We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A bizarre experience. I arrived at midnight on a business trip and finding the entrance and then someone to check me in at reception was the first challenge. Once at my room finding enough light to unpack and get settled was even tougher.

However, once used to it the hotel grows on you.

Breakfast was fantastic. The room is very trendy. It's not often you have a scene from an art house movie on the ceiling and the DVD in your room to watch! Yet to view it, but may try tomorrow.

This is certainly not your average chain hotel.

Book it for an experience.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Tinner, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear The Hotel Guest

We tahnk you very much for taking the time an d write about us. Most of our rooms are with dark colours but for your next stay please request a brighter room. These rooms are with white or yellow colours. A great experience are as well our penthouse junior suites. We would be pleased to show you our possibilities with your next stay.

Best regards

Rolf Tinner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 416 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The servive was very professional. The staff try to please at every turn. Especially the manager.

The rooms are deco and elegantly decorated. The bathroom was very adequate. Full of all the necessary toiletries..

We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Varied and first class. The resturants are more than we expected.

The location is near the train station. Very good to get around. The reception gave us very good assistance to get around the city.

Overall we had a very exciting experience and plan to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Tinner, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear The Hotel Guest

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am very pleased that you took the time to write us. I will talk to my staff, thank all of them for doing a great job.

All the best to you and we really hope to see you soon back in Lucerne.
Sincerely

Rolf Tinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Pros. Excellent staff, manager even helped out serving in restaurant on a busy night. Rarely see that
Extremely helpful. Really went out of their way
Breakfast was perfect for us. Not real heavy. Really fresh food
Bar staff remembered us and made a point of saying hello
Dinner at the Bam Bou was excellent. We had the 5 course menu and loved every dish
Bed was very comfortable
Shower, once we figured it out, has good pressure and lots of hot water
Cons. DARK DARK DARK room at night
Chair in the room was not very comfy
Never did get the hang of the lighting

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Scweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Tinner, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear The Hotel Guest
Thank you for your honest report and we really appreciate that you spent your time to rate us in Tripadvisor. We hope to see you back soon in Lucerne and we will asign you a less darker room.

Best regards
Sincerely

Rolf Tinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as a family on a weekend trip to Lucerne . This was our first trip there and having walked around we would have liked to be in a hotel overlooking the lake . This hotel did not offer the lake experience but it was very slick and efficient hotel and centrally located . The decorations in the rooms catered more for couples weekends than family outings .
The service was excellent and the food as well . There is little to complain about and would recommend for couples or business trips . However for families we would chose the lake view next time.
Lucerne as an experience in itself was very amazing . This is a very beautiful city and activities around the lakes and the nearby mountains made for a very satisfying weekend . We recommend this destination for families anyday .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W4_M8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Tinner, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear The Hotel Guest

I thank you very much for your review and that you took your valuable time to write so positive about us.
We wish you and your family all the best and hope to see you back soon at THe Hotel.

Best regards

Rolf Tinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Of all the hotels we had booked for our trip to Europe this was the one we were looking forward to the most. It looked such a funky place with innovative design and the "wow" factor. It turned out that the only Wow was the nightmare cost to our credit card for what we got. A bedroom full of designer furniture which was so uncomfortable it wasn't worth sitting on and a bedisde light that was so dim that I couldn't see to read my book. The lift took so long to arrive that we ended up using the stairs which were grey concrete and dark and gloomy. If I am paying well over £200 a night without breakfast for a hotel room I expect I whole lot more than this. This was the most expensive hotel of our trip and by far the most disappointing - don't go here with high expectations, you will feel short changed as we did.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0z1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Tinner, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear The Hotel Guest
First of all I want to apologize, that you could not enjoy your time in Lucerne and your budget expectations could not be fulfilled. However I thank you for taking your valuable time and write us. To improve our services I am always very happy about any feedback. But I need to say that your room rate was one of the best deals possible to get a room with us. I wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back to the hotel.

Best regards

Rolf Tinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place was a great surprise for us. Everything about this place was impeccable. The Hotel is situated very close to the train stationand hence does not provide a pick up. you can ask for directions at the information centre or the hotel staff. It looked like a small hotel and we weren't sure about the choice we made. We were greeted very warmly by the staff. I have to add they were extremely courteous and upon entrance we realised the interiors are very tastefully done. The bar and the restaurant were fantastic. The room was even better. Extremely modern! It had features like ceiling screen and you can have blind settings where the room is completely dark. All the toiletries are from Morton brown. My wife had mistakenly broken the glass and it was immediately cleaned.
The breakfast is very personal and it was great to have everything served at the table. The old lady serving their did a great job and on the second day the manager also came to check with the guests about their experience. All in all, a great place to stay. You won't be disappointed with anything here. It's a hotel par excellence

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Abhijeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Tinner, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear The Hotel Guest
THANK YOU, what else can I say. I am very happy about your review and we will pass it on to my staff. All the best and again thank you for taking your valuable time to write about us..

All the best and I hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely

Rolf Tinner
Generalmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Hotel has it all. Boutique feel. Great locaton. SPECTACULAR staff. Excellent breakfast buffet. Each room has a different theme. Very quiet neighborhood, but close to train, lake tours, museums and shopping. Spent three days here in August 2012 and was sorry to leave. VERY NICE!!!!!!!!
Doug

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme. Very creative!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Tinner, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Doug
Thank you very much for your honest feedback, it helps us to improve our services and other travellers to find the perfect place to stay. With reviews like yours, we know that we are on track and doing alot of things right.
All the best and come back soon

sincerely

Rolf Tinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection

Address: Sempacherstrasse 14, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly The Hotel Luzern, Autograph Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $211 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a unique establishment exuding charm and charisma in Lucerne Switzerland. No two guest rooms are alike – and each has a tale to tell. They lean away from the familiar and the everyday. The art lies not so much in what is included but in what is left out. Guests are invited to abandon themselves to the inspirational poetry which characterises this sense-awakening boutique deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing