We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short of amazing!”
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon, the hotel is gorgeous - It is situated right on Lake Lucerne with spectacular views of the Alps! Ensure you book a lake view room! We stayed in the Junior Suite and it was nothing short of amazing, we had a lovely balcony to enjoy our morning tea/coffee and look at the views! The front staff were wonderful, they could tell we were tired when we arrived (at 8am) and proceeded to check us in immediately! We were escorted to our room and told if there was anything we required just to call. Buffet Breakfast is fantastic, a massive selection of hot and cold food - Eggs are cooked to your liking - just place your order! The hotel is only a short walk to the "old town", shops, chapel bridge and the main station!
The hotel is equipped a gym, business centre and day spa! We LOVED everything about this hotel and Lucerne and we will definitely be back to enjoy the experiences again.

Room Tip: Lake View rooms!! Fantastic views of the Alps & lake! Enjoy!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Kellie C

Thank you very much for your fabulous feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you chose the PALACE LUZERN as a place to stay for a couple of days during your honeymoon trip.

With pleasure we will forward your feedback also to our wonderful staff, who have taken care of you so lovely. We do offer a lot of variety on our breakfast buffet for our guests, so that they can try organic swiss cheese or a local yoghurt, something they have not tried before.

Dear Kellie C, it was a pleasure to welcome you and your husband to the PALACE LUZERN and we do hope to welcome you back one day!

Best regards
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
There are newer reviews for Palace Luzern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

A group of long time friends all met for a couple nights at the Palace. What a wonderful place to stay and enjoy the old world elegance , sitting in the lounge and looking out at the majestic view of the lake and the surrounding mountains. The staff was so professional, friendly and accommodating to all of our needs. The breakfast was over the top with so many choices and the staff were so nice to bring us coffee latte to go, after we already had a wonderful breakfast with coffee!!! The rooms were huge, especially after staying a week in the mountains skiing at another 5 star hotel with half the size rooms. The location is perfect , 5 minute walk to the old city, and also very quiet. Cant wait to return again!!!

Room Tip: Try to book the lake view rooms with a balcony so you can enjoy the lake and mountain view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cassandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear bortonoverseas

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the PALACE LUZERN.
Our guests enjoy our rooms very much and our devoted team does everything to read your wishes from your lips. Thank you for your comment about the breakfast buffet. We also offer organic and local products, so our guests can try something they haven't known before.

We do hope to welcome you again to the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards from the whole PALACE dream-team
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Wonderful hotel right on Lucerne lake, with gorgeous views of the lake and the Alps. The view is of course the highlight, so make sure you get a lake facing room, with a balcony if possible. Though it was December and pretty cold, the balconies were full every morning with people admiring the sky and the mountains at sunrise and snapping photos.
Service is warm and friendly, and the hotel is extremely relaxing and homely. Nothing to complain about at all, and though pricey, I found it reasonable value for Switzerland with the 'Seasonal Delights' package we were on.

Room Tip: Lake facing room
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Housekeeping Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear sankar

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure for us to hear, that you enjoyed the PALACE LUZERN during your stay with us.

Our guests tell us a lot of stories what they see from their balconies, some admire the beautiful scenery with the snowcapped mountains and the sunrise or the sunset, other tell us about the pedestrians they were observing or about our steam boats on the lake, how they are docking at the pier. In summer, our guests sit on the terraces for hours and enjoy them very much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the PALACE LUZERN, maybe also in summer to observe what is going on outside of our beautiful hotel.

Best regards
Beatrice Hunkeler
Housekeeping Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel after a long drive from Fussen Germany so was looking to check in quickly for a shower and dinner.. We were greeted warmly by Carina and Silvia at the reception who could tell that we were tired.. They immediately got the butler to get our luggage from us and proceeded to check us in!

Next piece of news that immediately brought a smile on our face and energized us was that that upgraded us to a junior suite with a terrace facing Lake Luzern! They knew we were on our honeymoon and wanted to make it special for us.. Carina brought us to our room to ensure all is order as can expected of five star hotel.

They answered our numerous questions with utmost patience on what to do in town and where to eat!

Hotel is around a 10 minutes walk to the old town area, chapel bridge and watch shops! It's a nice walk along the lake..

All in all it was a great experience of Swiss hospitality. We will be back...

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TanTekkTyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Leiter Front Office at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear TanTekkTyann

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you spent part of your honeymoon with us at the PALACE LUZERN and that you were delighted about your upgrade. Our lake view rooms offer a wonderful panorama, also of the snow capped Alps in the background.

We love to give our guests some advice where to go and what to eat, it is our devotion to show you real Switzerland and our culture. I will also pass on your fantastic feedback to Carina and Silvia.

It would be great to welcome you again at the PALACE LUZERN!

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

we had booked this hotel considering its a five star and the legacy associated with it.

inspite of booking 3 similar category room for 4 nights, we were given only 2 rooms as per promised. 1 room was a corner match box size room with no shower working. is this what you expect from 5 star.

when i told them about the problem they said they are fully booked and cant do any thing. that was the worst possible answer expected.

finally i fought endless and they changed the next day. the food was bad. the rooms to were very old and no maintenance was done (assuming).

the only good thing was the view and location.

they even were not ready to oblige to drop us to train station on the final day of checkout. although it was clearly mentioned in booking. after argument with concierge they gave us one car and did 4 trips one after another.

i would ask everyone to book other hotels in the vicinity but not Palace.

Room Tip: only tip would be not a book this hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hardikgudhka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear hardikgudhka

Thank you for your comment about your stay last summer at the PALACE LUZERN. Every feedback is of great value for us, then we can learn of them and sort out, what we can do better. We are very sorry about your experience that you have made at our hotel.

During the time of your visit at the end of August, the Lucerne Festival is taking place every year, the worlds biggest symphony concert series. In this period of one month, we are fully booked and all our guests get the room categories that they book. We are glad that we were able to change one room for you after the first night, this was the best we could offer in this situation.

We are sorry for the transfer to the train station, and that is was so complicated for you to get that organised. Please be assured that this is not our high service standard and that we will take action, that this does not happen again.

Dear hardikgudhka, I would like to offer you a personal dialogue about that issue and therefore I have sent you a personal message via TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, you have not answered until today.

We do hope to welcome you again to the PALACE LUZERN to show you that we can do better.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales and member of the management board

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a surprise to stay at this amazing hotel for the first night of our New Year tour. We were bowled over by the opulence of the decor and the view was 'out of this world' with the lake framed by snow capped mountains! The room was very spacious and the bathroom was really lovely. All the staff were excellent especially those serving our evening meal. We were to find out later that it was their first night out of training college - you would never have guessed as they were totally professional and very friendly also. Not being accustomed to staying in 5* establishments, this was a little touch of luxury that was thoroughly enjoyable and a real treat!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Robyn M

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed your room and the decor in our hotel. We have one florist, who is responsible for all the beautiful flowers and seasonal decoration in our hotel.

We are happy that you liked our staff at the restaurant, who served your dinner. On New Year's Eve we often have students to help us out, because we do have a lot going on over the festive season. It is our goal, that also new members of our team know our standards and the other important information, to guarantee high quality service.

We are looking forward to your next visit to the PALACE LUZERN!
Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We bought a New Years's Eve package including a Deluxe Room with lake view, dinner, party and breakfast.
When we arrived we were given an upgrade to a Junior Suite without extra charge.
The room was large and the bed very comfortable. But the bathroom needs a refurbushing to bring it to a 5 Stars level.
Also: I do not get why a 5 stars hotel has columns painted to simulate marble.(breakfast room)
Dinner and breakfast were very good, but the service was not always attentive. We had to ask many times to be served, which we did not have to in other 5 stars hotels.
Still, a very enjoyable stay and the upgrade was a nice surprise.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Director of Sales at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Alberto S

Thank you very much for your comment about the PALACE LUZERN on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the upgrade to a Junior Suite.

We are very sorry for your experience with our service. It is not our high quality standard that you have to ask a few times for your order or for being served. Your input is very important for us so we can always improve every single step of our service. We hope to welcome you back again at the PALACE LUZERN to inspire you with our service from the heart.

We wish you and your family a happy New Year 2014.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#19 of 67 in Lucerne
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $358 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing