We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite hotel on our whole trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, On
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel on our whole trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is absolutely stunning and the service is fantastic too. We spent the first 3 nights of our 3 week trip here and thoroughly enjoyed it. We loved being on the lake and being a swimmer, it was especially nice to receive a swim bag and get in to the Seebad across from the hotel for free with our room key. I was there twice a day. We had rooms on the lake side and it was well worth it - such a spectacular view. We loved the breakfast too - so much choice and everything nice and fresh. The other 5 star hotels were on busy roads and while the Palace has a busy road out back, the front sits on a chestnut tree lined walkway. Absolutely gorgeous. They had 2 bikes we used (for free) and also rented one of their e-bikes which was great for getting around to sites up bigger hills. The rooms were beautiful, beds comfortable. We loved the other hotels we stayed in on our trip but nothing quite matched up to the Palace.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Leiter Front Office at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear dimples

We thank you very much for your wonderful comment. We are very happy that you have enjoyed our room with the lake view. On a clear day, you can observe the steam boats and the sailboats on the lake, in the background you see the alpine panorama with our "house" mountain, Pilatus, on the right hand side.

Our location in Lucerne is unique, out of the busy area, directly at the lakeside, but only a 10 minute stroll along the lake into the centre of town.

Dear dimples, we feel honoured that we are the favourite hotel you stayed in on your whole trip. Thank you very much!

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    150
    56
    12
    18
See reviews for
194
484
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The standard room we stayed on the sixth floor is the worst set up we have ever stayed. Since the roof is slanted, the height on the window side is very low. One cannot stand up straight near the window side of the room (which is almost one third of the room). This made the room looked smaller then their actual size of 28 sq. meter.
Since it was Lucern festival, the hotel was fully booked, hence no rooms available for changing. Very unfortunate!!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Nancy C

We thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor and we are very sorry for your experience. The LUCERNE FESTIVAL is indeed a very busy time for us as we are the partner hotel of the festival. We were in this case unfortunately not able to change your room, what we would have done of course if we have had the possibility.

We would appreciate if you gave us a second chance, that you could see our other beautiful rooms of the hotel. Did you know that we recently refurbished 42 which opened in March this year?

We have tried to contact you via personal message, to get to know more about your stay with us, but until now, we have not received an answer. We would be very happy to hear from you.

Dear Nancy C, we hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards from the PALACE LUZERN

Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very beautiful grand hotel overlooking Lake Lucerne. Without question the best in town. In my opinion far superior to the other two 5 star grand hotels, the Grand Hotel National and Schweizerhof, both of which we looked at while in town. The Palace is located on the water about 10 min walk from the center of town so quiet yet convenient. Overall very attentive and personal service. Probably the best overall we experienced while in Switzerland. The common areas are beautiful. Our suite was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge. That being said the spa and room furnishings were not as luxurious as I have experienced in other high end European hotels. This is the only reason I did not give a 5 star review. Overall fantastic hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the lake. Definitely recommend a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Eric P

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are proud to be the best hotel in town in your opinion. Every day we strive to provide our guests the best service.

Our location is very attractive. The PALACE LUZERN is located directly at the shores of Lake Lucerne, but within 10 Minutes of walking distance to the town centre. When the weather is nice, you can stroll along the lake, in case of rain, you have the option to take the public bus in front of the house.

Dear Eric P, we hope to welcome you again soon at our beautiful hotel, maybe in one of the 42 rooms we have recently refurbished.

Best regards from Lucerne
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Great overall experience at this hotel
The best in Lucerne..

Nice touch regarding LHW welcome amenities , the suite is overlooking the beautiful lake Luzern , excellent breakfast quality and variety ..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAlqassimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear DrAlqassimi

Thank you very much for your excellent rating on TripAdvisor. Yesterday we celebrated the Swiss National Day and our guests could observe all the fireworks from their balconies with the lake view.

We hope to welcome you back again at our beautiful hotel.

Best regards from the PALACE LUZERN

Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I usually sleep well wherever I travel so this was unusual that I even noticed a good night sleep but I did notice cause my sleep at the Palace was just such an outstanding sleep for me (2 nights). The mattress, the pillows, the sheets, the AC, no noise...all were perfect I had just read about the Hiltons spending $1 billion to upgrade their beds.....The Palace is already way-ahead.

Other than that, the location is superb. Very close walking distance to the shops and city center while being far enough away not to be disturbed by noise (there was a market festival with outdoor music just down past the hotel on the lake front). That being said, this hotel is still right on the lake with elegant outside drinking/eating under great shade trees with a decent view of the lake.

Next time I am back in Lucerne, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Lombok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Housekeeping Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Scott052

We thank you for your review about our hotel. We are glad, that you have had a good night's rest here at the PALACE LUZERN. We set a high value on the quality of our matresses and pillows, and everytime we get a positive feedback we are happy again to have invested in a good product.

The location of our hotel ist unique. Even when there is a Music Festival all over Lucerne, our guests can enjoy the advantage of not being right in the middle of the Festival, but still close by within a 2 minute walk.

Dear Scott052, we hope to welcome you again soon at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Beatrice Hunkeler
Housekeeping Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Everyone at the Palace Hotel went out of their way to make us comfortable and to answer questions and make reservations. They even tried to locate an artist that we would have liked to visit. The hotel room was not expensive once you understand that Switzerland is an expensive place to visit. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Lamar123

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the PALACE LUZERN. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Did you know that we have canvases of the artist Rita Blum in our renovated rooms? Sights of Lucerne are shown with a hint of silver and gold, a true feast for the eyes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our beautiful hotel.

Best regards

Daniel Friedrich
Head of Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I just loved this hotel! Our room was magnificent- granted we did pay extra for a lake view with balcony - wondering if all rooms are this spacious and well appointed(?) The bathroom was huge and luxurious! I must give special thanks to the reception and concierge staff who went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable, including a wonderful "emergency" kit when they learned I had lost my luggage. Truly, this was one of the most thoughtful extras I have ever received - invaluable in my situation....true 5 star service. The location is excellent. We found it peaceful as compared to the busy Old Town area. The walk into "town" was easy but there was also a bus right outside the door that was super convenient.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rudas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Rudas

Thank you very much for your positive Feedback. We are delighted that you loved our hotel. The setting just right at the lakeside is indeed wonderful and on a clear day you can see the blue lake and the mountain range of the Alps with the snowpeaks in the background. Did you know that the PALACE LUZERN was built in 1906 and the idea behind the location of the hotel was that it is near the old town but at the same time right at the lakefront.

We hope to welcome you again at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards

Daniel Friedrich
Head of Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Property: Palace Luzern
Address: Haldenstrasse 10 | 6002 Luzern, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront Hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing