We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tourist Hotel
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here during a business tour for three days and was really impressed with the services of the staff and décor of this hotel. Warm welcome at the reception was very pleasing and check in went very quick. Within few minutes I was in that lovely room, which was very gracefully decorated and clean. It had all the luxurious things. Bathroom was great and food was mind blowing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    165
    91
    25
    19
See reviews for
135
137
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked a double room through booking.com, and was told by my friends (she's been there before) that hotel was very small. When we got there, the room was so good that totally beyond my expection! The room was not "that“ small and the most important thing was: it had a cute bacolny and a very good view of Luzern lake!
The only thing to complain was:The curtain is too thin that could not block the sun, so we woke up early every morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veryberrychen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We found this hotel on web and booked considering its prices. Honestly speaking we were mentally prepared to face certain problems as it was a doss-house, but to our amazement, it was far better than what we expected. Perfect location close to river and town and well connected with rest of the city. Staff was wonderful, very pleasant and cooperative. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with separate kitchen having all the necessary things including coffee machine and fridge and also to add to our comfort well-appointed clean bathroom. In the night sleeping with open window with just sound of river and cool fresh air gushing in was heavenly. Breakfast was included in the charges but trust me we wouldn’t have mind paying extra for that, it was scrumptious, full of variety and deserved every penny. Overall, a recommendable place, with superior value for money and at a nice location!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights with my husband. It's 15 minutes walk from the train station. The outside looks a little non descript but once you walk in through the automatic door, it's ok. We had booked our room online specifically asking for balcony. Rooms with shared bathrooms also available. The hotel building also houses a Business school so some of the premises are out of bounds for hotel guests, but it is ok. Both the personnel at the reception (one for the day and other for night) were very helpful. Free wifi and breakfast included in the room rate. There was no arrangement for tea or coffee in the rooms. But guests are free to use the dining room for hot water or hot drinks at any time till 10pm. Room was spacious, clean and warm with decent washroom. Very nice view from balcony. The reception also books day tours for the guests. We booked cable car tickets to Mount Pilatus which also included bus tickets. Cogwheel train doesn't operate in winters though. Overall it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. This way you will have good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Notimeforvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our family (1 kid) stayed at the hotel in mid Nov 2012. We booked online. The walk from the train station was ok. Takes around 15 mins with a 6 years old kid. The location is a bit out of the old city but you can easily reached it in 5 mins. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and quiet. We got upgraded to an apartment with 3 bedrooms which was really nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lokoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in September with two children (6 & 11). This hotel sits somewhere between a hotel and a hostel and shares the building with a business school which is unusual but didn't cause us any issues. Our rooms appeared to have been recently renovated and were spacious, clean and bright. They overlooked the river and Mt Pilatus and had shutters on the windows to block out the noise at night. Breakfast was good but not as much variety as some places. For Switzerland we found this hotel to be good value (and included breakfast helps too). It is a 15-20 minute walk from the station, but all on the flat and we managed with two children and quite a bit of luggage! It is a very short walk to the old town and all the restaurants and history it has to offer and we were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the riverside - the views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

In a city (and a country) of expensive hotels, the Hotel Touring in Luzern was a comparative bargain. The good-sized double room was clean, simple, comfortable, and modern. There was free wifi, and a very nice breakfast included. The hotel is in walking distance of just about everything in town, but be prepared for some stairs if you are rolling your bag from the train station, both on the route to the hotel and at the entrance to the hotel. If you get in early, as we did, they have a locked room where you can drop your luggage off. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stern Luzern
Hotel Stern Luzern
#34 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel

Property: Tourist Hotel
Address: St.-Karli-Quai 12, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing