We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostel or Hotel?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tourist Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tourist Hotel
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Hostel or Hotel?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

Nothing much to like, it was as basic as basic could be.

There was no phone, no clock, no t.v in room. Don't come back to the room unless you need to sleep. I got much better facilities at other hotels for less money. It was almost like a hospital, a room with beds and nothing more. There was water on the bathroom floor and I was a bit squeemish to even use the facilities.

I honestly thought it was a Hotel but from what I saw I think it is more of a Hostel. In my opinion the description of the Hotel on the website does not convey that.

The breakfast was extremely basic. However, the view from the room was breathtaking. ..lake and snow-topped mountains.

Directions from Train Station to Hotel:

Exit the station, stay to the left, walk along the water's edge, cross the bridge on your right side. Again, keep to the left and again walk along the water's edge until you find the Hotel. It is about a 10-12 minute walk.

Lucerne is very, very beautiful.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank OntarioTravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    164
    90
    25
    19
See reviews for
131
137
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel just two nights ago. It was an extremely pleasant stay. We booked Suite #3, which we were told had a full private bathroom. Not only did it have a private bathroom but it was actually located in a different building altogether. The room had a modern, new kitchen with table. A separate sleeping room complete with flat screen TV and full bathroom with all modern fixtures. The room is located in a quaint building off a small street behind the main hotel. Breakfast was included and offered in the main hotel. We were able to take our breakfast back to the small patio we had off our room. I can't comment on the main hotel as we only walked through the building upon check-in, check-out and to grab breakfast. However, we felt Suite #3 is a great room for a great price.
The hotel in general is well located close to the city center. All attractions are an easy walking distance including the main train station.

  • Liked — Suite 3 felt like you're renting an apartment in town, not staying in a hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MGTravels_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2008

This is disgusting. My bed had fleas. I have more than 40 stitches all over my body, 6 on the face. Fleas is synonim of unclean. I dont recommned this hotel at all. Be aware of this: FELAS and the showers were not clean

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Adri28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara, ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2008

Pros:
- great walking distance from the old town
- great price considering the expensiveness of lucerne
- awesome views for the rooms facing the river
Cons:
- more like a hostel than a hotel
- stinky bedsheets, i couldnt sleep all night!
- poorly equipped showers
- breakfast that wasnt well kept, someone in our party got sick from the milk that was left out

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — stinky bed linen
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jchen811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

I stayed in one of the dorms and it was pleasant enough, had some obnoxious and noisy people but it wasn't the hotel's fault. The guy running the place was very knowledgeable about Lucerne. Plus, the buffet breakfast was nice.

Only drawback is that there weren't enough toilets and showers on each floor; even in the low season, there were lineups.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — Not enough bathrooms
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 063011h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2007

This was a very nice little hotel with very spacious rooms & clean facilities. We had a triple room which was huge with 4 beds in it. The bathroom was shared but that was fine as there didn't seem to be many people staying over that weekend. The staff were very very helpful and the hotel is very centrally located. Good value for money at 29 france per person. Other reviews commented on the paper thin walls but I didn't notice much noise from outside at all.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k.j.mcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

Loud. Rooms not soundproof at all. Good location, but most accomodations in Lucern are good, seeing that it is a very walkable city. Rooms were clean and big. Sharing a bathroom was not a big deal. Clean bathrooms. Breakfast pretty good. Staff freindly.

  • Liked — Big rooms / location
  • Disliked — Loud
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bbbside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stern Luzern
Hotel Stern Luzern
#33 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#12 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel

Property: Tourist Hotel
Address: St.-Karli-Quai 12, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing