We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“also good for families, amazing view, really spacious, immaculately clean and modern rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“also good for families, amazing view, really spacious, immaculately clean and modern rooms”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after Christmas and we really liked the hotel. 10 min bus ride (using bus 24) from Luzern railway station.
From the outside, the hotel doesn't look stunning but once we entered our room, we loved it. It's really spacious and has a spectacular view of the lake and the snowy mountains.
We stayed in a classic room which was spacious enough for a family of 5 with small children. It has a king size bed and a sofa bed. We just paid extra 65CHF per night for the sofa bed. The tea and coffee making facility was inside the cabinet. My girls liked the sweet apples on the hallway. :-) Everything is very clean. I just find their breakfast expensive especially for kids who only eat a bowl of cereal.

On the 1st day, we went to Transport Museum which is very near - maybe 2 bus stops away. Receptionist said just always ride bus 24.
On the second day we went to Engelberg to go up Mt. Titlis but it was very windy so they're not allowing people to go up there anymore. We went to Brunni instead and our family had great fun in the snow.
The night before we checked out, I requested if I can settle our bill earlier because we would be leaving very early the next day to catch the train going to Chur but the male receptionist said just pay in the morning otherwise he has to charge a deposit for the keys so processing time will just be the same. It would be very quick, he assured me. To my disappointment, it took a little longer because there was an error in our bill – charged double for breakfast. Oh! Good thing we were still able to catch the bus and the train or else we could have missed our reserved seats on Bernina Express from Chur. Looking back, what he could have done the night before was at least show us the bill for faster processing the next day. Buses and trains are almost always (if not always) in time in Switzerland so a few minutes may really matter to some people. I liked the female receptionists better. They were helpful and friendly.

But overall, we had a great stay. We could have just woke up earlier but the beds were so comfortable and it's not that easy to wake sleepy kids up in the morning. So of course I still highly recommend this hotel but hopefully he (sorry, forgot his name, duty on Dec 28 early morning) will be more understanding to guests' situation.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have spectacular view of the lake and mountains but not all rooms have tea and cof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback as well as the good rating and recommendation!

We are really sorry about what happened concerning the wrong bill and will certainly forward your input to the responsible person, but we are also very happy to hear that you nevertheless enjoyed your stay with us a lot. So we would be pleased to welcome you again!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    249
    49
    19
    8
See reviews for
208
417
35
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here the new year's eve and could not have chosen a better place for that special night. The Premium room was absolutely fantastic, beautiful design, large and warm room and the view - even from the bathroom - was simply stunning. Stuff at the reception was extremely friendly and the service there simply five star! The hotel is located out of Lucerne but it's very easy to go to downtown by bus that leaves just in front of the hotel. You feel like being in the beautiful countryside and yet the city is just around the corner - we absolutely loved this. The view from the room facing the lake and Mount Pilatus was amazing as well as the fireworks after midnight... could not have been any better! The breakfast was very good as well and in a beautiful setting. All in all very good memories and we would highly recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have a beautiful holiday in Lucerne with a touch of luxury!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadCalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear guest

Wow, thank's a lot for this fantastic feedback, the great recommendation and the super rating!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us that much and would be very pleased to welcome you again among our guests!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A great hotel somewhat out of the centre of Lucerne. Good connection as bus halts direct for the hotel. 12 minutes from the central station.
Best thing: the rooms face the lake. Other than in other Lucerner Hotels no risk to get a room facing the hills or some building. Fascinating view of the lake and mountain. Also not the street noise one often has in Lucerne.

The rooms in the new part are very spacious with great styling. Open doors to the lake.
Especially for our US friends some warning: the bath area is open and can't be closed. Only the toilet has a sort of door... Be prepared to take a bath or shower in the open of the room.
Only real negative: the toilet has a movement triggered fan, which one can't turn off. So in the night you have about ten minutes the idea you have a jet engine running in your room. Not nice for the other sleeping in the room....

The staff is very friendly, helpful. The meeting rooms are very nice with great view. The service is great.

A clear recommendation for private and for business stays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and the great rating!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly forward your inputs to the responsible person.

Looking forward to welcoming you again hopefully soon we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Part of me just doesn't want to recommend this hotel so that it stays our ownlittle secret. Probably the best hotel room suite we have ever stayed in. We reached after a long journey from France and all out stress melted away as soon as we were shown our room. Absolutely gorgeous furnishings and amenities, spectacular view of the lake, luzern and the snow covered alps!

Everything felt like it was a storybook fairy tale. Just wish they would provide complimentary breakfast for the steep room prices they charge (25 Swiss Franks additional per person for breakfast). But the hotel is so well maintained and so immaculate- rooms so spectacular - views so jaw dropping that staying anywhere else would be absolutely foolish.

Simply brilliant! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nfl49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest

Wow, what a great feedback! Thank you so much for this phenominal recommandation and the fantastic rating!

We are very happy to hear that you had such a good time while staying with us and hope to welcoming you soon again!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern, Schweiz
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went here for drinks - as we arrived two minutes to five, they charged us the full price instead of the special price they offer between 5 and 7. When we tried to argue we were just laughed at - not a place to recommend, guest are obviously not welcome.
So, if you want to get cheated on - this is the place to go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HWYLuzern_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Leiter Front Office at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for rating us on HolidayCheck. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We are very grateful for suggestions since this is how we constantly improve. We apologize for any points you were unhappy with and have naturally passed these on to the relevant department.

We would be delighted to welcome you again soon.

Your Hermitage-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I decided to book this hotel for two nights stay in Luzern for two of us (a couple from Sydney).
When I was looking for a place to stay in Luzern, there weren't many options, as the town is pretty small and all hotels were gathered near the city centre.

Well then I decided to book a hotel with a nice view and decent price and the hotel just came in my sight. Such a great choice! It was the one of the best hotel I have ever stayed, and probably the best 4.5 star. In Sydney, you will get nowhere this quality at this price, and we are talking about Switzerland. Before I booked this hotel, I was a bit worried about the transport from the hotel to the city centre, but don't worry, there is a frequent bus service right in front of the hotel, which takes approx 20min< to reach the city centre.

The rooms were spotless and warm. We were lucky that the friendly girl at the check-in upgraded our room, but I am pretty sure our deluxe room would've delivered the same quality. Loccantine toiletries, Nespresso Machine, super-comfy bed...all facilities were lovely, but most of all, the view of the lake was absolutely stunning. Although it was a bit cold, we had a bottle of sparkling and sweets around four in the balcony...just perfect!

The hotel breakfast was also faultless, and I especially enjoyed the sparkling wines sitting next to the yogurt section. Service is also five stars. We have not tried their restaurants, but they had plenty of fine dining options when we were staying.

Overall, a very pleasant stay. Five-star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonberrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest

Wow, thank you very much for this fantastic rating and the great feedback!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us that much and would be very pleased to welcome you again soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Seehotel is located around 10~15 mins bus ride from the Lucerne train station. It is located right on the lake, and the view from all the New building rooms are awesome. We stayed in the 5th Floor (deluxe room), and the views were amazing. The staff was generally nice and helpful. The hotel is more geared towards business and conference travellers, and the facilities are in accordance with the same. The room was modern, featuring a unique open bathroom concept, with a great bath tub and separate shower area. It also had a french balcony, with view of the Hotel garden and the lake. The welcome cake offered was a fantastic gesture and the cake was tasteful as well.
The main problem in this hotel is the lack of A/C, which prevents it from being Excellent. I will definitely not stay here in Summer, but for Autumn and winter this is a superb option. A couple of small service gestures would make it even more attractive for tourists, like providing pick-up and drop service to the station (as travelling with luggage can be a problem in the buses), and including the breakfast in the room rates. There was no option to pre-pay for the breakfast while booking the room through my Travel Agent (though the hotel website allows the same).
To summarize, this is a great winter/autumn option, but lack of A/C is definitely a problem in summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devesh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your nice feedback and the good rating.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and are already looking forward to welcoming you again hopefully soon!

In the meantime we wish you a merry Christmas and a peaceful time.

Kind regards from Lucerne

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.7 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
2.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
2.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
952 reviews
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
1.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Hermitage Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Hermitage Luzern

Property: Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Address: Seeburgstrasse 72, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Hermitage Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Seehotel Hermitage Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing