We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - terrible service at the Bar!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Luzern, Schweiz
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - terrible service at the Bar!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went here for drinks - as we arrived two minutes to five, they charged us the full price instead of the special price they offer between 5 and 7. When we tried to argue we were just laughed at - not a place to recommend, guest are obviously not welcome.
So, if you want to get cheated on - this is the place to go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HWYLuzern_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Leiter Front Office at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for rating us on HolidayCheck. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We are very grateful for suggestions since this is how we constantly improve. We apologize for any points you were unhappy with and have naturally passed these on to the relevant department.

We would be delighted to welcome you again soon.

Your Hermitage-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    249
    49
    19
    8
See reviews for
208
417
35
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I decided to book this hotel for two nights stay in Luzern for two of us (a couple from Sydney).
When I was looking for a place to stay in Luzern, there weren't many options, as the town is pretty small and all hotels were gathered near the city centre.

Well then I decided to book a hotel with a nice view and decent price and the hotel just came in my sight. Such a great choice! It was the one of the best hotel I have ever stayed, and probably the best 4.5 star. In Sydney, you will get nowhere this quality at this price, and we are talking about Switzerland. Before I booked this hotel, I was a bit worried about the transport from the hotel to the city centre, but don't worry, there is a frequent bus service right in front of the hotel, which takes approx 20min< to reach the city centre.

The rooms were spotless and warm. We were lucky that the friendly girl at the check-in upgraded our room, but I am pretty sure our deluxe room would've delivered the same quality. Loccantine toiletries, Nespresso Machine, super-comfy bed...all facilities were lovely, but most of all, the view of the lake was absolutely stunning. Although it was a bit cold, we had a bottle of sparkling and sweets around four in the balcony...just perfect!

The hotel breakfast was also faultless, and I especially enjoyed the sparkling wines sitting next to the yogurt section. Service is also five stars. We have not tried their restaurants, but they had plenty of fine dining options when we were staying.

Overall, a very pleasant stay. Five-star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonberrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest

Wow, thank you very much for this fantastic rating and the great feedback!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us that much and would be very pleased to welcome you again soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Seehotel is located around 10~15 mins bus ride from the Lucerne train station. It is located right on the lake, and the view from all the New building rooms are awesome. We stayed in the 5th Floor (deluxe room), and the views were amazing. The staff was generally nice and helpful. The hotel is more geared towards business and conference travellers, and the facilities are in accordance with the same. The room was modern, featuring a unique open bathroom concept, with a great bath tub and separate shower area. It also had a french balcony, with view of the Hotel garden and the lake. The welcome cake offered was a fantastic gesture and the cake was tasteful as well.
The main problem in this hotel is the lack of A/C, which prevents it from being Excellent. I will definitely not stay here in Summer, but for Autumn and winter this is a superb option. A couple of small service gestures would make it even more attractive for tourists, like providing pick-up and drop service to the station (as travelling with luggage can be a problem in the buses), and including the breakfast in the room rates. There was no option to pre-pay for the breakfast while booking the room through my Travel Agent (though the hotel website allows the same).
To summarize, this is a great winter/autumn option, but lack of A/C is definitely a problem in summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devesh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your nice feedback and the good rating.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and are already looking forward to welcoming you again hopefully soon!

In the meantime we wish you a merry Christmas and a peaceful time.

Kind regards from Lucerne

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's alittle bit out of town but perfect for those that like to stretch their legs or just lesurely cycle into town. Beautiful rrom and great views. Lovely breakfast - great variety and everything fresh, home made and pleasantly served. Dinners are fab (but expensive but I guess Switzerland is expensive) - eat here at least one night and I suspect you'll be back for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your nice feedback and the gorgeous rating!

It is so nice to hear that you had a great time with us and we would be happy to have you among our guests as well in the future!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is our second time coming to this hotel. My wife and I came here in April last year and had a great time staying here.

This year, we were traveling to Switzerland with our parents. We wanted them to also enjoy this place.

The hotel was easily accessible by bus from Lucerne train station. Upcoming stops were clearly displayed on screens in the bus so it was impossible to miss the stop. Bus ride was about 10-15 mins. Bus could be crowded at times.

Upon check-in, things were prepared including travel map of Lucerne and free bus tickets around town. We were given a free room upgrade to the premium room. what a treat!

There was also a cake sitting in the room as a welcome snack. Room was big and clean. View was excellent as always. Room was very nicely decorated and included many nice amenities (e.g. Nespresso machine).

The room rate was actually less expensive to other similarly rated hotel in Lucerne but they no longer include free breakfast. They now charge CHF25 for the breakfast. But if you consider that the price for a Burger King's Whopper costs CHF10, the price of their breakfast buffet is very reasonable. Their breakfast was very good. There weren't too many hot dishes, but they did have many fresh cold dishes included hams, salmon, cheese , cereals etc. We were given a table besides the window. The great food with the great view made our breakfast a very enjoyable experience.

According to my father, the steam room and the sauna facility in the hotel were also excellent.

Customer service was courteous and responsive.

We had very good experience with this hotel for the second time. Their consistency in providing great service and good quality rooms makes it one of the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

Seehotel Hermitage will be my first choice whenever I go to Lucerne. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest

Wow, what a great feedback and rating! Thank you very much!

We are very pleased to hear that you now enjoyed a second time your stay with us that much and are already looking forward to welcoming you again hopefully soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Seehotel Hermitage Luzern is a bit outside of the city, but not to far away. It's located directly at the lake shore, thus you have a wonderful view from the rooms over the lake to Mount Pilatus (if it's not covered by clouds/fog - but that's not the hotel's fault). The room I had was very spacious and furnished in a modern style. Wireless LAN is free of charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian_Gaertner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Mr. Gaertner

Thank you so much for this great feedback and the fantastic rating!

We are very happy to hear that you had such a good time with us and are looking forward to welcoming you again hopefully soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thonon-les-Bains, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Situated 5 min from the city center ( by car) wonderful hotel just on the board of the lake. Very comfortable and spacious room. We appreciated a lot the upgrade made for us. Room facing lake with superb view. Balcony. Big bathroom, nice design. Good amentites in the room. Personalized welcome letter and a chocolate cake (tasty). The employees are very kind and attentive "welcome" on arrival, assistance with luggage. The breakfast is well presented with everything we might require. Even champaign for breakfast is served )))) we were travelling with baby but i would higly recommend this hotel for romantic stay. Will definetely come back in summer to try the restaurant and swimming pool. May be a small note - the long working desk in deluxe room is quite straight and not ubsafe when baby goes close to it as the corner is very rude. Thanx for all team for good memories from our stay. Family Bonard

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Family Bonard

Thank you so much for this fantastic rating and the great feedback.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us a lot and are already looking forward to welcoming you again in summer!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.7 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
2.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
2.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
952 reviews
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
1.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Hermitage Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Hermitage Luzern

Property: Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Address: Seeburgstrasse 72, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Hermitage Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Seehotel Hermitage Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing