We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will never forget the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
haifa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will never forget the stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel for eight nites. The Hotel is on the lake.The original booking was for one night. We extended it straight away after seing the Hotel for 5 nights. at the second stage we extended to 8 nights. Just couldnt get ourselves to leave. We stayed HB the Breakfasts are Buffet that does not end in variety Dinners were like eating in a 3 star Michelin rated restaurant.Large room facing the lake.
Service was great - actuaaly nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themetsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    250
    49
    19
    8
See reviews for
210
422
35
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Spent a great weekend looking around Lucerne and wanted a lakeside hotel with a view. This hotel has views alright. Our room looked out on the lake and mountain. It was big and had floor to ceiling windows, a balcony, nice bathroom and was extremely comfortable.

We had drinks in the lounge area and then dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was excellent too. It was a faultless weekend really.

You can get to the hotel by bus or by boat, we managed to do both during our stay, it's very conveniently located, there's tons of parking if you come by car and the private beach is a little extra bonus if the weather is good - sadly we had rain but you can't blame the hotel for that.

Not cheap but a great all-round experience, would love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaymanisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Out of the town centre, right on the lake shore. Our Junior Suite with lakeview balcony was excellent value, quiet, comfortable super king-sized bed, outstanding views of lake and mountains. Only slight downside was expensive food...but room amazing value...oh and Prosecco included with an excellent breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Excellent hotel in beautiful setting with tunning views. Restaurants superb but very expensive. Rooms clean and large. No kettles available for rooms - hot drinks must be ordered from room service only. Weddings at weekends can mean loud music until 0430 in the morning. Staff very friendly and helpful. 40 minute walk into Luzern or there is a bus stop right outside the front door.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We enjoyed a 6 night stay and it was hot, so, yes, air conditioning would have been very welcome. However, the size and quality of the room, the standard and cleanliness of the rest of the hotel, together with the views and the lakeside setting cannot see me being critical here.
The restaurant on the terrace was extremely pleasant and the food at dinner was good, with a nice relaxed atmosphere at breakfast.
A bit of confusion arose regarding upgrading our booking to access the al a carte menu which was resolved but could have been managed a little better.
To recap, the nominal negatives here were far outweighed by the positives and, hopefully, I will be fortunate enough to stay in this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalky54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Have travelled to Zurich/Lucerne many times on business. Thought it would be fun to bring my wife and 2 boys. Lucerne was our first stop on a swing through Switzerland, Italy and Ireland.
We had a confirmed booking (through American Express) for 2 connecting rooms at CHF 409.50/night each. When we arrived, the Front Desk only had a confirmation for 1 room/2 people. They showed us their piece of paper and we showed them ours. We lost! After much back and forth, they took away our upgrade and free breakfast and put us in the same building on the same floor but not connecting. I did ask for the managers name and was given a business card. Apparently, he was coming on later on that evening - we never heard from him.
We had a lovely boat ride and mountain hike at Burgenstock the next day. When we got back to the hotel, they had the barbecue set up by the lake. Unfortunately, while there were lots of open tables and space, we had not been told we needed a reservation - out of luck again! Retreating to the dining room, we were told again they could not seat us without a reservation. The maitre d's parting words were "I wish you luck". The final insult was that room service is not available from 7-9PM. We ended up having snacks in the bar area watching the USA lose in the World Cup...
The rooms are very basic - beautiful views but very limited amenities. Tiny gym.
As we sat in the Four Seasons in Dublin at the end of out trip (paying less than we did at the Seehotel), my wife and I discussed the relative experiences and our net conclusion was that customer service makes all the difference. We had gone to great trouble to book a nice hotel in a beautiful setting. What we did not count on was the booking getting screwed up and us having to compromise on the rooms, the meals, the experience all for CHF 820 a night. Very disappointing and very poorly handled.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

In summary: if you consider staying here with temperatures higher than 25 degrees celsius then you should know this hotel does not offer airconditioning and its roomrates tends to be rather overprized therefore.

We stayed here on 2 occassions in this 4 star hotel, one around the 20th June and one time on July 3rd. The first time was a comfortable stay in a Deluxe double room, which is in the new part of the hotel with modern look and feel at the top floor (temperatures were around 18/19 degrees celsius) with a stunning view at the lake and mountains.
The second time however was a bit disappointing.Same room, however it was very hot weather with temperatures around 30 degrees celsius during the day, so with a flat roof on the top floor and NO airconditioning for a 4 star hotel charging Euro 314, it was highly overprized. This hotel does a good job comparing themselves to some of the 5 star hotels in the area concerning their price, but not what you get for it.

Having mentioned this at the reception the next day, all we got back was a standard text saying it is hot and sorry the roof is flat so it tends to get warm with these kind og temperatures.

The food in the restaurant is good, but tends to be on the high side for what you get for it. I mean it is good, but not that good for the high price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James290774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.7 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
2.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
1,070 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
920 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
970 reviews
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Hermitage Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Hermitage Luzern

Property: Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Address: Seeburgstrasse 72, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Hermitage Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Seehotel Hermitage Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing