We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Hotel”
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Magnificent Hotel”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Palace Luzern in December 2013. It was an outstanding experience. Hotel is a palace in the best location in Lucerne! Very well trained staff, great breakfast buffet. General Manager had upgraded us to a suite. For discriminating customers this hotel is the one!!!
Thank you GM and all hotel Staff for making my stay memorable!

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix1527340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Leiter Front Office at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Felix1527340

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to provide you a home far away from home, which is one of our goals. I will give this feedback to my staff, they will be really happy about it.

Now all the christmas lights are turned on, also at the PALACE LUZERN and we are ready for the happy Holidays.

We do hope to welcome you back again to the PALACE LUZERN!

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    167
    61
    15
    18
See reviews for
227
531
33
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed here for one night on my own. I requested a city view room and was given a room on the end of the fifth floor hallway with a partial lake view and a view of downtown Luzern; it was really nice! Overall, the hotel is grand, historic and beautiful. I wanted to use the spa and was disappointed that the jacuzzi was only available at an additional, significant cost. Especially as a single traveler and out of principle I wouldn't pay an additional 390 Swiss francs just to use the jacuzzi - the hotel's "private spa" experience. My room was really nice although the walls are thin and I could hear traffic and people talking in the hallway, which made it difficult to fall asleep. The buffet breakfast was really good and generally the service was fantastic.

Room Tip: Reserve a lake view room, both for the view and the tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Director of Sales at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Amy L

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. Our PALACE SPA is equipped with steambath, sauna, lifestyle showers, ice fountain and a relaxing room. The Private Spa is our highlight when you are looking for a spa oasis, with a private tub for two, a private sauna and steamroom. And of course in summer, we do have the biggest pool outside, our cristal clear lake Lucerne.

Thank you for the feedback about our fantastic service, we really appreciate these words and will give it on to our dedicated staff.

We do hope to welcome you again at the PALACE LUZERN
Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Was in Switzerland in the month of April 2013.My fourth trip and second time in Lucerne. Stayed at the Palace for 3 nights. One of the most beautiful views I have ever seen from a hotel room ever. You are greeted with a view of the lake, blue skies and a biting cold breeze which makes you feel fresh. There are a lot of people jogging and exercising along the lake .
The rooms are nice/ spacious / clean/ comfortable. Didn't spend too much time in the room though.
We did have Indian food served to us which was good taste wise considering standards of Indian food prepared abroad.
Lots of shops / stores around and quite close to the train station. Also some historic monuments built over the lake and the lion monument is walking distance.
Overall a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Any lake facing room . The higher the floor the better. And do ask for a room with a balcony, some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Front Office Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Glenome

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay at the PALACE LUZERN. Our view from the rooms is amazing, on a sunny day you see the clear, blue water and the Alpine panorama in the background, today you can see all the snow peaks and the sunrise in the morning was absolutely stunning, the sky was all pink and orange.

We hope to welcome you again at the PALACE LUZERN!

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great location on the shores of lake Lucerne. Belle Epoque style as it has always been at its best. Old fashioned but classical and old-style rooms with all amenities wanted. Clean and well appointed rooms with renovated bath rooms.
Friendly staff. Fantastic breakfast room with mix of buffet and served to the table options. Classic 5 stars. ideal for a visit to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bavariaalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Front Office Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear bavariaalex

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you found all amenities needed in your room. The view of the lake was amazing this morning, the sun rose and some clouds were still there, and everything was lit in an orange light and it looked so mistycal.

For our breakfast buffet we choose local products in order to offer our guests delicacies, which they do not get at home. We are happy you enjoyed them.

We hope to welcome you again at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed one night at Palace Luzern and we loved it! The room was beautifully decorated and the view is out of this world amazing!

However the service was a little disappointing especially with our arrival experience. No one came to greet us at the entrance. We had to drag our own luggage up the stairs and to the check in counter. Also at the bar, we sat for 10 minutes being ignored with no menu and no service. We had to go back to the check in counter to ask for staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Director of Sales at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear lhm8

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the PALACE LUZERN. We are very sorry about your experience at the entrance of the hotel, that nobody was there to greet you and to help you with your luggage. This is not our standard. It might be that our two porters were up in other guestrooms.
We also apologize that you had to ask for staff at the bar, please be sure that this is not our standard. We will certainly pay attention, that this won't happen again, our guests are our priority number one.

However we are very happy that you have enjoyed our beautiful rooms with the views of Lake Lucerne. In Autumn we have very clear days, so the air is crisp and you have a stunning view of the Alpine panorama, and you think the Alps are so near that you can almost touch them.

Dear lhm8, we hope to welcome you back again to the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We just spent three nights there and were very happy campers. Room was large and very comfortable. I can not say enough about how excellent the staff is. All are well trained and prepared to work in a fine hotel. I had several problems and the staff were right there with the solutions. I do wish they had a clock in the room so I could tell what time it was in the middle of the night. Turn down service was only done the first night.. what's with that?

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NCPilot253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Housekeeping Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear NCPilot253

Thank you very much for your positive rating on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here at the PALACE LUZERN and that our staff were helpful with presenting you solutions. It is very important for us that all our employees are well trained and can give our guests advice in whatever they ask for.

We are sorry that you only enjoyed turn down service on the first night. Our housekeeping fairies do the turn down service every day until 9.30 pm, exept the red card of the guests is hanging outside. We apologize for that and promise you, that we will pay attention the next time you stay with us, that you receive a full turn down service every night.

We hope to see you soon here at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best wishes
Beatrice Hunkeler
Housekeeping Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have been here several times...but I have to admit that the hotel is like a Bordeaux wine : is getting better and better every year. Service, attention to detail, quality, the spa (wow), the refurbished rooms (wow wow)...nothing is left to make your stay unforgettable! However one little negative note: use WiFi only (is free of charge everywhere in the hotel) as if you use the broadband cable in your room you will be charged of CHF 29.- per day...sight!

Room Tip: Ask for the new refurbished rooms...they are amazing !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REGR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Director of Sales at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear REGR_10

We give you a "wow" too for your comment - Thank you very much. Our refurbished rooms were reopened at the end of March this year and our guests - as well as we - are delighted about them, too. The comparison of the PALACE LUZERN with a bordeaux wine is so inspiring, thank you for this statement, it is really creative.

We hope to welcome you back at the PALACE LUZERN soon, that you can taste the improvement of the Bordeaux wine again.

Best regards from Switzerland

Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Property: Palace Luzern
Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing