We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Alpha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alpha
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Very easy to locate. When you get out of the Lucerne Bahnhof station just walk on pilatusstrasse for about .4 miles and you will see a big board of hotel Alpha. Can't miss it if you keep walking on Pilatusstrasse.
The complimentary breakfast was awesome too!
They have Internet free only for an hour which I found very weird , although each extra hour only cost 1 franc an hour which I found worth the speed it offered.
The hotel has a hospital like feeling, because everything is white. I must say it is clean and well maintained though.
They have only twin beds and no queen or king beds which I found weird too. My wife and I were supposed to sleep at a distance of 3 inches from each other, what?!?!? ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankoor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    173
    65
    7
    4
See reviews for
57
142
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Alpha early September. The hotel is not far from the Train Station and is clean. There is no personality from the hotel or the staff. The room aka "sweat lodge" was sweltering hot, opening the windows didn't do a thing to help because we overlooked a courtyard with no air flow. We were able to get a fan from the front desk, it gave little to no relief from the heat. Lucky we were only staying one night. The patio we had and the courtyard was nice though, and had a nice view of Mt. Pilatus. Won’t be going back, there are other hotels in the same price range I have stayed at in Luzern that are better.

Room Tip: If going in the winter get a courtyard view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbum1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nice Hotel, you should just come here to sleep after a full days travel. Try to stay away from the Side rooms like 302/301 series ,especially on weekends, lot of noise outside hotel, a weekend party spot. Rest all is ok....superb connectivity via bus and walk.....at this price this one is the bes I must say....

Room Tip: Center of Hotel Area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilnpatel-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Fife
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a good hotel, the room was a decent size and the posters for the Mt Pilatus railway made me realise I had missed something in the guide books!

I had a view over the school which mean I got a bit of noise at times, but it wasn't that bad really.
Location is decent just off the main roads in a quiet area.

The male toilet/shower wasn't quite balanced right with 2 showers and 1 toilet, the other way round being preferable, and as the hotel has balconies and a sitting room for Smokers the smell did seem to hang in places (I'm from Scotland where you're unceremoniously dumped out on the street if you want to smoke), all in all though, really good basic accomodation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Despite the low room rates, the hotel is in a good location, around 10 minutes walk from the train station and the same to the old town. The area is very quiet, with very little traffic, and I had a view of Mt Pilatus from my room on the 4th floor. The room itself was quite big, and it was very handy having a sink in the room. Breakfast was also very filling, mainly just a standard continental style buffet breakfast which set me up until lunchtime. The shared bathrooms were also spotless and I didn't have to wait at all during my stay.

Overall, if you're looking for an affordable place to stay in Lucerne and don't mind sharing a bathroom, I'd highly recommend the Alpha.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalhamWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our experience was very similar to those of the other reviewers here. However, we were a family of four staying in one clean, but very simple, room that felt cramped. It is hard to find hotels in Lucerne that have affordable quad rooms. Hotel Alpha's rooms are all the same size. So the rooms feel roomy for 2 guests and a bit cramped for 4 guests.

The location is ok. It is true that it is a 10 minute walk to the old town, but there is really nothing to see or do in the immediate area around the hotel. It is in a purely residential neighborhood. It is also not the central kind of location that allows you to walk back and forth to the hotel throughout the day. The neighborhood is very quiet on weekends and school holidays.

The hotel is very clean. The shared bathrooms were always clean and available when we needed them. The showers had great water pressure!

Breakfast was very good and plentiful.

Beds were great. We all slept beautifully.

The staff are very accommodating and helpful.

The price was competitive for Lucerne and the best deal we could find for our family of four.

Also, we were able to rent one of the four (or five?) parking spots at the hotel which were reasonably priced and a big bonus for us.

Overall, it was a good choice for our family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfamily2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel Alpha is located within a 10-minute walk from the train station in a quiet location. It actually deserves three and a half stars -- it isn't average and neither jaw- dropping -- it's somewhere in between.

As a TripAdvisor contributor, I was pretty pleased to see the 2013 plaque that adorned the door. The reception was neat and tidy (-- although I didn't like the steps that led to it; made carrying the heavy suitcases tad bit difficult.)

We booked two rooms for our family of four. Clean rooms --- no frills to boast! Beds, pillows and comforters were nice and comfy! We were hoping that they will have rooms with connecting doors for the kids, but, unfortunately they didn't. However, the rooms were located next to each other. Apart from the beds, there was a sink and a wooden closet for your belongings.

Much to our dismay, the bathrooms are shared (just like in camp grounds). Along with two private showers (and rarely a queue), there was a toilet. The facility was neat and modern.

The breakfast was ok -- cereals, boiled eggs, meat, toast, tea, coffee and milk. I was disappointed that there weren't even fresh croissants.Although, I must say that the breakfast room was beautiful with big windows and tables, and a modern decor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReenaDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#32 of 68 in Lucerne
1,531 reviews
1.6 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
547 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnenberg
Hotel Sonnenberg
#4 of 6 in Kriens
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#25 of 68 in Lucerne
416 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#44 of 68 in Lucerne
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha

Property: Hotel Alpha
Address: Zaehringerstrasse 24, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpha 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alpha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing