We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pension Villa Maria
Nearby Hotels
CASCADA Hotel(Lucerne)
$223
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$182
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$266
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$253
$223
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$238
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$472
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$491
$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$341
$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$611
$411
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$359
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
35
44
25
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
44
25
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkno elevatormueslibus stoplocation is excellentfirst floorlake lucernesinkaccommodationlakesidecheesestation
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 114 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very charming Pension. Our room was absolutely immaculately clean. Our shower had lots of hot water and the WC down the hall was close and always clean. Our room faced the street but when we closed the windows and curtains and turned on the fan, there was no noise problem. The breakfast foods were fresh and delightful. Our hot cocoa was top notch. We decided to stay an extra night in Lucerne and Mrs. Winkler found us accomodations right down the street at the same price- even though the next hotel had higher rates! Everybody who worked at Villa Maria seemed very cheerful and happy which is certainly a rarity. The walk to town along the lake is priceless in views and for people watching. My 17 year old daughter told me she hopes she can come back and stay at this hotel on her honeymoon. Awwww...

Room Tip: Obviously the rooms that do not face the street are preferable due to less noise. But the street noise did not diminish our stay at all.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayandollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our first experience at a "shared facility" hotel. We only stayed here for a day and could overlook the slight inconvenience caused by this. The rooms come attached with washbasins, though.

The rooms were modern, neat and filled with natural light. The hotel is wonderfully located a little away from the noise of the main city center. The ten minute walk to the city center through the lakefront is an experience in itself! The road is lined on both sides with tall trees and occasional gardens blossoming with flowers. Breakfast was decent and made better by a garden seating.

The major DRAWBACK of the place was the incessant noise coming in from the adjoining main road into the rooms overlooking it.

Room Tip: Take garden facing room to avoid noise!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PoorvaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Villa Maria is situated just by Lake Luzern - it was absolutely lovely to stroll along the lakeside on the way to the train station or town centre. Although it is not as central as other hotels, the bus system in Luzern is efficient and buses 6 & 8 take you straight to Luzern's train station, going along the lakeside (though you can't really enjoy the view if you take the bus), hence it wasn't any trouble for us (a family of 5) at all. The caretaker was very helpful and I'd even say the perfect host. We had to catch an early train to Milan on the day we left and as we had to leave before breakfast time started, he kindly prepared breakfast for us to eat on the go - it was simple, but very well prepared and we really appreciated the personal touch and thought. Everything was very clean and we enjoyed our stay in Luzern very much - I would recommend Villa Maria to anyone looking for a cosy place to stay.

All the toilets seem to be outside the room, even if you book a room with a private shower - perhaps this is how it's like in Switzerland but this didn't trouble us much even though we were surprised intially.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mifen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I traveled for 3 weeks throughout Germany Switzerland and France staying at a different hotel every night. This was the only one that I didn't like. Very noisy from the street cars trucks and trains all night and construction equipment around the house. It felt more like it was a youth hostel as there was no common area to sit in or walk through.The rooms were all up a couple of flights of steps. The breakfast was fair at best with a basic selection to choose from.

Room Tip: rooms in the back are quieter
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivianWestOrangeNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pension Villa Maria for 3 nights. Our room had a sink and small shower room, but the WC was in the hallway. The room was small, but neat and clean. Our room faced the street and railway and was fairly noisy. Breakfast was in a pleasant room with an opening to the patio and included a nice selection of meats, cheeses, breads, jams and fruit. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is about a 15 minute walk from the center of town, but only 5 minutes from a dock for a boat to the cog railway up to Mount Pilatus (Verkehrshaus) and the transportation museum. There is a lovely path along the Lake into town, so we did not mind the location. For those driving into Lucerne from Zurich, follow the signs to the Casino (or Verkehrshaus) after exiting the highway. The Pension is about one kilometer past the Casino on the right. Free parking is limited to 3 spots right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have less noise and a partial view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews