We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rebstock Hotel, Lucerne”
Review of Hotel Rebstock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rebstock
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rebstock Hotel, Lucerne”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was a lovely hotel with very friendly staff. We were offered help with our cases to take to our room but were able to do so ourselves. The lift stops were for two floors but we did not struggle. The cleaning staff helped us find our room after mishearing our room number. Breakfast was good and plentiful.

If you want to save money maybe book half board as restaurants proved to be expensive.

On leaving, we realised too late, that they had charged us in our own currency instead of in Swiss Francs. They should have offered us the choice. So it cost us more

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labdogslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    71
    30
    7
    0
See reviews for
38
76
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've stayed there 5 times from 2010 through 2013. The service has always been ecxellent, friendly and helpful, even with difficult requests. The rooms have a very nice and individual interior designs. WLAN is free with good reception in the entire building (as far as I could tell). Only downside is that these old walls, ceelings and floors aren't really sound-damping, so you really hear the person upstaris walking to the bathroom at night.

The location is great, just across the street from the lake promenade and where some of the sightseeing ships take off and 5 minutes of walking distance from the historical center.

The breakfast experience has slightly decreased (choice and quality) while prices have nearly doubled over that period of time. If it wasn't for that combination of facts, I'd give this hotel an excellent rating... but I can't as I know that they used to be even better.

No decent parking available close to the hotel, so I suggest you use the valet service.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is further away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Arrived at the hotel early and it was nice to have reception welcome me like a friend. The walk from the train station is easy especially if you have luggage. My room was a good size with an ensuite bathroom. It was nicely decorated and clean. My only complaint would be there was no luggage rack to hold my suitcase, I had to put it on the desk. Breakfast was good. Bircher muesli, which was my favorite. Breads, cold meats, cheeses, fruit and so on.
The location of the hotel is great, very easy to get to all the sights by walking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobalt753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Merely 10 to 15 min walks from Luzern Train Station, very near to Lion Statue and Luzern shopping area. Was welcome by a very friendly and young female reception. She even offer to carry my heavy bags to my assigned room, and also offer to carry bags during check out! Heard that all rooms are difference, unfortunately my room was an older design with wooden floor, was woken by guests (they walk alot and during 3 to 5am???) on higher floor during mid-night. Fortunately we were dead tired and tried not to be affected by the noise. Breakfast was up to standard but not much choice. Free broadband WiFi and very fast indeed, can access from room and restaurant during breakfast. Overall, Luzern is a very expensive and this hotel was one of the cheapest I can find in Luzern, so I think it is value for money. Would stay here again if I visit Luzern again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with concrete floor if you are a light sleeper. Wooden floor will wake you up in n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YongK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peters
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband, our 13 year old son and I stayed at the Rebstock for 3 nights in early June. We absolutely loved the location and couldn't get over how sincere and pleasant the staff was; they truly made us feel at home. This was our first time to Switzerland and we wanted to make sure we picked the perfect hotel for our stay. We couldn't have asked for a better place. Our room was very roomy for the 3 of us, was tastefully decorated, and extremely cozy. Any time we had questions about places to visit in the area, the staff were always very helpful with recommendations. We ate at the hotel restaurant 2 of the 3 nights since our son couldn't get enough of the meatloaf and mashed potatoes. The first night we ate indoors but the 2nd night we opted to eat outside since the weather was so nice. The hotel also has a nice seating area in the front of the hotel where we would have a beverage after sight seeing. We highly recommend the Rebstock to anyone travelling to Lucerne looking for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel after pulling my hair out trying to find an affordable option in Lucerne that could house our family of 5. We booked two rooms here, they were on the front side and faced the lake, beds were comfortable and the sounds of the church bells were nice, not sure how you would go with them if you stayed for a longer stay. Overall we enjoyed it but if you want some quiet time I'd probably not recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Johann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Typical Swiss style hotel with view of the Lake Lucerne and great restaurant previously reviewed on TA. Superb service from the reception staff lady, picking up our bags like an Iron Woman. But soft and kind, offering two varieties of doggie treats when Marco Polo (our dog) refused the first. Both rooms had different features like a lake view, small balcony, spacious work table, big closet, etc. However, the smell of cigarette smoke hits you in the face in the lobby and in one of the rooms. The elevator doesn't open on the room floors, a half floor above or below- the floor buttons are a challenge. The bing bonging from the church is a bit loud, but was not enough to keep us awake. While some upkeep would help, good friends on a rainy night in Lucerne had a fun evening together.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMPPJLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hofgarten
Hotel Hofgarten
#27 of 68 in Lucerne
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#22 of 68 in Lucerne
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rebstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rebstock

Property: Hotel Rebstock
Address: St.-Leodegar-Strasse 3, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rebstock 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and historic Hotel Rebstock is situated at the foot of the Hofkirche cathedral in the heart of Lucerne, making it an ideal base for exploring the city on foot. The Rebstock kitchen designs creative seasonal menus and there are multiple restaurants to try, with excellent and varied culinary offerings. Twenty-nine individually decorated rooms and a 4-bedroom family suite await guests, affording a place for snuggling and sleeping. A hotel to feel good in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rebstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Rebstock Hotel
Zum Rebstock Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing