been charged 280.00 swiss france & than seen prices on booking sites at a much lower price.

Room Tip: be sure to use online booking sites & ask for and end room for a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is old and tired and the least favorite one on our trip. A fairly steep set of steps leads you to an attractive lobby with plenty of seating and a cozy bar to the left. There is also a lovey covered porch overlooking the lake for enjoying the beautiful views. A twenty minute walk along the lake brings you to the center of Lucerne. If you don't want to walk to town your only choice for food is the hotel because there is absolutely nothing in the area- no restaurants, convenience stores, pizza shops etc.. Because of the heavy rain our group of six ate in the dining room. The European burger for CHF 25 (about $27.50) consisted of a patty of ground mystery meat that had an odd taste. It was served with limp bacon, a fried egg, onion, lettuce, tomatoes and fries. In fairness it was not listed as a hamburger, but the description, except for the fried egg, led us to believe we'd have burger meat not the odd concoction we were served. Others is the group had expensive club sandwiches and Caesar salads. The included breakfast was the sparsest of any we encountered on our trip, but the buffet did have the usual undercooked bacon and soft cooked scrambled eggs. Our room was in need of a serious make over, although it was clean and the beds were comfortable. Windows did open (no a.c.) but we were near the trolley line so it was very noisy. The room had the smallest flat screen we'd ever seen in a hotel and they do not offer free WiFi. It is available for CHF 5 for 24 hours but we did not use it so I can't comment on how well it did or did not work. When visiting Lucerne I'd suggest looking at a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationDays365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in mid-September. There was minimal furniture but the room was open and airy! Our room had a balcony with a table and chairs, where we had a wonderful gourmet picnic with items we bought from Globus, and balcony overlooked the lake and the Alps in the distance. Luckily, the French doors opened onto the balconies so at night we were very comfortable because it is unclear if they have A/C. The hotel is a scenic short walk along the lake to downtown and there was a bus stop right in front of the hotel. I would have given a higher rating but the buffet breakfast at least in the breakfast room we were told to go into (part of a tour) was horrible. The scrambled eggs were not cooked and there was not much of a selection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlily62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel was nicely furnished but minimally. The blonde at the front desk was NOT suited for customer service. Both interactions with her were surly. When we checked in & asked about wifi, we were told they wanted cash unless we were going to charge something else to the room ( upon checkin, how would we know?!) when the 'free' Internet access was down, she refused to consider a free wifi day. My husband asked Stephanie what could be done & she offered to contact the manager about giving free wifi. kudos to whoever hired Stephanie!
The breakfast buffet was ok, with no fresh fruit one day.
A nice walk into the city center.
They need to consider free wifi....honestly- Switzerland is pricey enough to travelers

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meno1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#8 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#12 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.0 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#31 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#20 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europe, opened in 1875, combines a grand past with a contemporary outlook and is distinguished by its subtle elegance, attentive service and warm hospitality. If offers 169 tastefully designed rooms, a restaurant with lake view, a hotel bar with patio and garden and two lavish dining halls. Shopping facilities, lake promenade, casino, gym & wellness and a golf course are at short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne
Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing