We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel close to town centre ”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #41 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a two night stay and can recommend this hotel!!rooms are spotlessly clean!!

Reception staff were all very helpful and polite!!strange set up as when you have your breakfast you look down through a window into a shopping centre!! Found this a bit unusual but quirky!!

Can recommend the boiled eggs for breakfast

All in all not a bad hotel and close for everything

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Jazzy1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Grüezi

thank you for your nice Review. We are glad you had a good trip and taking good Souvenirs back home. Hopefully we can welcome you on another Occasion.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ambassador
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 202 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights.
The reception of us on arrival was very good and I must say the staff bothon the reception desk and working in the breakfast lounge were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel has a security system for keys to room and the hotel. In a way, it is good to ensure safety of the guest. One suggestion is that they should issue 2 sets of keys as I did encounter some inconvenience when my travelling mate was on different outing plan.
The hotel is near to the roadside and the traffic can pose huge noise disturbance if you leave the window open. The window has to be closed for quietness but then there will be less air ventilation.
The housekeeping is also another issue. The cleaning can run till 6pm in the evening. We were back from sight seeings and decided to have a rest in our rooms around 3pm. The room was not cleaned and the cleaner came around 5pm which I think was not right. The cleaning should be finished by late morning or early afternoon.
The hotel provides free flow of beverages in the breakfast lounge till midnight which I think is very good. We even brought in dinner to have it in the breakfast lounge which we enjoyed with cup of free coffee or tea.
The room is a little bit small compared to the one that I stayed in Zurich a few days ago. Instead of a fan in the room, maybe the management should consider installing air conditioners.
Anyway, there is good and bad staying in this hotel.
Cheers

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the roadside. There is a huge car park for coach buses and can be very n...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cottage53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Grüezi

Thank you for your Review. We are sorry for the housekeeping. We shall look into that Problem. At this Moment are a littel short of staff in housekeeping department but this will be fixed soon.

Hope to see you again

Best regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and The Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Arrived at the hotel by car. There was no place to park or even stand while checking into the hotel. I had to drop people off & circle around hoping to find them again to find out where to park the car. The parking is in the mall down the block, so if you stay here - that might help you out & save you some trouble. The room was big & comfortable. There was a weird sign over the sink saying to be careful with the shower - not to wet the wooden floor or they'd charge you to fix it. However, the shower had no curtain or door - so you'd think they could solve that problem pretty easily & not leave warning messages to people who just spent a tiny fortune on a night there. The breakfast was good. The hotel was clean & comfortable. Lucerne is an EXTREMELY expensive place (as is all of Switzerland apparently) so I don't know if you can find a cheap option there. But, this hotel was not cheap by any means. It does have a great location - within walking distance of everything!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Grüezi

thank you for your Review. Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry for our high Prices, due to the expesive cost of living here in Switzerland the Prices for everything is higher than other countries in Europe. We are glad you had a good stay with us and wish you a good summer.

With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights. It is about 10mins walk from the railway station and in a good location for the lake cruises and shopping/eating out in Lucerne. The hotel is very clean and quiet with free coffee/tea available all day. The breakfast was a very good continental buffet. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, booking tickets for various day trips and offering advice and suggestions as to where to go. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nicnak666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Grüezi
thank you very much for your review and superb feedback. We are pleased you had a good holiday in Lucerne and our Hotel Ambassador. I will pass on your comments for our lovely staff, they work very hard and give the best for our clients. Well hopefully we can accommodate you on another occasion.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed for four nights using Lucerne as a base for day trips. The hotel is well located for the railway station and good supermarkets and shops are right next door.
Very informative and helpful staff, excellent breakfasts and overall good value for money in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeremyDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Grüezi

Thank you very much for your Review and nice comments. We are so happy you had a good time here in our City. We wish you can visit us again.
Have a good summer

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had booked Hotel de La Paix hotel but were upgraded to the next door sister hotel, Ambassador which we loved. The hotel is located steps away from the heart of all the action in Lucerne, however our room was very quiet. The only sounds we heard (which we enjoyed) were the sounds of singing birds and church bells. After a day of walking we enjoyed relaxing by the open window which overlooked the courtyard. The room was very clean, spacious and bright and the bed and the bedding were very comfortable. We appreciated the convenience of an in room safe and bar fridge. The breakfast room was modern and the food was very good. When we arrived, we were greeted by the owner who graciously offered to park our car in the adjacent parking lot. After a long day of driving, we graciously accepted his kind gesture. The location of this hotel is in a safe location and is excellent for seeing all the sights and restaurants . Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the courtyard is bright and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Grüezi

thank you for your good and nice comment. We appreciate your feedback. It was a pleasure to park your car. Lovely rent a car. The Car Parking just next to our Hotel is very convenient (even it cost 25.-- per 24 hours). We hope you had a nice and safe return. Hopefully we can welcome you on another occasion.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights on our recent trip through Switzerland, the location was great and the ladies at the reception always had a welcoming and genuine smile about them. The Breakfast was good with very generous hours and they allowed us to use the coffee machine through the entire day. We were there just before the Easter weekend, and my child had the privilege of being loaded with Easter candy by the staff.
The location is excellent, everything is within walking distance, and if you need to take the bus, the stop was right at the entrance.
The room was very clean, but a tad tiny for the 3 of us (2 adults and a five year old). One star is missing here because, our reservation included an extra bed which was never provided (we had extra bed ordered in all the hotels during our Europe trip and all hotels had it setup when we checked-in) and even though we reminded them, there was no follow up. To be fair, we also did not follow up on it later as the room would have been packed with beds without any space to move at all if the extra bed was added. Other factors more than made up for this.
Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Richa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Grüezi

thank you for your review and comments. Thank you for mentioning about the reservation procedure. We will look into the process. We sell only triple room for 3 Persons so should be the travel agent. However there must be a lack of communication within our systems and reservation. We love to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and who knows, maybe see you on another occasion. With best regards

Ferdinand Zehnder
and The Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#23 of 67 in Lucerne
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 67 in Lucerne
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#29 of 67 in Lucerne
796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#33 of 67 in Lucerne
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Zuerichstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $142 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador is an attractive and welcoming city hotel in the heart of Lucerne, and at the heart of the action. Sights such as the world famous Lion Monument or the fascinating Bourbaki Panorama are right on the doorstep. The vibrant historical city centre is only a few steps away. Also close-by is the lakeshore promenade along Lake Lucerne, a delightful place to stroll along and take in the atmosphere.Rest and relax in our friendly rooms with four-star comfort. And enjoy the market-fresh cuisine at Restaurant Lapin.A multi-storey car park offering special discounted rates is available right next to the Hotel Ambassador. We look forward to seeing you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing