We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great service”
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great service”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very beautiful grand hotel overlooking Lake Lucerne. Without question the best in town. In my opinion far superior to the other two 5 star grand hotels, the Grand Hotel National and Schweizerhof, both of which we looked at while in town. The Palace is located on the water about 10 min walk from the center of town so quiet yet convenient. Overall very attentive and personal service. Probably the best overall we experienced while in Switzerland. The common areas are beautiful. Our suite was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge. That being said the spa and room furnishings were not as luxurious as I have experienced in other high end European hotels. This is the only reason I did not give a 5 star review. Overall fantastic hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the lake. Definitely recommend a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Eric P

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are proud to be the best hotel in town in your opinion. Every day we strive to provide our guests the best service.

Our location is very attractive. The PALACE LUZERN is located directly at the shores of Lake Lucerne, but within 10 Minutes of walking distance to the town centre. When the weather is nice, you can stroll along the lake, in case of rain, you have the option to take the public bus in front of the house.

Dear Eric P, we hope to welcome you again soon at our beautiful hotel, maybe in one of the 42 rooms we have recently refurbished.

Best regards from Lucerne
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    170
    63
    16
    18
See reviews for
232
547
35
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Great overall experience at this hotel
The best in Lucerne..

Nice touch regarding LHW welcome amenities , the suite is overlooking the beautiful lake Luzern , excellent breakfast quality and variety ..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAlqassimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear DrAlqassimi

Thank you very much for your excellent rating on TripAdvisor. Yesterday we celebrated the Swiss National Day and our guests could observe all the fireworks from their balconies with the lake view.

We hope to welcome you back again at our beautiful hotel.

Best regards from the PALACE LUZERN

Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I usually sleep well wherever I travel so this was unusual that I even noticed a good night sleep but I did notice cause my sleep at the Palace was just such an outstanding sleep for me (2 nights). The mattress, the pillows, the sheets, the AC, no noise...all were perfect I had just read about the Hiltons spending $1 billion to upgrade their beds.....The Palace is already way-ahead.

Other than that, the location is superb. Very close walking distance to the shops and city center while being far enough away not to be disturbed by noise (there was a market festival with outdoor music just down past the hotel on the lake front). That being said, this hotel is still right on the lake with elegant outside drinking/eating under great shade trees with a decent view of the lake.

Next time I am back in Lucerne, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Lombok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Housekeeping Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Scott052

We thank you for your review about our hotel. We are glad, that you have had a good night's rest here at the PALACE LUZERN. We set a high value on the quality of our matresses and pillows, and everytime we get a positive feedback we are happy again to have invested in a good product.

The location of our hotel ist unique. Even when there is a Music Festival all over Lucerne, our guests can enjoy the advantage of not being right in the middle of the Festival, but still close by within a 2 minute walk.

Dear Scott052, we hope to welcome you again soon at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Beatrice Hunkeler
Housekeeping Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Everyone at the Palace Hotel went out of their way to make us comfortable and to answer questions and make reservations. They even tried to locate an artist that we would have liked to visit. The hotel room was not expensive once you understand that Switzerland is an expensive place to visit. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Lamar123

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the PALACE LUZERN. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Did you know that we have canvases of the artist Rita Blum in our renovated rooms? Sights of Lucerne are shown with a hint of silver and gold, a true feast for the eyes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our beautiful hotel.

Best regards

Daniel Friedrich
Head of Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I just loved this hotel! Our room was magnificent- granted we did pay extra for a lake view with balcony - wondering if all rooms are this spacious and well appointed(?) The bathroom was huge and luxurious! I must give special thanks to the reception and concierge staff who went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable, including a wonderful "emergency" kit when they learned I had lost my luggage. Truly, this was one of the most thoughtful extras I have ever received - invaluable in my situation....true 5 star service. The location is excellent. We found it peaceful as compared to the busy Old Town area. The walk into "town" was easy but there was also a bus right outside the door that was super convenient.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rudas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Rudas

Thank you very much for your positive Feedback. We are delighted that you loved our hotel. The setting just right at the lakeside is indeed wonderful and on a clear day you can see the blue lake and the mountain range of the Alps with the snowpeaks in the background. Did you know that the PALACE LUZERN was built in 1906 and the idea behind the location of the hotel was that it is near the old town but at the same time right at the lakefront.

We hope to welcome you again at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards

Daniel Friedrich
Head of Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bell canyon, ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had just come from the Four Seasons Prague which was wonderful to arrive and be treated like dirt. We had ordered a mini suite and got a runway sized hallway with a standard room. Running water woke us at 4:00 in the morning moving thru the walls at high volume. They stuck us next to the public toilets on the second floor as punishment for complaining about the late room. We received our room late on our incoming day after 3:45. So bad we had to fly out a day early at great expense. They seen to now cater to the Chinese watch buyers. .. You toss in the uneatable food and the unsmiling staff (at this American anyway) là vous l'avez PALACE LUZERN...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddhalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear buddhalover

We thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we are sorry for your dissatisfactional experience at the PALACE LUZERN. We usually guarantee that the room is ready at 3pm on the arrival day and we do apologize that you received your room at 3.45, which is certainly not our standard. It may happen that when we are fully booked, that we can not give the first clean rooms to the guests that arrive first because of the different room categories. We understand that you may have felt punished, but usually our spacious Deluxe Junior Suites (50m2) on the first floor are very popular amongst our guests, and our intention was to delight you.

Dear buddhalover, we do hope that you give us a second chance and that you visit us again so that we can show us from our bright side.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed three nights at this outstanding hotel. Best location overlooking the lake, with a short stroll into Lucerne along the tree lined promenade. Rooms very clean with all facilities that you will require. All staff very courteous and could'nt be more helpful. Great bar and restaurant but also visit the bars and restaurants in Lucernce as they are also fantastic. All types of shops and jewellers in the 'old town' if you are that way inclined. Boat trips on Lake Lucerne is a must. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWALSH186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear KWALSH186338

What a great feedback, thank you very much! We must say indeed that our location is absolutely fabulous. Only a 10 Minute stroll from the Old Town away, directly at the lakeside. From the rooms you see the steamboats, which cross the lake from early morning until late evening. Did you know that the oldest steam "Uri" is 112 years old?

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best wishes

Daniel Friedrich
Head Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
970 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.8 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Property: Palace Luzern
Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing