We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a Lovely City - Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Villa Maria
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous 10-year anniversary celebration through London, Paris and 5 cities in Switzerland. This was our last stop and it was the best. The B&B was situated about 30 meters from the lake. It's a 1 minute walk to the nearest bus stop - very convenient. Maybe 8 minutes to the train station.

Pros:
Excellent staff - probably an understatement. Room was amazing - good size, good view, comfortable bed, good size bathroom. Breakfast was good and the staff is very attentive. Highly recommend staying here. Super helpful staff. Ask for their recommendation on whatever is on your itinerary. We ended up going to Mt Rigi instead of Mt Pilatus and were pleasantly surprised with one of the best days of our vacation.

Cons:
A bit noisy given the thin walls. I still strongly recommend this establishment. The walls aren't an issue unless there's a late check-in.

The price is about right for Switzerland. The owners make sure you get your money's worth with service, food and friendliness. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Run your plans by the staff. They have great suggestions even if it's a small tweak to your age...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 112 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I travelled with our 22 month old son and this was the perfect place. They had a travel bed for our son ready when we checked in and we were able to keep some milk for him in the fridge. The pension is very easily accessed by the bus from the train station for when you are arriving with your bags. Otherwise, it is a wonderful walk along the lake to get to the Old Town area. We had a shower in our room (which also worked well for our son since the head detaches) and the used the shared WC on the hall. No problems there either. A wonderful stay and Felix was very helpful with everything we needed!

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 and could see the lake and the garden. We had a shower in our room and used the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were extremely happy with Villa Maria and would recommend it to anyone. We had a rear room on the 2nd floor with an en-suite bathroom. There was a view to the lake from the window. Breakfast was lovely, set in a comfortable breakfast room or outside in the garden. Villa Maria is situated within walking distance to Lucerne centre and to the boat jetty for trips round the lake. The path is next to the lake and is suitable for wheels! We had 3 nights here and would definitely stay again. All the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and its facilities. Excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We loved staying at the Villa Maria. We were a large family with five small children and it was perfect for us. Felix went out of his way to make us all comfortable and welcomed having the children. The courtyard in back was wonderful for breakfast and letting the kids run and play. Food was wonderful. It is in a perfect location - close to the lake, transportation, and restaurants - just short walk on the beautiful promenade.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcallan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very charming Pension. Our room was absolutely immaculately clean. Our shower had lots of hot water and the WC down the hall was close and always clean. Our room faced the street but when we closed the windows and curtains and turned on the fan, there was no noise problem. The breakfast foods were fresh and delightful. Our hot cocoa was top notch. We decided to stay an extra night in Lucerne and Mrs. Winkler found us accomodations right down the street at the same price- even though the next hotel had higher rates! Everybody who worked at Villa Maria seemed very cheerful and happy which is certainly a rarity. The walk to town along the lake is priceless in views and for people watching. My 17 year old daughter told me she hopes she can come back and stay at this hotel on her honeymoon. Awwww...

Room Tip: Obviously the rooms that do not face the street are preferable due to less noise. But the street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayandollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our first experience at a "shared facility" hotel. We only stayed here for a day and could overlook the slight inconvenience caused by this. The rooms come attached with washbasins, though.

The rooms were modern, neat and filled with natural light. The hotel is wonderfully located a little away from the noise of the main city center. The ten minute walk to the city center through the lakefront is an experience in itself! The road is lined on both sides with tall trees and occasional gardens blossoming with flowers. Breakfast was decent and made better by a garden seating.

The major DRAWBACK of the place was the incessant noise coming in from the adjoining main road into the rooms overlooking it.

Room Tip: Take garden facing room to avoid noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PoorvaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Villa Maria is situated just by Lake Luzern - it was absolutely lovely to stroll along the lakeside on the way to the train station or town centre. Although it is not as central as other hotels, the bus system in Luzern is efficient and buses 6 & 8 take you straight to Luzern's train station, going along the lakeside (though you can't really enjoy the view if you take the bus), hence it wasn't any trouble for us (a family of 5) at all. The caretaker was very helpful and I'd even say the perfect host. We had to catch an early train to Milan on the day we left and as we had to leave before breakfast time started, he kindly prepared breakfast for us to eat on the go - it was simple, but very well prepared and we really appreciated the personal touch and thought. Everything was very clean and we enjoyed our stay in Luzern very much - I would recommend Villa Maria to anyone looking for a cosy place to stay.

All the toilets seem to be outside the room, even if you book a room with a private shower - perhaps this is how it's like in Switzerland but this didn't trouble us much even though we were surprised intially.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mifen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
1.3 mi away
Hotel Stern Luzern
Hotel Stern Luzern
#35 of 67 in Lucerne
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
#28 of 67 in Lucerne
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#47 of 67 in Lucerne
165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 67 in Lucerne
176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#40 of 67 in Lucerne
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Villa Maria

Address: Haldenstrasse 36, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $152 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Villa Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Villa Maria Hotel Lucerne
Maria Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing