We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Hotel Alpha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alpha
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Good location.. 20 mins walking to the main train station. Good eating places nearby. Quiet location and breakfast was good. The shared bathroom was very clean. The rooms were clean as well and spacious. Only thing was that the wall were a bit thin, you could hear people walking about in the corridors. Some of the guests had problems identifying their rooms, and there were a number of occasions that other people would try to open our room door (suggested to always lock your room door even when you are inside!). The hotel could perhaps identify the rooms in a better way so that the guests would not get confused as the doors and hallways look alike (eg. put up pictures on the doors for easier identification). Would recommend the hotel for its cheap price and good facilities/location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CPP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 356 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Alpha for 2 nights. The location is very much accessible by bus and walk from the main train or bus station. The nearest bus stop of Pilatusstrasse is walking distance from the hotel and once you are there you cannot miss Hotel Alpha. The location is very quiet as its mostly residential area. The room where we stayed was quiet big for surprise. The bathroom was big enough too. The breakfast was great and the staff very helping. I would recommend it for any kind of trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priyanshika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had an average stay at this hotel. We only stayed for one night. The shared bathroom was very clean and well-kept, which we really appreciated. The room was very modest and could have been a little cleaner. Not all of the windows had curtains on them, which felt weird when we were changing clothes or trying to sleep. Also, we were across from a park that apparently is a hangout for teenagers that play loud music, although they weren't playing the music too late. Overall, I would recommend this hotel since it is one of the cheapest options in Lucerne and was alright for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Hotel Alpha in September 2013. Its about 10-15 mins walk from the main station and Lake Lucerne.

I hadnt expected much of this hotel since it is one of the cheaper options in Lucerne. But I was pleasantly surprised. We had booked a room with en-suite bathroom and it was clean, efficient and tidy. Not too much interior, just basic. Bathroom was nice and spacious by european standards. It was september so it wasnt very nice without AC or Fan it might get a bit hot during summer. I think the staff may provide a table fan if requested.

There is free wi-fi for 1 hr a day per person which worked very well in our room.

Breakfast is usual european stuff, Jams, Cheeses, Coffee, Hot Milk, Juices, some meats and cereals.

Staff at the reception were very helpful. We even booked a Pilatus round trip from them at a 5% discount. :)

All in all we were satisfied and would stay again here if travelling single or couple...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank neerav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Very easy to locate. When you get out of the Lucerne Bahnhof station just walk on pilatusstrasse for about .4 miles and you will see a big board of hotel Alpha. Can't miss it if you keep walking on Pilatusstrasse.
The complimentary breakfast was awesome too!
They have Internet free only for an hour which I found very weird , although each extra hour only cost 1 franc an hour which I found worth the speed it offered.
The hotel has a hospital like feeling, because everything is white. I must say it is clean and well maintained though.
They have only twin beds and no queen or king beds which I found weird too. My wife and I were supposed to sleep at a distance of 3 inches from each other, what?!?!? ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankoor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Alpha early September. The hotel is not far from the Train Station and is clean. There is no personality from the hotel or the staff. The room aka "sweat lodge" was sweltering hot, opening the windows didn't do a thing to help because we overlooked a courtyard with no air flow. We were able to get a fan from the front desk, it gave little to no relief from the heat. Lucky we were only staying one night. The patio we had and the courtyard was nice though, and had a nice view of Mt. Pilatus. Won’t be going back, there are other hotels in the same price range I have stayed at in Luzern that are better.

Room Tip: If going in the winter get a courtyard view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbum1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nice Hotel, you should just come here to sleep after a full days travel. Try to stay away from the Side rooms like 302/301 series ,especially on weekends, lot of noise outside hotel, a weekend party spot. Rest all is ok....superb connectivity via bus and walk.....at this price this one is the bes I must say....

Room Tip: Center of Hotel Area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilnpatel-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 66 in Lucerne
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 66 in Lucerne
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#39 of 66 in Lucerne
1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#41 of 66 in Lucerne
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 24, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $118 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpha 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alpha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing