We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Cheseaux-sur-Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I took my wife here for a trip for our wedding anniversary, and both of us could not have been happier with the experience.

At check-in, we were told we were a little too early, but immediately had our suitcases taken, and were escorted for a complimentary coffee in the lounge area of the hotel, surrounded by a live pianist and a beautiful view of the lake.

Once checked-in, we were taken to our room, which was absolutely fantastic, with a view of the lake, an incredible bathroom, complimentary chocolates, and every single amenity one could hope for. Molton Brown soaps and shampoos and creams, an individual shower room, jacuzzi bathtub, beautiful fittings and furnishings, made for a great experience.

The bed was very comfortable, wifi was provided throughout, and every possible need was catered for. The spa was small but tastefully done, and since it was freezing and we decided not to brave the cold and head to town for dinner, the room service we ordered was sublime.

The breakfast buffet was out of this world, with every pastry imaginable available, along with freshly cut ham, various cereals, delicious coffee, juices, home-made bircher müsli, etc., all there for your enjoyment. Friendly and courteous staff are permanently available to tend to your special wishes and requirements, always with a smile on their face and seemingly happy to help.

It would be a pleasure to stay here again, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone, particularly those seeking a weekend getaway in the beautiful city of Luzern, at a timeless, classic, and absolutely pampering hotel. Awarding five stars does not do it justice!

Room Tip: Lakeview room a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagisterDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear MagisterDom

We thank you so much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is an honour for me and my team to read such words from you and we are very happy that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary to the fullest at the PALACE LUZERN.

On our breakfast buffet we do have a lot of local specialities for you to try out. From our breakfast room you do have a lovely view on the lake and the alpine panorama and you can see the sunrise as well as our house mountain, the Pilatus.

Our devoted team members are doing their best every day to read your wishes from the eyes, as we say it here in Switzerland. Our slogan is "pure joy of life" and above the entrance for the staff there are the following words written: "The best employees of the world enter and leave through this door every day". This is absolutely true.

Our location directly on the lake is spectacular, even if you would like to dine in your room you do not have to do without a beautiful view.

Dear MagisterDom, we would be glad to pamper you again at the PALACE LUZERN!

Best regards
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    167
    61
    15
    18
See reviews for
227
531
33
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The classic hotel architecture in a tremendous lakeside location speaks for itself. What we weren't expecting is how friendly, personable, and attentive the staff was - really a small hotel feel in a grand and elegant hotel building. Wonderful spa (sauna, steam room), piano bar. We spent an hour each morning just sipping coffee gazing out on the lake and Mt Pilatus from our wonderful balcony.

Room Tip: Lakeview balconies are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattleafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear seattleafar

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment on TripAdvisor. We are very glad that you enjoyed your coffee on your balcony every morning, watching what is going on on the lake and on the promenade. The athmosphere is sometimes spectacular, and you cannot get enough of looking at the beautiful landscape. We also thank you for your positive comment about our dedicated staff - which with pleasure I will pass on.

Best regards
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and i are planning a trip to Luzern and it was recommended to stay at Palance Luzern. Since it is my 60th birthday and also around our anniversary I ask for help in planning a special event. The GM and his staff responded immediately and gave us perfect recommendations. If this is an indication of the service we will receive....then a 5-star rating will not be high enough. First impressions mean a great deal in our travel.---Mike.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear mike p

We thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you appreciated our help and me as well as our dedicated team members are looking forward to welcoming you for your private Birthday and anniversary celebration at the PALACE LUZERN.

Sunny regards from Lucerne
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is on the lake, which is quite nice. We were also lucky in that we got upgraded. In any case, rooms are nice, comfortable. I have to say though, hotel itself is quite grand, traditional. Some might prefer smaller, more modern, boutique hotels. Very central location.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BecharaYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Leiter Front Office at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear BecharaYen

We thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure for us that you have chosen the PALACE LUZERN for your stay.

Our location directly on the lake is absolutely magnificent, especially on a sunny day like today. You can even see the Alps in the background with their snow-capped peaks.

We thank you for beeing our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

excellent location, with incredibles views of the lake and the city,excellent attitude of the staff, they atend very fast any request at any time.

very clean, very quiet, very comfortable and they gave us an up grade¡¡¡¡¡.
it´s our third time there and of course we´ll return again.

it´s not cheap but it´s what we want and we enjoy.

Eduardo .R.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eduardo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Leiter Front Office at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear eduardo r

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback! The view from our hotel, which is situated directly at the lakeshore, is absolutely stunning, especially on a bright and sunny day like today. You can see the alpine panorama with the snow capped peaks and in the front the clear blue Lake Lucerne.

We are glad to provide you a home away from home, and we are looking forward to inspire you again, when you visit us for the fourth time. Thank you for being our guests!

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon, the hotel is gorgeous - It is situated right on Lake Lucerne with spectacular views of the Alps! Ensure you book a lake view room! We stayed in the Junior Suite and it was nothing short of amazing, we had a lovely balcony to enjoy our morning tea/coffee and look at the views! The front staff were wonderful, they could tell we were tired when we arrived (at 8am) and proceeded to check us in immediately! We were escorted to our room and told if there was anything we required just to call. Buffet Breakfast is fantastic, a massive selection of hot and cold food - Eggs are cooked to your liking - just place your order! The hotel is only a short walk to the "old town", shops, chapel bridge and the main station!
The hotel is equipped a gym, business centre and day spa! We LOVED everything about this hotel and Lucerne and we will definitely be back to enjoy the experiences again.

Room Tip: Lake View rooms!! Fantastic views of the Alps & lake! Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Kellie C

Thank you very much for your fabulous feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you chose the PALACE LUZERN as a place to stay for a couple of days during your honeymoon trip.

With pleasure we will forward your feedback also to our wonderful staff, who have taken care of you so lovely. We do offer a lot of variety on our breakfast buffet for our guests, so that they can try organic swiss cheese or a local yoghurt, something they have not tried before.

Dear Kellie C, it was a pleasure to welcome you and your husband to the PALACE LUZERN and we do hope to welcome you back one day!

Best regards
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A group of long time friends all met for a couple nights at the Palace. What a wonderful place to stay and enjoy the old world elegance , sitting in the lounge and looking out at the majestic view of the lake and the surrounding mountains. The staff was so professional, friendly and accommodating to all of our needs. The breakfast was over the top with so many choices and the staff were so nice to bring us coffee latte to go, after we already had a wonderful breakfast with coffee!!! The rooms were huge, especially after staying a week in the mountains skiing at another 5 star hotel with half the size rooms. The location is perfect , 5 minute walk to the old city, and also very quiet. Cant wait to return again!!!

Room Tip: Try to book the lake view rooms with a balcony so you can enjoy the lake and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear bortonoverseas

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the PALACE LUZERN.
Our guests enjoy our rooms very much and our devoted team does everything to read your wishes from your lips. Thank you for your comment about the breakfast buffet. We also offer organic and local products, so our guests can try something they haven't known before.

We do hope to welcome you again to the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards from the whole PALACE dream-team
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Property: Palace Luzern
Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing