We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rebstock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rebstock
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Leysin, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Hotel Zum Rebstock is an extremely charming hotel that is snuggled directly in the heart of Luzern next to the Luzern Cathedral.

The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the train station (across the bridge), which was not much of a hassle at all as the pavements were flat making it easy to roll our bags along the way while taking in the beautiful sights that Luzern has to offer. The hotel is also close to all the major attractions of Luzern and as such we were able to walk to all the attractions easily from the hotel.

Not only does this hotel enjoy a prime location next to the cathedral, it is also extremely beautiful to look at. The architecture and the facade of the hotel was extremely inviting.

The rooms are also extremely welcoming and the hotel has its own unique charm that adds to the value of staying at such a hotel. As we were a family of 8 people, we had taken 2 rooms. One room was in the main hotel building itself, and with the aid of an extra bed was able to accommodate 3 people. It was a cosy room that came along with an amazing view of the cathedral. The second "room" was located in the adjacent building and was in fact an apartment. We absolutely LOVED this apartment. It had 3 separate bedrooms that accommodated 5 of us comfortably. There was a kitchen(stocked with plenty utensils) and a inviting living room where we were able to relax as a family together. The best part of this room, was the view. There was a balcony that offered us a view of downtown Luzern. We were able to see the cathedral, the ancient bridge, the tower, and the Jesuit Church and of course not forgetting the Lake. The only drawback perhaps was the lift that was able to only hold up to 2 people at once. This is quite common in old buildings around Europe, as the lifts were added in later after the buildings construction (often along the stairwell). This could be seen to add to the charm of the apartment and as such, we were not put off by it.

The hotel also offered us complementary breakfast in the morning, which was serviced by extremely hospitable staff. The "old man" as we remember him, was extremely kind and even remembered the name we of my grandmother.

All in all I highly recommend everyone to stay at The Hotel Zum Rebstock if one is searching for a quaint charming place in the heart of Luzern, which is affordable and not overpriced like many other hotels in downtown Luzern.

Room Tip: Get the apartment if your are staying with a large group
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimplyRitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    67
    29
    7
    0
See reviews for
37
72
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel is in a great location (can walk from the train station). It is very quaint, and has a lot of character. The rooms were clean, quiet, we had a beautiful view. The breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. For the money I think it was a good place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Average hotel ( for Switzerland) centrally situated near the Lake, shopping not too far; rooms ok
have seen better days, but ok for a short stay
Eat outside on the street terrace, quiet, unassuming - service 'average' but friendly, food the same - nothing special - my Caesar's Salad had more croutons and leaves than chicken, probably 50gr altogether, so it was well overpriced - salad leaves (NOT romaine) and NO Parmesan - I expected better for the price and being in Switzerland....
The children faired better, but they were not overwhelmed -
Would go elsewhere next visit

Room Tip: Higher floor has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in July 2012. The room was of good size with a small balcony and a view over the water to Lucerne and the mountains. The bed was comfy, but the lack of air-conditioning meant sleeping with the windows open. It was very noisy down below and the church bells made it difficult to sleep with the window open.

Location was excellent, not too far to drag the bags from the station (unless it happens to be Lucerne Day!!). It is close to all the sites and some lovely walks around the water,

Staff were fine and breakfast was pretty good, so would possibly choose again depending on the sleep!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The view was beautiful from our apartment. That is the only nice thing I can say. My son was eaten alive by bed bugs and the decor is dirty, 1984 hostel. I have no problem spending this kind of money on a room, just not this dump.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Redstock for 4 nights and we thought it was a nice place to stay. We had two different rooms and they were both comfortable. Our room was a good size, had a nice bathroom and lots of windows. The bathroom door was glass so you could see in which was a little weird but it didn't bother my wife and I. The other room we rented had a normal bathroom door so I think each room is different. I think all the quirks of the hotel made it much more memorable. The day we arrived it was around 90 degrees so the rooms were pretty warm (but these temperatures were pretty rare). They gave us fans which was nice. The next day it was back down in the upper 60s.

The breakfast was really nice and all the staff was super helpful. If I'm ever back in Lucerne I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during June in a single room. The room was located on the 5th floor and is very spacious with a double bed. The bathroom was well stocked and room was serviced daily. There is a mini fridge and writing desk in the room. Although the room does not have air-con, it did not bother me as it was raining during my 3 days in Lucerne hence making the weather alot cooler. The church is next to the hotel, but the church bell did not bother me given i'm a deep sleeper. The breakfast was awesome with plenty of bread, eggs, bacon, cereals, coffee/tea/juices, etc. The hotel is ideally located from the city area. Only 7mins walk from the SBB and 5 mins walk to the old town. The staff members were extremely helpful and make guests feel welcomed. The reception staff, Nathalie was very friendly and took her time in explaining to me about the Swiss lifestyle and culture. The restaurant manager, Alex was also very helpful and attentive towards the guest's needs. Alex even provided me with a nice coffee when i returned to the hotel one night, drenched from the rainy day. Will definately stay there again when I return to Lucerne.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hofgarten
Hotel Hofgarten
#28 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#25 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rebstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rebstock

Property: Hotel Rebstock
Address: St.-Leodegar-Strasse 3, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rebstock 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and historic Hotel Rebstock is situated at the foot of the Hofkirche cathedral in the heart of Lucerne, making it an ideal base for exploring the city on foot. The Rebstock kitchen designs creative seasonal menus and there are multiple restaurants to try, with excellent and varied culinary offerings. Twenty-nine individually decorated rooms and a 4-bedroom family suite await guests, affording a place for snuggling and sleeping. A hotel to feel good in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rebstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Rebstock Hotel
Zum Rebstock Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing